We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disappointing stay I've ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was treating my boyfriend to a birthday weekend full of fun, and was really looking forward to spoiling him with what I thought was going to be an amazing stay at a nice hotel. I couldn't be more wrong because nothing about this stay was amazing and by the end of our stay my boyfriend thought this was a practical joke and my way of breaking up with him. There wasn't a single person on staff during my stay that enjoys customer service. They couldn't be more bored or any less enthused to help me. No one smiles at you, they look down at their computers acting like they are doing something far more important than recognizing the fact you are there in front of them. I couldn't even get directions to my room at check-in and when I found the appropriate door to enter (after creeping around the parking lot with our luggage), it didn't matter because the elevator was on the other side of the hotel. Thanks for the heads up, front desk. The hotel lobby is pretty and the room was great looking too. The bed was super comfy. We unpacked, got ready to snuggle, and flipped on the TV but then it went black a few minutes later. When I called the front desk, I was told the TV was out because they had Dish Network and it did this sometimes because of the storm (there was a storm?). Next few hours, still no TV. We went to bed without watching our favorite night time shows, and I could tell that my boyfriend was a little disappointed but HEY, we're on vacation! Next day, I was starting to worry that La Quinta hadn't paid their bill because there was still no cable and the sun was shining outside. I couldn't get the news or weather and had to use my phone (maybe this is why the Wi-fi is free?) which was inconvenient to be messing around on my phone when I'm trying to get ready for our first day of vacation. We went downstairs for the breakfast - which was a decent spread. My boyfriend was super excited for a waffle so being this was his special weekend I offered to make him one. When I used the waffle-maker it started making a loud noise after a few seconds which prompted a hotel employee to came over, look at it, turn the waffle maker off, and she then walked away without an explanation, an apology, or even eye-contact. My boyfriend did not get his special waffle and just had some toast instead. I'm starting to look bad here, La Quinta. We got away from the hotel and did a whole day of activities. In my eyes, I redeemed myself with my boyfriend and he was feeling good again. I suggested take-out and a movie at the hotel to end our day, and we were able to order some Chinese food delivery. My boyfriend took a shower to unwind and I caught up on my emails until I heard my boyfriend yelling and cussing from the bathroom. Thanks, La Quinta, nothing says, "look how special you are to me" than a colony of ants on the bathroom floor next to your feet when you're stepping out of the shower. The Chinese food arrived just as my boyfriend was demanding to know what made him so special that I’d bring him here to shower with ants. I asked him to calm down and let's just eat and watch a movie and try to relax. I turned on the TV. "Service currently unavailable." My boyfriend left the room, his Chinese food and his girlfriend untouched. La Quinta, you really helped me nail this romantic weekend thing. The next morning, I managed to catch the GM, Linda, who said that I can have "bonus points" on my La Quinta Member card as a resolution to my concerns and she went on to address another customer without ever asking who I was (how am I supposed to redeem those bonus points, lady?) At check-out, I was handed a room receipt and asked, "Is that you?" Luckily it was, and he was flashing my own information in front of my face and not someone else’s. I feel cheated out of my money for staying at this place because I could have stayed at a dozen other places and I chose this crummy one based on a few pictures, "perks", and a romantic notion. You were supposed to have my back, La Quinta.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Lisa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay and we sincerely apologize that our hotel didn't meet your expectations for your romantic get away. I am disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with our accommodations and customer service. We strive to do our best to achieve La Quinta quality and service standards and I will share your feedback to our staff. I appreciate you choosing La Quinta and sorry to hear of your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice hotel although the front desk clerk lacked some customer service skills. Clerk seemed distracted didn't return my ID or credit card until I had to ask him. Also didn't relay a system wide television outage to us. Had we known we may have gone elsewhere. Manager did apologize the next a.m. but it was a long evening with a bored teenager.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank weare51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. In regards to the television outage, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused during your stay. Our vendor was contacted immediately when the system satellite/internet went down and resolved the problem as soon as they could. We hope you choose La Quinta Manchester the next time while travelling through the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Quincy, Massachusetts
1
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had a very comfortable stay. The bed was so comfortable and my room was as cool as I like it. I slept well. I shared breakfast with a friend who also stayed and it was hot and delicious. I had a room on the first floor but I heard no hall noise. I really was happy with my experience. The hotel was convenient to the highway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you so much for the 5 star review and for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites for your most recent stay. We are happy you had an enjoyable experience and hope to see you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel had everything that one would want on vacation. Centrally located, quiet ,frinedly and breakfast was great. No noise and easy to get in and out ff and not far from airport and most important within our price range

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience with us and the travel community. We are happy you enjoyed your stay while visiting NH and look forward to you returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Rooms and lobby were clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. continental breakfast had hot items, yogurt, waffles, fresh fruit pastries and cereals. Easy to access from the airport. Quick trip to my brothers place I Hooksett.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites in Manchester for your most recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are happy you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and complementary hot breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were coming back from cape cod and we decided to stop in Manchester . After reading the previous reviews and previously stayed at another la Quinta , I knew I wouldn't be disappointed . Amazing service at the front desk. Room was new and very clean . Washroom was very big and roomy . Beds very comfortable . Breakfast had a lot of choices and it was fresh. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
3  Thank Yukongeniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you very much for the 5 star rating and posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and happy to hear that you had a great experience. I will make sure I share your comments to the rest of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Located next to the Amoskeag Bridge, this hotel is a perfect location for events in Manchester NH. The access to the highway and local roads is immediate. Hotel is newly renovated, clean and well-presented.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn & Suites in Manchester for your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Manchester Downtown
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Court Inn & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Manchester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Manchester/Airport
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Manchester Airport
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester

Address: 21 Front St, Manchester, NH 03102-3227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#6 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2012, the brand new La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester is located in the historic Millyard district on the northern edge of vibrant downtown Manchester overlooking the beautiful Amoskeag Falls. Minutes to the Verizon Wireless Arena, NH Fishercats Stadium, Merrimack Premium Shopping Outlets and the Manchester-Boston Regional Airport. We are pleased to offer a complimentary HOT breakfast buffet every morning, free wi-fi, airport shuttle, fitness room,laundry facilities, and an outdoor pool. Our rooms offer a Simmons pillow-top matress, microwave, fridge, Simmons Pillow-Top Mattresses, crisp white duvets, 32” HDTV with 37 channels, free local/long distance calls, coffee makers, Work Desks. We also offer 2 Room Suites with Living & Dining Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Clarion Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing