We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooooo good.”
Review of Cafe Momo

Cafe Momo
Ranked #63 of 399 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Nepalese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Soooooo good.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My mother is Nepalese, so I know from good Nepalese food. The momos are delicious, and the achar (a kind of sauce) they serve on the side is superb.The food is authentic and well prepared, and also kind of light and healthy. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastcoastgirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    28
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of Nowhere”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Never thought we would have a Nepalese lunch today. But we did and enjoyed it. Simple inside, easy lunch menu, fresh, pleasant food. Great string beans with cumin and chili - very crispy. Portobello curry and haddock with fresh veggies were very nice as well. Would go back and explore other plates.

Helpful?
1 Thank tferragut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A tiny gem -serving Nepali food! A wonderful mix of FRESH veggies, wonderful spices, tasty dumplings (momo) - and meat/fish if desired. Not too fancy - but very charming and comfortable - with very pleasant and attentive staff. They are careful to inquire about the level of spiciness you prefer, and anxious to explain the different dishes. I had the luxury of visiting at an off time - opening for lunch on a weekday, so had the opportunity to chat about Katmandu, which I had visited years ago, with the owner.... Because it is small, and family run, I could see that service could be a little slow at peak times.... but this is the kind of place you go to linger and relax and try new things! Rama's chicken and vegetable momo were both delicious. Can't wait to go back and try more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bstr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nepal in New Hampshire”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderfully fresh food in a lovely environment. The food was absolutely delicious,- the sauces light and flavorful with spiciness to order and the vegetables crisp and perfectly cooked. The wine recommendation was lovely with the meal. The service was attentive. Will go out of our way to come up from NYC to eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hikersd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ignored”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Read the great reviews and can see the potential for really good food - had a sampling.... BUT.... service was horrible, sat for 15 minutes before we got menus, waitress was totally disinterested, tried to place a sampling order with mix of appetizers and entrees - they got it wrong, had to ask for a glass with the can of soda plunked down on the table. The lamb chops - the most expensive dish on the menu was overcooked, the green bean appetizer was raw, the bread was overly fresh, the rice was cold....

Several surrounding tables had orders placed after ours and served before ours, and served steaming hot. We must have insulted their ancestors in a previous life. When I left I sure felt like I wasted 65 dollars.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZsteveZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Momo also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Momo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing