We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purity Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I attended the same weekend-long wedding as Tamar A, and also stayed in the Tecumseh lodge. My experience was wholly different.

The wedding was amazing for many reasons -- good friendly people, puzzles, games, dancing, and great food included. Part of what made the weekend so nice was the resort itself. Tecumseh lodge is the resort's economy option. It was simply furnished, but clean and pleasant. My fiancee and I were both happy with it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kansas_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    56
    15
    14
    6
See reviews for
96
38
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We attended a wedding at Purity Spring and were put in the Tecumseh lodge, not knowing what we were in for. Imagine the rattiest college dorm in all history, add in a layer of bugs, and that's Tecumseh. Had I known this is where we'd be stuck, I would have happily booked a room at a B&B down the road or really, anywhere else in NH.

For starters, the first thing you experience when you walk in is the smell of a rancid, sweaty sock; it's incredibly pervasive and clings to your clothing when you leave. Then there are the rooms. Sure, they're newly painted and have lovely TVs, but you're living dorm style. We had a room with five beds, the largest of which was a full size with a mattress that left me unable to stand after a night's sleep. The overhead light was a dim fluorescent bulb that was barely supplanted by the similarly dim lamps. There was no phone, no mini fridge, and no AC. Only one window opened since the other fell off its tracks. The kitchen stayed locked most of the weekend, meaning that any food we brought was stuck in an ice bucket or just went bad. Thin doors with no security: my keys opened at least one other room and there was a single flimsy lock that didn't always latch when we left.

Meanwhile, our friends had lovely suites with AC looking out over a lake. We were shocked to know that some had freezers that could store food or that had pull-out couches. Again, had we known what we were getting, we would have paid extra or gone somewhere else.

The people are lovely and the setting is beautiful, but if anyone ever invites you up, don't go.

Room Tip: Don't go into any lodge. Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Purity Spring Resort. I appreciate your compliments to our staff and I’m glad you enjoyed the beautiful setting.

I am, however, sincerely sorry that your room wasn't to your liking. The “economy” lodge where you were placed does in fact have dorm-style rooms – beds, bathroom, phone & TV - no frills, but clean and comfortable. The Tecumseh lodge is often chosen by groups, family reunions etc., as the setting is perfect for large numbers of folks wanting to have their own space at a more affordable rate. Our goal at Purity Spring Resort is always to deliver a wonderful experience to all of our guests.

I am concerned because I was unable to find many of the problems you mentioned. We did find one window in need of repair, which has already been attended to by the maintenance department.

Again, I apologize that the room was not what you were expecting. Had I, or anyone on my staff known that the room was not satisfactory, we would have happily moved you to another room in the resort.

Guest satisfaction is very important to us. Customer service and cleanliness are of top priority and I would like to address the issues you had immediately, but unfortunately, have no way of contacting you. I have emailed through Trip Advisor asking you to contact me to discuss in detail the issues you listed. Please call me directly at 603.367.4000 so your specific concerns can be addressed in a timely manner.

I hope that you will consider visiting Purity Spring Resort again in the future. My staff and I would like you to experience the best that Purity Spring has to offer.

Steven Hoyt
Lodging Manager, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We decided to take a winter vacation that was within driving distance, included outdoor winter activities, indoor water activities and shopping.

This was the perfect Northeast destination. The resort was beautiful, staff was fantastic, skiing was great for our kids - who are beginners ( 4 and 10 years old ) - lodging was spacious ( with character ) and the outlet shopping in North Conway ( 20 minutes ) was great.

Large ski hills are also close if experienced skiers want to escape for a day. Our family also enjoyed the variety, with a skating rink, downhill tubing, large indoor pool and hot tub and the indoor water park withing 30 minutes.

I fabulous family memory

The Dowes'

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panacea, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Spring skiing was tough with record high temps, but the Purity Spring staff worked hard to make it work. Accommodations were simple but clean and comfortable. Ski area was not crowded and staff was great. The tubing was fun until the snow melted but they even opened it just for us. Pool and other amenities were convenient but the restaurant was not open much while we were there. Food was good when it was open. We would recommend resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harborpointpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A nice place to stay if you have young kids. We stayed in the lodging at the base of King Pine. The kids loved the view. You take a shuttle (2 min. ride) down the street for meals, but they'll also pack a box lunch at your request. Outdoor skating across the street in a barn. Pool is available, though the water is always lukewarm. The people there are quite friendly. Best of all, they have very affordable ski packages -- esp. if your kids are taking lessons. It's not a high-end resort, but it gets the job done.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I have skied at King Pine for years, and there was no question that Purity Springs was the winning location for our fall wedding. Throughout the wedding planning process the staff was welcoming, friendly, and more than accomodating. We had many guests who travelled from all over New England for the weekend, ranging from young couples to families with young and grown children. We are still getting compliments from our guests on what a great time they had and what a beautiful location it was. We couldn't agree more! Our room was right on the water and newly renovated, everything was conveniently located, and the staff was excellent! Thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

we stayed just after christmas with three kids - the promise of iceskating and free sleigh rides. No skating. No sleigh rides. No apologies for either. Corridor outside room stank of cigarettes. Room smelled stale. Decor old, dark and shabby. Nylon-feel sheets. Peeling paint in bathroom. Swimming pool felt unclean. Service ranging from nice to unbelievably unfriendly. Overall the rates we paid for this felt ludicrous. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rocketshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write down your comments and concerns. We are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations during your family’s first visit to Purity Spring Resort. We value the importance of family time together and strive to make each experience a good one.

Unfortunately, Mother Nature wasn’t very cooperative this winter, making outdoor ice-skating impossible most of the season, and sleigh rides unsafe that week for guests as well as the horses. We do offer several other activity options for guests and these options should have been presented to you as soon as we realized that the skating and sleigh rides would not be available.

Ongoing training and communication between the various departments continues to be a priority and we hope that if you choose to visit us again that we will far exceed your expectations.

Our various departments read your feedback and appreciate the areas that we can improve on. We are continuously making improvements and upgrades to our guest rooms and common areas throughout the resort. For example, since the beginning of April, we have replaced mattresses in all Standard, Deluxe and Luxury rooms, with new pillow top mattresses, refreshed several guest rooms and common areas with new paint, as well as retiled and added new sinks to many of our bathrooms. Our pool had recently been drained, cleaned and refilled, and the hot tub in the pool area is drained on a regular basis as well, this is an area that we haven’t received complaints on and will look into them to make sure all cleaning procedures were being followed. We will continue working on making improvements and upgrades as time permits.

We appreciate all of your comments and concerns, as they will help to make us a better resort for future guests. We hope to welcome your family back to Purity Spring Resort in the future!

Warm Regards,
Steven Hoyt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
12.5 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
20.2 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
324 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
13.8 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
8.9 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Property: Purity Spring Resort
Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Madison, NH 03849-4316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purity Spring Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing