We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B of our New England Road Trip”
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B & B of our New England Road Trip”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Meticulously maintained accommodation with comfortable beds and well appointed bathrooms. The innkeepers, Brian and Lynn are excellent hosts providing useful local information for your stay as well as wonderful breakfasts. Reception areas are comfortable and complimentary drinks are provided to encourage guests to get together and chat. Parking is provided and locals shops and restaurants are within a few minutes drive away. Home made cookies are provided in the afternoon which were delicious! Wifi access is provided and works well. My wife's gluten free dietary requirements were understood and well catered for.
Nearby Lake Squam was the location for filming "On Golden Pond". Climbed a short hike of just 30 mins up Rattlesnake Mt for a wonderful view of lake.
Home from home, relaxed atmosphere...arrived as guests left as friends

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StueeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have had such great times with our friends from across the pond! We would welcome a return visit and have your contact information too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
261
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed at the Ballard House for two nights and my wife and I couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. From rooms tastefully decorated to complimentary beer, wine and snacks our hosts Brian and Lynn did everything possible to make our stay an enjoyable one. The entire house is incredibly clean and located approximately a mile from the town of Meredith. My wife suffers from celiac and Lynn made sure that all of her breakfast items were gluten free and delicious. I've been to numerous B and B's and their presentation of breakfast was the best by far. From the homemade breads on the table when you arrive at breakfast to whatever they are cooking for their guests to eat, everything looked delicious and presented wonderfully. It also tasted great. The next time we are in the area we will definitely return to the Ballard House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such complimentary comments. I love to cook and it is flattering you thought so highly of the foods we served. Please do come again, we really enjoyed your visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We came to the Ballard House Inn with high expectations, having read all of the reviews on this site, and all of our expectations were absolutely exceeded. We stayed four days (3 nights) with Lynn, Brian and lovely Newton (the golden retriever, love-bug) and throughout our stay we were continually impressed by how comfortable we felt at Ballard House. Our room was immaculately clean and cozy and Brian and Lynn are both warm and welcoming. Brian is ready with a good joke, asking how our days were as we come in and out, and Lynn was always ready with great restaurant recommendations and suggestions of things to do. They are both very good at helping to break the ice with other guests too, lending to a really friendly, communal feel at breakfast. Breakfasts are large and delicious -- particularly the bananas foster over a homemade waffle with sausages. And breakfast is just the start to a great day, as the inn is well-situated to lots of neighboring attractions. We went hiking, ziplining, and spent some more low-key time exploring the nearby lakes. We didn't really think of ourselves as B&B people before, but we honestly cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: Any room would be great. We had a street view room and found it to be just fine, but we'd love t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epstandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks so much for writing a review, calling out what you especially liked and felt we did well. Your comments help us see what is truly important to you when visiting! Speaking of visiting, we hope you return again, snow season is almost here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willington, CT United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had a wonderful two days at The Ballard House Inn. Lynn and Brian made us feel at home from the beginning. Our room was comfortable, well appointed, and immaculate. They were most helpful in finding wonderful places for dinner. Unlike many B & B's we have been too, we felt completely at home upstairs and down. Lynn and Brian have a gift for encouraging ease among their guests and, therefore, lots of fun conversation. They have also done a wonderful job covering many details usually left out: readily available coffee, ice, and wine, with real glasses!..and even a special cloth to use for washing off your make-up. This is the first B & B that we truly look forward to visiting again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and review and let us know your thoughts. We are glad you felt comfortable throughout the inn. Our goal is have the guests feel like it is home and be able to relax and enjoy. We hope you will come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

It's not often you go back to a hotel for a second time on a trip to USA but we enjoyed it so much last year we had to go back to Brian and Lynn's. Ballard house is just lovely and the hosts are so friendly. The hotel is well placed for visiting the lakes area. Breakfast is round a large table with lots of great conversation and fabulous food. Thanks again Brian and Lynn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
How flattered we were you included us two years in a row when coming across the pond for your holiday! Thanks, again, for more positive feedback. We would love to see you for a three-peat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Five stars are not enough for our stay at the Ballard House Inn!! We stayed here for five nights. Lynn and Brian are marvelous hosts. By the time we left, we felt like we were leaving home. Our rooms were immaculate, spacious and very comfortable. They really paid attention to detail. Coffee tea and water downstairs anytime you wanted it. Lynn made delicious cookies and bars everyday. The breakfasts were scrumptious, with homemade sweet breads and Brian's french toast was the bomb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Brian and Lynn were so helpful with suggestions on what to see and where to dine and suggested favorites at these restaurants. Then there is Newton, the goldie. We fell in love with him. We talked about sneaking him in the back of our car when we left, but knew we didn't stand a chance. He is so loving and well behaved. We have already made plans to go back twice next year. If you want a fantastic place to stay in New Hampshire's lake region, this is the place.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogh1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you so very much for the wonderful review. It truly means a lot to us that our past guests take the time to write what they found to be so special. What wonderful, thoughtful guests you were. You have already spoiled Newton rotten and he awaits your next two visits with panting tongue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Drove a long way to a wedding in NH, and felt right at home in the Ballard House.

From the second we arrived, until we left it was a great experience. House and views were amazing, and the owners and their dog were the icing on the cake. Just one example of their "above and beyond attitude"... Without us even asking, they drove us to and from the wedding we were attending!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review sharing your positive experience. We treat people the way we would want to be treated and hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
1.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.5 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
361 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
118 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Property: Ballard House Inn
Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing