We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay, Respectful Innkeepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breakfast on the Connecticut
Ranked #1 of 3 Lyme B&B and Inns
Barrington, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Stay, Respectful Innkeepers”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Great place to stay when visiting Dartmouth College. They have a couple of rooms where pets are allowed to stay. Ours was comfortable and immaculate.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler02806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    24
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
60
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Best night's sleep I've had in a very long time. House is solidly built and very quiet (I've stayed in B&Bs where the walls and doors seemed to rattle with every noise and movement of the guests). Hosts went out of their way to make sure everyone was comfortable and felt welcome. Set far back from the road (can't see the road from the house). Secluded. Beautiful. Quiet. Comfortable.

Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ATD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I heartily recommend Breakfast on the Connecticut for anyone visiting Dartmouth College or the Upper Connecticut Valley. Donna and John are gracious hosts. The setting for the inn is a lovely, secluded spot from which you can watch the mist rise from the Connecticut River in the morning. Donna is a wonderful baker, preparing home made breads and pastries that are elements to the hearty breakfast served daily.

I recommend this inn to all!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dartmouth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asdfghjklcherie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I loved the Breakfast on the Connecticut! Staying there was extremely comfortable. John and Donna were very friendly and welcoming. I felt right at home. The rooms were clean and had a nice homey feel to them. Overall, the stay was so relaxing and I would definitely return and recommend The B+B to all people.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdhjklcherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed at Breakfast on the Connecticut last week when we were in the area visiting friends. The Inn is located in a beautiful secluded area overlooking the Connecticut river. Our stay was quiet and relaxing. In the morning we were served the best breakfast we have had in a long time. The eggs and sausage were fresh and cooked perfectly. The blueberry pancakes were delicious. We are "breakfast people" so this was a real treat. We are also very picky about our coffee and the coffee was great. We will definitely go back the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornish, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at this Inn. I found the hosts to be very friendly and helpful, and the room was lovely! I did find it odd that the tub was in the room itself, but didn't find it to be an issue at all. Our room overlooked the Connecticut, an added bonus! I also found breakfast to be positively delicious. I will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eohwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

It was exactly as I anticipated, charmingly decorated for Christmas in a bucolic setting in Lyme NH directly on the river;  the Andersons are great people who run a comfortable Inn.  Rooms are spacious and warm (radiant heating and gas fireplaces); the jacuzzi tubs are passe but probably enjoyed if one excercised a lot; and the sink and shower are "ensuite" which we do not prefer. Mrs. Anderson makes an egg choice and griddle choice, always delicious. All in all a very good experience for a 2 night New Year's getaway. The restaurants chosen were good and within easy driving distances. Pets are allowed in one hotel room only (but we left ours with friends).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme
3.5 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
117 reviews
12.2 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
266 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
439 reviews
13.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
13.4 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Connecticut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Connecticut

Property: Breakfast on the Connecticut
Address: 651 River Rd, Lyme, NH 03768-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lyme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfast on the Connecticut 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Breakfast on the Connecticut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing