We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill Falls at the Lake
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meredith
newton nh
1 review
“great hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

It was one of the finest overall places that i have stayed at. it was quaint and friendly, the open concept of all of the hotels under the umbrella makes this stay special. I hesitate to give it too good of a recommendation in fear that this hidden gem will become too overcrowded,; i highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    97
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
98
162
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melrose, ma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Very quick one night stay for family visit in the area. Very beautiful in the winter snow. Cozy New England charm and very efficient and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgbrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY-Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

A very nice romantic New England Inn with a balcony and fireplace. The location was perfect with shops and restaurants nearby. It is on the shores of Lake Winnipesaukee.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

I have not been to a better hotel/motel/inn etc in all the years that I have been traveling to New Hampshire. Actually, I have not felt more comfortable in a hotel in my trips around New England or the Tri-State Area. I would advise, however, that this hotel is best in the winter. Now this is not to say that you will not have a good time in the summer because you will. There is just something enjoyable and unique about a winter experience at this property.

The hotel is located at the northern point of Lake Winnipesauke and many of the rooms have look views where you will be able to watch the ice fishermen during the day. Starting in the lobby, you will absolutely love the rustic and country feel. The fireplace is exquisite and adds to the quite ambiance along with a wooden checker board and free coffee/tea maker.

In all my years, I don’t remember having a bad room at the hotel. Many have views of the lake, but even those that don’t are very comfortable. As a matter of fact, when I last went in December `08, the hotel had just refurbished many of the bathrooms to include hardwood floors. The beds, chairs, couches, and even the floor rugs in the room are all very comfortable. It’s perfect for the days when you just want to have a coffee and watch a football game or read a book, especially if you get a room with a fireplace.

One of the best aspects of the hotel is the attached marketplace. Yeah, there are a lot of knick-knacks and up north souvenir type stuff, but do not leave without walking through. Make sure you also stop a Giuseppe’s for a beer and pizza, though I will say that my favorite has always been the fried zucchini. It’s easy to get lost in the marketplace and spend several hours there even though there is only about a dozen or so stores. Between books, candy, Yankee candles and Italian food, there is plenty to do here.

Now despite all the positives at the hotel, along with an indoor pool, you need to venture out. Go to the wonderful spa at Church Landing, do some candlepin bowling at FunSpot, and make sure to take a drive up to North Conway. Like I said, winter is best because you cannot imagine some of the winter area that this area boasts until you see it for yourself. I can’t wait to head back in December `09.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Ma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

The Inn at Mill Falls really knows how to cater to quilters. They stop in often to freshen up the pitchers of ice water. They have cutting tables and ironing boards all set up. Everything you could need is steps away in Meredith or even in the Mill itself. The location is fantastic, right on the lake in the center of town, surrounded by many choices of fine dining places. The best part is the hot tub is adjacent to the sewing room and you can ask for rooms on the same floor , so a relaxing soak before bed is just the treat you need after a hard day of sewing. The management is very accommodating and responds immediately to requests.The machine in the lobby dispenses coffee, hot chocolate, hot water 24/7. The renovations are very nice with the upgraded pillows and mattresses and the fridge in every room. What was great is even better. Don't miss breakfast in the Waterfall Cafe, delicious and the nicest waitresses ever

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

This was a nice off-season destination because the Inn was set up for the chilly days of fall with a cozy fireplace, places to sit and relax, nice views of the lake, and accessibility to many nice shops that were still open and well appointed. The room was very comfortable and fit our needs for moderate price while offering great service and friendly atmosphere.
The restaurants had great atmosphere but the food was inconsistent- some of the dishes during our meals were outstanding while some seemed to come out of a package. Overall a great weekend destination for those looking to relax in small New England town atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlanoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The staff, the location, the Inns, the Spa - everything was excellent!. If you are planning a trip to New Hampshire, I would definitely recommend staying at one of the Inns - although Church Landing was our favorite!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
0.3 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
15.0 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Falls at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Falls at the Lake

Property: Mill Falls at the Lake
Address: 312 Daniel Webster Hwy, Meredith, NH 03253-5863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Falls at the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Meredith Village the Inn at Mill Falls awaits you. A restored nineteenth century linen mill and a tumbling forty-foot waterfall create a setting that envelops guests in an atmosphere of warmth, comfort and easy relaxation. By combining old-world charm, a crackling fireplace, cozy nooks, an indoor pool and sauna, and affordable accommodations, Mill Falls redefines the traditional country Inn. Stay at The Inn and enjoy all of the amenities that Mill Falls at the Lake has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mill Falls at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mill Falls Hotel Meredith
Hotel At Mill Falls
At Mill Falls Meredith
The Inns At Mill Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing