We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Part of Our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockledge, Florida
1 review
“Best Part of Our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

What a gem!!!! Our first experience with a B and B, could not have asked for anything more
perfect, from the beautiful home to the wonderful view from our room. Brian and Lynn have a
special way of making their guests feel especially welcome. A warm send-off in the morning and
a genuine welcome home at the end of the day. Both are very knowledgeable about where to
go for activities as well as how to get there. They are equally informative about local restaurants.
Breakfast was delicious!!!! Warm cookies in the afternoon. Beverages available 24/7. We only
had 2 nights, we will definitely return as our jobs and time off allow!!!!
Ted and Paula
PS An added bonus, Newton, the gentle giant, beautiful dog,cannot help but love him!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlsuzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Ted, Paula,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You were great company. Thanks for taking time to write a review and also for the Vietnam Veteran medallion -- we know that meant a lot to you and it was very gracious of you to give it to Brian. Take care, hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
254
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Ballard House Inn was the best night of our recent trip to see the fall foliage. Sadly we only had one night here but enjoyed the whole experience: the beautiful old home, our comfortable and spotless room, the delicious breakfast, the view, the attentive and friendly inn-keepers Brian and Lynn, and Newton their dog. Would happily stay again or recommend anyone else to. The view from Rattlesnake mountain well worth the short hike too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We are sorry you could not spend more of your holiday with us, but are glad we had the opportunity to meet. Thanks so much for the gracious comments about your experience. Certainly hope you will return if in our area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Brian and Lynn are wonderful hosts and the inn itself is a beautifully restored 18th century home. We stayed at many bed and breakfasts on our vacation and The Ballard house, beautifully furnished, impeccably clean, great views, and wonderful hospitality was by far the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. We enjoy what we do and are glad it comes across to our guests during their stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We only stayed for one night but everything was excellent. The hosts, Brian and Lynn were very pleasant and charming and Newton was adorable. The place was spotless, I don't think we've ever visited a place that was so clean! Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good with just the right amount. Brian shared his knowledge of the area with us and other guests and we took advantage of his recommendation to hike the Rattlesnake mountain trail which overlooked lakes Squam (On Golden Pond) and Winnipesaukee.. Very good value.

Room Tip: We were a party of three adults and we were accommodated in adjoining rooms with our own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your brief visit. We take pride in keeping the Inn spotless and helping our guests enjoy the area activities. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Ballard House is a gem in the beautiful lakes region of New Hampshire. It was our first visit to the area and our stay at this home was perfect! Brian and Lynn were very friendly and hospitable, from the cookies and wine in the afternoon, to the restaurant recommendations to the sumptuous breakfast in the morning. Close to the towns of Meredith and Center Harbor, but far enough away to feel off the beaten path. My wife wanted to visit Keepsake Quilting and Brian got on the phone to confirm their hours and gave us directions how to get there.
The Ballard House is a grand old home built in the 1800's but renovated with all of the modern conveniences and safety features, including free Wi-Fi. The sheets and towels were awesome, bed very comfortable and the hospitality was warm, while still allowing privacy. I would not hesitate to recommend The Ballard House as a 5-Star place to stay. Oh and one more thing - they have the biggest a Golden Retriever I have ever seen and he is very friendly!

Room Tip: The East facing rooms offer the best view and are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thanks for the kind words, you hit it on the head -- we want people to feel like they are at home and can kick back and relax! Hope you will consider us your next trip East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

At first we were unsure as the Ballard House is a little bit out of the main area in Meredith. However this was more than compensated for by the accommodation and overall comfort but most importantly by the friendliness and the fun of Brain and Lynn, our hosts. They were more than helpful and made us and the other guests feel really at home. The view over the lakes from the terrace was amazing and the fact that there was complimentary wine and drinks to accompany this was the icing on the cake. We couldn't recommend the Ballard House enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for taking time submitting a review with such kind comments. We enjoy hosting our guests and are glad that came across during your visit. We always try to have fun with our friends across the pond during their holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Tree, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The owners, and the Inn itself, are charming and real gems.Your experience starts with a hardy -heart felt - welcome from Lynn, Brian and Newton their gentle loving golden retriever who waits adoringly at the top of the front patio stairs. Every detail of your stay is attended to and the rooms are are so comfortable and decorated lovely and thoughtfully. It is a very special feeling when combined with how Lynn and Brian go out of their way to creat an atmosphere filled with laughter, relaxation and fun. They are devoted to making your stay a special memory. I would recommend a room in the back of the Inn given the beautiful views. Well done Brian, Lynn and of course Newton!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We make it a point to make our guests feel like friends and family! Please come see us again for some excellent skiing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
1.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.5 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
8.0 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Property: Ballard House Inn
Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing