We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little surprised..”
Review of Ash Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ash Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I have to say that the room was comfortable, but the greeting was not. The Innkeeper, who answered the door in an aggressive manner, seemed a bit surprised that I actually had a reservation for this property. While I did arrive earlier than expected, the greeting was not what i had expected. I had spoken to him over the phone on two previous occasions, so I was taken aback. The thought occurred that I might have breakfast the next morning, but opted to skip town instead.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Add remarkable people (props Eric and Darlene Johnston) and fascinating guests to world-class Manchester’s Ash Street Inn Bed & Breakfast you experience civility, caring, connectivity, conviviality, convenience, and No Hassle. We know because we stayed five consecutive nights Sept 27 to Oct 2, 2012. Plus 24/7 access to coffee, homemade treats (scones), and spacious pristine kitchen refrigerator. Cooked-to-order breakfast by Eric himself. No steam tables. We can’t wait to return.
PS - Flawless dining recommendations. Close to Currier Art Museum, a must-see.

Room Tip: See AshStreetInn (dot) com Manchester NH website and select your room well in advance of your trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resumesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

This is our 2nd stay at this lovely NH inn. We came up during the summer to attend my wife's reunion, picking Ash Street due to its proximity to the events for the weekend. After about 2 mins after our arrival, we knew we'd found some place special.
Eric, one of the owners, welcomed us as soon as we walked in, showing us around the beautiful house, including all the little things that we available to us during our stay, including coffee and amazing treats (homemade cookies and scones) coffee, snacks upstairs and down, books and magazines, wifi etc. Eric gave a history of the house, which is very charming, yet includes all modern amenities and is spotless. He then showed us to our room, which is very tastefully decorated, and included a private bath, thick towels, robes, and so on. The bed was incrediblely comfortable and bed linen was top of the line.
In the morning, Eric made breakfast to order. The food was fresh and delicious!
By the time we left, we felt as though we'd made new friends that we could stay with whenever we were in town.
To that end, after a long stretch of work, my wife and I decided to take the weekend and getaway to enjoy some of the New England colors of fall. It took us about 30 seconds to decide to head back to Ash Street to spend the weekend. Walking in, we felt like we were returning to our place in NH. We stayed in a different room that was just was spectacular as our first. Eric greeted us as returning friends, and the experience was just as amazing as our first. Eric even offered some great recommendations on where to explore during our leaf peeping adventures.
We highly recommend the Ash Street in, and will be coming back as soon as we can! Thanks Eric!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

A warm welcome, a comfortable room, breakfast cooked to order and the friendly company of others who had wisely chosen the Ash Street Inn - a most pleasant two night stay. Like other tripadvisors, we'd suggest you leave the chain hotels behind and treat yourself to a stay here. Innkeeping as it should be - thank you, Eric!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threebritsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was our first time at the Ash Street Inn and what a treat it was! We are only 30 minutes from Manchester and have never realized that Manchester had a B&B. From the moment we stepped into the home we were in awe of the beautiful architecture and decor. Eric, being the humble servant, gave his wife all of the credit for the interior design, which was gorgeous.

We stayed in room 205 that was furnished with a four poster bed and a fireplace. The room was very quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. The pillows were so comfortable that they made for breakfast conversation with Eric and the other guests.

And speaking of breakfast: first of all, to go to a B&B that actually serves breakfast is refreshing. My wife and I had coffee and diced watermelon while we waited for Eric to take our order that consisted of a beautiful omelet and pancakes. All very good and prompt!

We occasionally stay in Manchester when we are there to see a show at the Verizon Arena and there is no doubt that we will bring our business to the Ash Street Inn from now on!

Room Tip: Room 205 was it for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Don't bother with the local chain hotels - stay here instead. Warm hospitality, big rooms, and unbelieveable breakfast food.

The owners have put a lot of thought into anticipating guest needs, and it shows - from the umbrella stand stocked with loaners, lint brushes, homemade scones & cookies, a well-filled snack basket and more - the Ash Street Inn takes hospitality to the next level.

And they couldn't be more helpful with transportation suggestions, dining recommendations and great local advice you'd never get from the corporate hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms are all different; use their website to select your choice of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanAtlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A short over night stay that was restful and delightful. Eric, the inn keeper made us feel very welcomed. Always a cup of coffee ready for you and a plate of scones and cookies. Who could ask for more? But there was more, the beds were exceptionally comfortable and the towels you just wanted to curl up in. The robes looked luscious but I was afraid to take advantage as I would not want to get out of it once I was in. I'd look a little odd getting on a plane to fly home wearing just a robe. Then there would be the bill for it once i did get home. Whether you're in Manchester on business or a little vacation don't pass this up. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mismouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Manchester Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Court Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Manchester Airport
Super 8 Manchester Airport
#14 of 16 in Manchester
696 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Manchester/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Street Inn

Address: 118 Ash Street, Manchester, NH 03104
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: £139 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ash Street Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ash Street Inn is the benchmark Bed and Breakfast Inn in Manchester, New Hampshire. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Manchester and only ten minutes from the Manchester airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ash Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing