We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakfast on the Connecticut
Ranked #2 of 3 Lyme B&B and Inns
Chestertown, Maryland
1 review
“Delightful Inn!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a find! Beautiful surroundings, friendly innkeepers, and great food. In addition, we travelled with a small dog and the accommodations were great for a pet. As our son is in the area, we will definitely be back! Visitors from the Eastern Shore of Maryland (Chestertown).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 334EDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    24
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
60
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rindge, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We wanted to be on the Connecticut River for a birthday weekend and couldn't have made a better choice than Breakfast on the Connecticut. We discovered warm hosts, delicious breakfasts, clean rooms (we weren't bothered a bit by the sink and shower layout), and wonderful proximity to all things outdoors. We took advantage of the inn's boat collection and canoed the river for a couple hours then rested our sore arms in comfy chairs on the knoll overlooking the river. The options for dinners were many and the Innkeepers were happy to make reservations for us. We would visit again in a heartbeat. Thanks to Donna and John for helping to make it a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Love the skylight and view from a room with river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdelue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We came for a couple of nights while exploring the region. The last 2 miles on a dirt road told us we were getting away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The setting is wonderful and a great place to sit overlooking the river, or to hike around the property and down the back road, or to kayak on the peaceful river. We did all of these. Inside the Inn was very charming and Donna the host was extremely gracious and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, although the whirlpool tub did not seem to work very well. In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast. You could have cold cereal, but why? On one morning we had almond croissant french toast and a vegetable frittata with or without ham. On the second morning we had wonderful blueberry pancakes or quiche. Along with this there was fresh fruit, yogurt, and juices. It was a wonderful peaceful stay that we would heartily recommend. Stella's in Lyme was great recommendation by the hostess, and the trip to Hanover either on Highway 5 or 10 is very scenic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSchaner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We first lexperienced Breakfast on the Ct when our son attended Dartmouth. Since he graduated on '05, it has been 8 years since we had been there. We had never stayed during the summer, so we decided this would be a good time and place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We could not have been more pleased. The grounds are beautiful. Our room ( #7) was spacious and airy. It has skylights, lots of windows, a king bed and even a Franklin stove ( not needed at this time of year). The room layout may not appeal to some, so I suggest you check it out on the website. Although the lavatory is in a separate little room, the jacuzzi tub/ shower is on one side of the bedroom, with the large sink area on an opposite wall. To me, this as actually being advantageous as it makes for a larger room and you are not trying to get dressed/ put on makeup, etc, in a steamy foggy bathroom. The room and entire inn is very clean. It is new construction, but with quality and country charm. It is not a lace and doily- filled grandma type of inn. John and Donna could not have been more hospitable and helpful. Donna's breakfasts are superb! She is a gourmet cook. There is the usual fare of cereals, fresh fruit, and homemade cake, but additionally, you have a choice between TWO cooked entrees. That choice is the only difficult part of the stay. We will definitely return sooner than 8 years. Thank you, Donna and John!

Room Tip: Look at their website to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keaton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Ending a great vacation at an inn in New Hampshire seems like a perfect choice. Initially our first choice was too close to the highway/noise and the rooms were more rustic than the pictures showed, however, the owner was super nice and was fine with our not wanting to stay there. We ate dinner in an amazing restaurant called Peyton Place, the owner was exceptionally helpful, the food was goumet dinning and we couldn't have been more pleased. The owner had recommended Breakfast on the CT to us, even leading us to the destination as it was dark. After checking in we just wanted to retire for the evening, it was late and it had been a long day driving from Quebec City. Getting into bed, we pulled back the covers and to our dismay found a squirming little bug on the white sheets.This was a problem for us. It is now approximately 11:30PM,so I took the bug showed it to the owner, who proceeded to analyze it.Not wanting to sleep in the bed we asked for another room.We were given a room at the other end of the hallway upstairs.Inconvenient but we proceeded to pack up and haul everything to the new room.I will point out that there was no apology and he seemed annoyed and did not even offer to help us with the luggage.They were fairly cold to us the next morning at breakfast and we wondered why.Turns out he was charging us for an upgraded room and asked us to sign for the additional charge.We discussed this and he was completely unresponsive to us,he was not hearing our explanation and was unmovable from his position that he was right in charging us.He also implied that we left the previous place and brought the bug with us and that is kind of what we do-we go around trying to get over on people-outrageous.So after seeing his stoic behaviour and how he would not reason with us we left.Then called the cc co. to register our complaint and cancel the charge which we never approved.We would have no issue with an additional $40 but when it is because of a problem as described it is unacceptable to be charged more for the inconvenience.I find his behavior as an innkeeper completely outrageous.We have never encountered such surliness and unwillingness to assist with an issue like happened here.Also aside from this there really is nothing to recommend here except the breakfast.All the floors are cement including the bedroom.The bathroom comes in three parts:sink on one wall, shower on another and then an enclosed toilet.There is no privacy.The shower is in the room.So,obviously it is really annoying to have a problem at that late hour and then have it handled extremely poorly and too conclude a great vacation with such a bad taste.
G.Klose/S.McParland NYC

Room Tip: Both rooms we were in have exposed showers/sinks.No carpeting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna51047, Owner at Breakfast on the Connecticut, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
To begin we do not have concrete floors. We have a composite floor that can house radiant heating throughout the Inn. To maximize effectiveness we have chosen to paint the floors and use large area rugs. Radiant heat is one of the most effective and energy conscious method of heating especially in northern climates. We have chosen radiant heat as part of our effort to "green" our facility.

I can imagine you were tired after a long day, I was too, but you did ask to see both rooms that were available when you arrived late some time after 10:30 PM. We do not usually take guests late in the evening but did this as a favor for our friends at Peyton Place. I showed you the large room, having given you the rate for both rooms when you called. You liked the room and spent a few moments trying to convince your traveling partner to take the room. She also wanted to see the smaller room which I showed to her.

She said it was fine but you did try one more time to talk her into the larger room. You settled on the smaller room. We completed the check-in and you retired to your room. It wasn't too long after that when I receive your call to come to the reception area where you showed me the tiny bug in a cup and stated that you wanted another room, knowing full well that the larger room was the only one available. In a brief conversation with your lady friend, she told me that she grew up in a rural area and was familiar with bugs being around which made me wonder why this little bug was such a problem for her. She suggested that it might have been brought in by the previous guest which is highly unlikely. The bedding had been stripped, washed and replaced days earlier. The washing would have killed any bug(s) and the bug in question could not have survived under the covers for that length of time anyway. My guess, if the bug actually was on the sheets it came from your clothing or body. Things just didn't add up. We did settle you in the larger room but at no time did we indicate that this was a free upgrade. And you were well aware of the room rate and that the larger room was the only other room available.

Now after talking with Peyton Place we find that you went there the next morning, woke them and proceeded to harangue the owners as to how unsatisfactory were your accommodations with us. This was right after you finished breakfast with us and threatened us with a bad review on TripAdvisor.

After being in the lodging industry for 14 years we have come to realize that it is impossible to satisfy everyone but we do make an honest effort for our guests. The vast majority of our guests have enjoyed their stays with us as evidenced by the positive reviews from so many others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We arrived at this beautifully situated property to find that we had been expected on a different day. We never figured out who made the error, perhaps we did, but it hardly mattered. The owner showed us to our room without delay and gave us ample advice and directions about the shopping and dining options in the area. The room was perfectly clean and ready. While the layout of the room was unusual, being located in an octagonal building, it opened out to a fine view of the river, and we found no fault with its amenities. In the morning we enjoyed a good hot breakfast with abundant choices of fresh fruit. The owners were friendly and sociable. We would certainly stay here again when in this vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHilgenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna51047, Owner at Breakfast on the Connecticut, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We are so sorry about the booking error on our part and we are so glad that your stay was a pleasant one. We hope that the rest of your summer is a safe one and that you have an excellent remainder of the year. If you could have timed your visit to this weekend you would be treated to a magnificent show in the heavens, the Perseid Meteor Showers. With no ground light, watching from one of our Adirondack chairs on the front lawn, is truly special.

Donna Andersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to Lyme, NH to enjoy some outdoor activities and chose to spend one night at Breakfast on the Connecticut. What a great decision! The property itself is gorgeous, peaceful and so very quiet. We borrowed kayaks from the innkeepers and enjoyed a couple of hours kayaking on the river. Down the street from the inn, you will find Stella's Italian Market and Restaurant, which is absolutely wonderful and a great spot for lunch or dinner. Donna and John, the innkeepers, are very friendly and helpful and Donna is a wonderful cook! For breakfast, we were treated to croissant french toast with a raspberry sauce (YUM) and a homemade Jewish Apple Cake, which was absolutely delicious! There was also fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, juices and many other items. If you didn't want the french toast, Donna had also made a quiche. We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Post Pond is close by - great for swimming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aemlovesnegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna51047, Owner at Breakfast on the Connecticut, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for the kind words. The apple cake is one of my most requested recipes. And Post Pond is another one of those special places indigenous to small town USA. This part of the CT River is perfect for paddling as there are very strict power boat usage regulations so that canoe and kayaks boaters will have no fear. You should see the edge of the river in the Fall - spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme
3.5 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
13.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
12.2 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
13.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Connecticut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Connecticut

Property: Breakfast on the Connecticut
Address: 651 River Rd, Lyme, NH 03768-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lyme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Breakfast on the Connecticut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing