We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time - Just As Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Purity Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This review is long overdue, as we were at PSR last August, but if you are looking for a great place for a summer vacation, please read on.

Our family, including a 28 year old daughter, and a 9 year old son, have been coming to Purity Spring Resort for the last three summers, and will be coming again at the end of July. We cannot say enough wonderful things about the resort and the people there.

Our room is in the Mill, overlooking the lake. Nice and spacious and well furnished. Wonderful common room, indoor pool, fitness room etc, right down stairs.

Enjoyed many of the activities, especially the guided mountain tour with Jack, the activities director. The food in the restaurant was terrific and the service was great as always.

The staff is so friendly and accommodating. No request was too big or too small. The lake and the beach were so peaceful, and it's great to see some of the same families return each year.

Please consider this resort. You will be happy that you did.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Mill (3) overlook the lake and are larger than most. Rooms at King Pine lodge, while g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unklmikef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were here this past weekend for a Ski a Thon, and Mt Dew Vertical Challenge race. We stayed at King Pine with a slopeside room. We were warned ahead of time it would be noisy but considering we had teenagers with us we figured it would either be noisy IN the room or OUT of the room and we didnt particularly care. Everything was perfect. Service, staff, room, housekeeping just everything. Cant wait until next winter to do it all over again :)

Room Tip: staying slopeside made it easy for ski in ski out. It is not really within walking distance to wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtibbals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Based on a Globe suggestion, we packed up the gd kids for a winter weekend escape. It was fabulous. Skiing at their mountain, all meals, evening sleigh ride and snow tubing were way beyond expectations. You could not improve on their service, accommodations or fun. They even gave us a bag of truffles for our ride home! Back for a week next year

Stayed: March 2014
Thank BRANBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute weekend getaway at the Purity Springs Resort. There must be something in that spring water because every staff person we came into contact with was so nice and helpful. We had a two bedroom suite at the inn, and the room was recently updated and extremely clean. The beds were SO comfortable. All the amenities make this place worth it, besides skiing at King Pine one day our family enjoyed the ice rink, nice indoor pool, and the little game room. We're giving this place 4 stars only because of some confusion/lack of communication about meal options, and special events ( we missed a tubing event and a sleigh ride event which I'm sure our kids would have loved.) The waitstaff at the Traditions restaurant were the nicest -- so great with our kids -- but the food was just OK... Nothing to rave about.

Stayed: February 2014
4  Thank TwoWolfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Before leaving home, I called the resort and asked if there is a coffee maker in the room. The response was YES. After arriving to the room, there was no coffee maker. This is what I was told after calling the front desk: THE ROOM YOU ARE STAYING AT HAS NO COFFEE MAKER AS IT IS AN ELECTRICAL HAZARD FOR THAT ROOM. YOU CAN HAVE A COFFEE AT THE RESTAURANT STARTING AT 07:00 AM OR YOU CAN PUT A JACKET AND CROSS THE STREET TO HAVE A COFFEE AT 06:00 AM. What a great customer service! Oh, I forgot to mention that the room has a microwave and a small fridge which are not electric hazard!

Room Tip: If you want to be treated as uneducated, go there!
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently visited Purity Springs Resort with our three young children (5, 5 & 11). It's hard to find a ski resort that it completely geared toward the young family...this is it. From the amazing ski school/ski instructors to the slope-side lodging, to the indoor pool and hot tub, we can't wait to get back there!! Their staff is very friendly and accommodating. It's a great place for first time skiers up to experienced skiers. There's a slope for all skill levels. They have an outdoor, covered ice skating rink and a great tubing park. We stayed at the King Pine lodge which is an older lodge at the base of the mountain. The ski school, tubing park, lifts and skating rink were all within 100 yards of our door. The pool and restaurant are a short walk or 1 minute drive down the street although there is a snack bar and pub inside the lodge we stayed at so you really don't need to leave. The best part is that it's all reasonably priced with lift and ski school tickets well below other New England resort prices. This is our new favorite winter destination!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the King Pine lodge. It was a quiet nice place with the exception of the snow grooming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We came here in mid-November, just for a break. Long past the foliage sealn and before the skiers arrived So while we weren't able to take advantage of a lot of the resort amenities -swimming in Purity Lake, kayaks and canoes, BBQ and picnic tables - we still had a delightful, quiet stay. The indoor pool was lovely and the changing and locker rooms made it easy to enjoy. Bring your bathing suits.
The resort is spread out, there's a main in and then a lot of small cottages. We were in Lakeside, which housed two guest rooms, and really was just at the edge of the lake. Wonderful. You do have to walk across the street to get to the restaurant for dinner or breakfast, but it is close.
The room was lovely. Very big. Nice big bed, wonderful linens and pillows. There was a twin daybed as well, which was nice to use as a couch for lounging. Good amount of dresser storage. A small fridge, coffee-maker, microwave, and an Iphone docking station/alarm clock/radio which we really enjoyed since it provided a good selection of music including classical.
Luxuriously big bathroom, great hot shower (it was 13° F outside in the morning) and a nice flat-screen TV. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The view out over the lake was beautiful, and breakfasts were excellent. All the people we encountered were friendly and helpful. I'm sure the place gets Much busier in season, but we loved being there in one of the quiet times. Still, it'd be great to come back in the summer to enjoy the lake in a more active way. This place is not 4-star luxury, but it is five-star clean and comfortable. You can tell that the people who run Purity Spring really care about their place and the people who stay here.

The King Pine Ski Area (and a great looking outdoor ice skating rink) is about a 1/4 mile up the road. Easy access to the Conway and North Conway areas, too.

Room Tip: Lakeview Cottage (two rooms available in it) was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJP-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
12 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
11.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
8.9 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
245 reviews
20.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Madison, NH 03849-4316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £80 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purity Spring Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing