We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great quilting getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breakfast on the Connecticut
Ranked #2 of 3 Lyme B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I just returned from 3 1/2 days at Breakfast on the Connecticut, sharing the space with at least 20 other women at a quilting retreat. It was the perfect place to be. The rooms are very nice and tastefully decorated. Nice quilts in each room. The innkeepers were so friendly and accommodating. The meals were 5 star, very delicious and always ample snacks to enjoy while we sewed. it was very cold so we didn't venture out much but you could tell it was a beautiful, peaceful location. It is very close to many attractions but nice to come back to this quiet setting. We are all looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg52-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna51047, Owner at Breakfast on the Connecticut, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

I think I had as much fun as I hope the quilters had. And the quilt tops that were sewn were spectacular. Even the small projects were so great that we all asked for kits. Watching the ladies sure got me fired up - I need to start to finish some of my outstanding projects. It was truly a pleasure being around such creative women.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Breakfast on the Connecticut was quite simply a place we need to go back to. Unfortunately we could only stay one night. The rooms were great and the open window sleeping is unbeatable. Sit on the river with a glass of wine (bring your own) and watch the sun go down-sweet! The owners are extremely nice and the breakfast was superb. Don't come here if you like noise. The silence is overwhelming. We felt guilty leaving as soon as we did!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were pleased that such a wonderful getaway would be so secluded and picturesque. Location is close to Vermont and its number of covered bridges, gorges, small towns and wildlife, that we had hoped to see. Dartmouth and Hanover were part of our destination plans and only a short drive away. Breakfast was yummy and accommodations were comfortable. Our shower and sink were in our bedroom, but the only complaint we had was the movable shower head- difficult to hold and bathe at same time.Our windows and small deck faced the river and we traveled the driveway with deer and wild turkey. Polar (family dog) greeted us outside. Finding a place to eat dinner, especially on Sunday evening was a challenge, if we wanted to stay close. But we found that to be the case as we traveled the rest of the week in New Hampshire and Maine.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobydo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a find! Beautiful surroundings, friendly innkeepers, and great food. In addition, we travelled with a small dog and the accommodations were great for a pet. As our son is in the area, we will definitely be back! Visitors from the Eastern Shore of Maryland (Chestertown).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 334EDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We wanted to be on the Connecticut River for a birthday weekend and couldn't have made a better choice than Breakfast on the Connecticut. We discovered warm hosts, delicious breakfasts, clean rooms (we weren't bothered a bit by the sink and shower layout), and wonderful proximity to all things outdoors. We took advantage of the inn's boat collection and canoed the river for a couple hours then rested our sore arms in comfy chairs on the knoll overlooking the river. The options for dinners were many and the Innkeepers were happy to make reservations for us. We would visit again in a heartbeat. Thanks to Donna and John for helping to make it a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Love the skylight and view from a room with river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdelue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We came for a couple of nights while exploring the region. The last 2 miles on a dirt road told us we were getting away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The setting is wonderful and a great place to sit overlooking the river, or to hike around the property and down the back road, or to kayak on the peaceful river. We did all of these. Inside the Inn was very charming and Donna the host was extremely gracious and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, although the whirlpool tub did not seem to work very well. In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast. You could have cold cereal, but why? On one morning we had almond croissant french toast and a vegetable frittata with or without ham. On the second morning we had wonderful blueberry pancakes or quiche. Along with this there was fresh fruit, yogurt, and juices. It was a wonderful peaceful stay that we would heartily recommend. Stella's in Lyme was great recommendation by the hostess, and the trip to Hanover either on Highway 5 or 10 is very scenic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSchaner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We first lexperienced Breakfast on the Ct when our son attended Dartmouth. Since he graduated on '05, it has been 8 years since we had been there. We had never stayed during the summer, so we decided this would be a good time and place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We could not have been more pleased. The grounds are beautiful. Our room ( #7) was spacious and airy. It has skylights, lots of windows, a king bed and even a Franklin stove ( not needed at this time of year). The room layout may not appeal to some, so I suggest you check it out on the website. Although the lavatory is in a separate little room, the jacuzzi tub/ shower is on one side of the bedroom, with the large sink area on an opposite wall. To me, this as actually being advantageous as it makes for a larger room and you are not trying to get dressed/ put on makeup, etc, in a steamy foggy bathroom. The room and entire inn is very clean. It is new construction, but with quality and country charm. It is not a lace and doily- filled grandma type of inn. John and Donna could not have been more hospitable and helpful. Donna's breakfasts are superb! She is a gourmet cook. There is the usual fare of cereals, fresh fruit, and homemade cake, but additionally, you have a choice between TWO cooked entrees. That choice is the only difficult part of the stay. We will definitely return sooner than 8 years. Thank you, Donna and John!

Room Tip: Look at their website to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keaton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme
3.5 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
133 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
469 reviews
12.2 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
13.4 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
17.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Connecticut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Connecticut

Address: 651 River Rd, Lyme, NH 03768-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lyme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme
Price Range: £94 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfast on the Connecticut 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Breakfast on the Connecticut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing