We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the inn for 3 nights and it was one of the best we have ever stayed at.The place is very well located 5 minutes from downtown Meredith but far enough away to just make you forget where you are.Go sit on the back porch at sunset in one of the rocking chairs and watch the sunset you can't help but relax.The breakfasts are very well done all home made each day and Brian even cooks when his wife Lynn lets him.Our stay started with a very nice welcome by Brian and never stopped making us feel at home.The rooms are very clean,well done,and better than you expect for the price.This place is well above average in every way the kind of place you would send your family to if they asked you for a place to stay.I don't know how the owners do such a good job it is a lot of work to keep a place this well.I hope to return for a another stay soon.

Room Tip: They're all good.Some road noise but the ac covers it up.You hardly notice it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank austin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a favorable review. Our motto is - - treat people the way you would want to be treated! Hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Having just read all the recent rave reviews, I'll say ditto, ditto, ditto to all. Lynn and Brian do an amazing job--the Inn could be the model for every B&B in the country. Do not pass up an opportunity to stay here. And follow their recommendations for places to eat. Lastly, be sure and ask to meet Newton.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We thank you so much for your complimentary review. We host such great guests, it makes our job easy! We just try to have fun with people and help them enjoy their vacations. Take care, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Need more stars for this one, Tripadvisor!! These guys are truly amazing --- most hospitable hosts you'll ever find! They'll do whatever they possibly can to make your stay more inviting & enjoyable. BTW---- we just instinctively KNOW hotels are SUPPOSED to be clean.............but The Ballard House Inn is the cleanest home I've ever seen----- there isn't a speck of dust on any ledge or baseboard--- feels like you're moving into a brand new, never used room built JUST FOR YOU!!!
The common areas areas comfortable and the food is scrumptious! They are very focused on making sure your special dietary needs are accommodated.... and with creative dishes!
Newton, the gentle giant golden retriever has impeccable manners and only allowed out when the guests request him.... what a love! These guys REALLY have the process down pat..... but also make you feel like you are their only concern! What pros! Thanks for a lovely stay---we'll be back!

Room Tip: The Sunapee Room was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We are so flattered by your review! We read your feedback concerning the cleanliness to our part timers (who are awesome!) as they are instrumental in helping keep the Inn in tip top condition! I've said it before, our motto is to treat people the way we would like to be treated. Do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed 7/13-7/14 and attended a concert nearby. We had a wonderful, cozy and extremely clean room. Every detail was covered by the hosts, Brian and Lynn. They prepared delicious breakfasts and had snacks and wine available all day. They are owned :-) by a lovable and gentle giant--Newton- their Golden Retriever. We hope to stay again another time.
-Tom and Marie

Room Tip: All rooms are impeccably clean. We prefer the rooms out back due to the busy road. The suites give a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Wow, thanks for wanting to give us 6 stars! You both were great guests and a lot of fun. You are right, Newton rules! Please come back and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Love, Love, Love this Inn! Brian and Lynne are amazing hosts. The home, yard, parking, view are all beautiful. The friendliness that they offer is beyond every expectation we could have hoped for. The breakfast was amazing and the common rooms are cozy and comfy, along with a wrap around porch so you may follow the sun or shade. Very convenient to everything in the area. The Queen of England would not receive any better treatment then we did!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank msaskibuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We are so glad you loved the Inn! We love our guests! The best part of the job is interacting with our company. Thanks for your complimentary review. The Queen would get the same treatment as any of us commoners :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

From the moment we booked our stay, until we left, owners Brian and Lynn were amazing! Before arrving, I called to let them know that I had a dairy and gluten allergy that had suddenly appeared. Brian enthusiastically told me that he makes the best gluten free pancakes (which was true!). Upon arriving, Brian and Lynn greeted us like family, showing us the rooms, going over the details and helping us with our bags. The Inn was immaculate, grounds were beautiful and the rooms were well appointed. They took the time to help get us settled, asked what our plans were, and helped suggest restaurants and recreational activities. Each recommendation was spot on! We truly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, at an exceptional B&B Inn! Jim & Elaine W

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter, and have a view of Squam Lake, which is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank METravellerMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We appreciate the time you took to submit such a favorable review. Thanks for mentioning the details you took note of, we try to ensure everyone has a great experience at the Inn and in the Lakes Region. We would welcome the opportunity to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My fiancé and I spent one night at the Ballard House and we will make future plans to come back. This B&B was very clean and the hosts were very welcoming. When we arrived we were greeted by both Lynn and Brian who are the nicest and most genuine people you could meet . They made us feel right at home and were very accommodating. The room we stayed in was spotless and the linens so fresh. The next morning we had a fantastic breakfast and made small talk with the other guests. The entire experience was pleasant and enjoyable. This B&B is one that is worth visiting!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballardhouse, Owner at Ballard House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review and for your kind words. We try to create a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere during our guests' stays. We are also glad you plan to return. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
1.6 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
0.9 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
121 reviews
5.4 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
26 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range: £105 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing