We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and beer selection”

Portland Pie Company
Ranked #39 of 399 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great pizza and beer selection”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Delicious pizza very different selections. Try the lobster pizza. Fun beer selection and if your not sure what beer you like try the beer flight. Great service good location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    74
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unexpected...good...but bad...just read.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

So, I've been to Portland Pie Company quite a few times over the past 3 years for business lunches and this is the first time I've felt compelled to submit a review. First, let me say that the pizza is awesome. However, pizza is a personal taste thing and my personal taste says, try the pizza. However, a few months ago I fell in love with clam chowder and today I ordered some here. It was delicious. Lots of clams, big bites of clam mixed with smaller bites, creamy and the potatoes were diced small but cooked perfectly. Plus it was served with my hometown favorite of Westminster Oyster crackers. It was yummy.

But then today I ordered the Downeast...mistake, don't do it. Their discription "Roasted chicken marinated in fiery buffalo sauce. We layer provolone cheese, cool diced celery and finish it with a drizzle of bleu cheese dressing."...Okay, the chicken was diced small and dry, dry, dry. The cool diced celery was about 5 thin slices and it was definitely a drizzle of bleu cheese right in the middle of the baguette. The only good thing about this sandwich was the baguette.

Get the pizza, or try one of their salads, those are good. Love the steak and bleu cheese salad. Love the pizza, had other sandwiches but skip the Downeast. It definitely needs work. But hey, I went to a "pie" place, my bad, should have stuck with the pizza.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blc914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had the Moosehead and the Prosciutto/Cream Cheese pizza, and they were both excellent. The marinara and the crust are both outstanding. Decent beer selection. I've eaten here twice, and felt like each time it was one of the best pizzas I'd ever had. I certainly can only think of about 2-3 pizza places I could rank above Portland Pie, and I try to eat pizza on every vacation. I will go there again if/when I'm in Manchester.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm pizza”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We order two pizzas to take out. One cheese only and the other one cheese and pepperoni, both were delicious. The service was a bit slow but not so bad

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ulric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of the best gluten-free pizzas ever.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I just finished a gluten-free pizza I had delivered to my hotel room.

Superb.

The crust was doughy on the inside, like a regular pizza crust should be. The outer coating was just a little crispy...perfect. The taste and texture were as good as any gluten-free pizza I've ever had, and I'd put it up against any thin-crust pizza, gluten-free or not.

The delivery guy was friendly, and service was fast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgsu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Portland Pie Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing