We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Weekend getaway At Purity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Purity Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I recently went to Purity Springs/King Pine resort. If you are looking for a great deal and scenery and don't mind a smaller mountain this is a place to check out. We went on a package deal that included an amazing dinner and breakfast buffet, tickets to ski at King Pine, free tubing, and use of the health club. We managed to also squeeze in Cross country skiing and snowshoeing in the two days we were there.We had a slope side room right on the mountain with great views of the slopes. I am generally a light sleeper and the groomers did not bother us at all. Everywhere we went the staff was over the top friendly and accommodating. The rooms are a bit dated so if you are looking for luxury this is not the place. Just clean and comfortable in beautiful surroundings! Great family place..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Recently had the opportunity to go to Purity Springs/King pine with the family for our first ever ski trip. It was a wonderful experience from the moment we checked in, to the day we left. Having never been skiing with my children I was a bit nervous but with the help of the rental personal, and even help from the ski lift operators my nerves quickly calmed. There was even one day that it rained, and the lift operator gave us trash bags to keep us dry,very nice. I have a child with a peanut allergy and they were very accommodating with the meal plan. You could tell that this was a family run business as everyplace we went we were treated "like family"

Room Tip: Being first time skiers I loved being in the ski lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weathermom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We went to the Purity Spring Resort Inn for a night as part of a package deal, including lift tickets and two meals. The meals were mediocre. The biggest problem, though, was that our room was at the bottom of the ski slope and from 10 pm until 12:30 am, we were kept awake by the very loud noise of huge machines grooming the slopes. It was so loud, it even kept us awake after we put in our ear plugs! This is a major design flaw of this resort and we will not be staying there again, no matter how good the "deal"!

Room Tip: If you can't pass up this deal, don't stay at the Inn, stay in the rooms by the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davestillwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at Purity Spring Resort. Our goal is always to make guests as comfortable as possible during their stay. I am sorry that your sleep was interrupted by the noise of the groomer. When you booked your reservation you should have been told that staying slope side more often than not includes some noise from the snow grooming - which happens every night during the ski season.
With the variety of lodging options we offer, we usually offer guests the option of staying slope side or perhaps staying at the Inn, Millbrook or the Mill, where it is much quieter and closer to the dining room and the indoor pool, but would include a drive in order to get to the ski area. We hope you were able to enjoy the incredible skiing conditions and evening programs we offered during your stay, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quieter lodging options we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

As empty nesters, Purity Spring wouldn't be a place that I'd recommend for folks like us. That said, the lodging is kind of spread out - some of the rooms are up the street from Big Pine ski area, other lodging options are closer to the ski area. Our room was spotless, but dated with a tiny 13" tv and there was no internet access and cell phone service was spotty. The staff a Purity Spring were extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating. While we didn't bring our dogs (I would next time), they are a pet friendly resort, which I found refreshing. The shuttle between all the lodging ran pretty much constantly all day - if you have small children and want them to be able to ski, snowboard, snowtube, ice skate, cross country ski or snowshoe, this is the place for you. One downside (and this could be because it was a non holiday weekend in March and the resort was not fully booked), they only offer a buffet at the restaurant. Both times we went there, the food was disappointing, bland and cold. I know I'd be less critical of Purity Springs if I had young children and was looking for a family friendly value for a winter getaway - if that's what you are looking for, this place is for you. Oh, and although we didn't use them, the pool and hot tub facility was very nice and like the rest of the resort, spotlessly maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aud E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

my husband and I spent one night in February. We stayed in the Inn (this building has the restaurant in it). Our room was not fancy, but clean as a whistle and very adequate, with a comfortable bed. The dining room has no ambiance to speak of, but the buffet dinner was surprisingly tasty, with a lot of variety. Same for breakfast. Our package allowed us to cross country ski on their nicely groomed trails, and included tubing after dinner. A blast, although you have to drive up the road a little ways to get to the hill, and the parking lot is very difficult to find.
Everyone was pleasant and friendly, and the chef even took the time to write out an ingredient list for me for the tomato parmesan spinach soup, which was out of this world.

Since we live within driving distance, I'm hoping to plan a car trip this summer that takes us by there, so I can see what it looks like in summer. In winter the buildings look a little hodge-podgy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45thParallel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My fiancé and I found Purity Springs through a travel zoo deal that was incredibly cheap with two meals included, so we decided to give it a shot during a New England Fall foliage trip in October. The resort grounds were beautiful especially with peak fall foliage. There's a pretty little lake with free canoes and kayaks for the guests. The hiking trails were very scenic. However we were disappointed with our room. We stayed near the ski lift, which I can imagine during winter months would be quite convenient. However for our purposes we just found everything modest and outdated. The walls were extremely thin, we could everything around us, including conversations of other guests. The bedding looked very old and the beds themselves were uncomfortable.

Since dinner was included, we went to the restaurant for the buffet dinner. This was extremely disappointing. EVERYTHING was cold, which was surprising considering we were some of the first guests in the dining room. The food was bland and just unappealing. The food was free and our server was very nice, but that didn't save the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlt_5266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Purity Springs is in a quiet scenic section of NH not far from great shopping and many outdoor activities. We love the home atmosphere while being away. They have all the amenities of a resort yet they are friendly and make you feel at home. I love the winter activities they offer. I didn't go on the moonlight snowshoe but, I did do the evening tubing. It was a blast. The meals are covered in the room price. What a choice of excellent meals and desserts, you can't resist. You souldn't leave hungry. I am watching for their next special offer. The best time to go is winter when the ice is on the pond or the skiing is good and summer when a swim feels great. I enjoy between seasons for hiking and shopping.

Room Tip: I like the motel when I am skiing as it is on the slopes. The rooms in the spa area are nice. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
12 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
11.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
8.9 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
245 reviews
20.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Madison, NH 03849-4316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £80 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purity Spring Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing