We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful bedrooms & UPDATED roomy bathrooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ash Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ash Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful bedrooms & UPDATED roomy bathrooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the nicest bed n breakfasts we have stayed in! The rooms are large enough, the amenities in the room (wi fi, snacks, sufficient towels, good window covering) are great AND the bathrooms were updated & roomy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
99
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Ash Street Inn in just a couple of weeks ago for one night while attending a wedding in nearby Bedford. Eric, one of the proprietors, greeted us upon our arrival. He had baked some wonderful cookies and scones for the afternoon, and I must confess that I, in particular, ate more than I probably should have. The rooms were spacious, beautifully furnished, and quite comfortable. Although reasonably warm outside, the Inn's air conditioning worked well and kept us nice and cool.

For breakfast, Eric takes orders from a small menu and then cooks breakfast for you. He typically can cook for only 2 at a time; however, because the other couple who had joined us in staying at the Inn mirrored my wife's and my breakfast choices, he was able to serve all 4 of us at the same time. I had blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup which were excellent. When I asked Eric if the syrup was real maple before ordering, he immediately responded that he would not serve anything else. My wife had an omelet which she enjoyed.

Although I travel to NH usually once a year, this was my first time to stay in Manchester. The hospitality provided by Eric and the Ash Street Inn makes a very good case for staying more often in Manchester.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we sawy seemed quite lovely. We stayed on the second floor in a room in the southea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Loved Eric Johnston (his wife was working)....he was very knowledgeable of the Manchester, NH area. He made the best scones and pancakes. Coffee, tea, juice, water, ice, cookies, scones, & bananas were always available. The house was elegancy decorated by Dariene Johnston. We sat on the large porch with our morning coffee and nightly cocktails. The bedding and the pillows were top quality and extremely comfortable. Walking distance to the downtown area which is very lively for an old mill town. Excellent restaurants and bakeries and a fun nightlife.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own separate charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl315_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a wonderful overnight stay at the Ash St. Inn. The inn has been lovingly restored with perfect details. We stayed in Room 205, which is located on the first floor, between the parlor and kitchen -- evidently originally the dining room when the building was a single family house. The room is furnished with a comfortable queen bed, and includes an armoire that will accommodate a number of items on hangers (including some skirt/trouser hangers, which is a nice plus). There is a small desk in the room, large enough to accommodate a laptop computer, which is a nice touch if you are traveling on business (or for pleasure but cannot quite leave work behind). 4 electrical outlets are easily reachable for recharging mobile devices, etc. There is a ceiling fan immediately above the bed.

The bathroom is compact but the owners gave a lot of thought to the placement of towel bars, shelving, and hooks, so that there is ample room for personal toiletries, etc. The stall shower is not large but is sufficient in size and has excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. Lots of attention to comfort -- plush oversized bath sheets, 2 bathrobes, a nice assortment of personal care products, including a dispenser in the shower of bath gel, shampoo & conditioner, a basket with body lotion and toothpaste.

Breakfast is served on a rolling basis, with eggs, omelets, pancakes, and French toast cooked to order by the proprietor, Eric (i.e., not a communal sit-down meal at a set time, as in some B&Bs), Fresh fruit and cold cereal are also available. There are packaged snack foods (bags of pretzels, etc) and cold drinks, as well as homemade cookies available on a help-yourself 24 hour basis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBA60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
422 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Ash Street Inn is a model for what B&Bs should be. The Inn occupies two floors of a beautifully restored 1885 house -- the rooms are extremely well appointed, and the decorating (a broad palate of time-appropriate wall colors) is really beautiful. The Inn is immaculately clean, bathrooms are new, and beds are comfortable -- all that you could want in terms of comfort. Coffee, tea, soft drinks, and snacks are available 24/7, and the cooked-to-order breakfast is very good. The Innkeeeper, Eric, truly aims to please. Staying here was an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I enjoyed our stay in Manchester at the Ash Street Inn. The home was lovely and the food was good. The host was amiable to a point, but I felt that he might have needed a vacation from his own property. The room 208 was well appointed and the bathroom was lovely, but must tell you that the bed was like sleeping on granite.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank O2bwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moretown, Vermont
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

In Manchester just for a night, I was looking for a place to spend the night within walking distance to the Verizon Center. My luck immediately turned as soon as I discovered the immaculate, grand dame Ash Street Inn. It's the only bed and breakfast in Manchester, I can't imagine why one would spend the night anywhere else. Eric, our innkeeper, greeted us when we arrived and made us feel right at home in his 1885 Victorian home, restored to full glory. If what sets a wonderful bed and breakfast apart from the motels and hotels of the world is a gracious host and attention to details, then the Ash Street Inn has that covered. In the room, comfortable robes and a large bathroom filled with toiletries expected and unexpected (lip balm!), mints and snacks set out upstairs and down, an incredibly comfortable pillow-top bed, stained glass over my in-room desk, beautiful antiques, and a gracious parlor make guests feel treated and taken care of. 21st century amenities such as satellite TVs, high speed Internet, and online reservations are par for the course. To top off an most restful night's sleep, Eric prepares a wonderful breakfast made to order, and his omelettes are outstanding.

Sure, you'll pay just a little bit more to stay here when in Manchester, as opposed to some chain motel by the highway, but a little bit more for a lot more comfort and hospitality is money very well spent. You'll be very glad that you did. As far as I'm concerned, I can't imagine staying anywhere else next time I'm in Manchester, and I'll be sure to recommend it to my friends and family who often travel here for the shopping and concerts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowyknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Manchester
Radisson Hotel Manchester
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester Airport
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Court Inn & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Street Inn

Property: Ash Street Inn
Address: 118 Ash Street, Manchester, NH 03104
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ash Street Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ash Street Inn is the benchmark Bed and Breakfast Inn in Manchester, New Hampshire. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Manchester and only ten minutes from the Manchester airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing