We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
52
28
11
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
28
11
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp restaurant mill falls church landing queen bed main road getaway weekend many reasons waterfall cafe view of the lake stayed two nights wonderful weekend nice room within walking distance off season spa fireplace properties
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I spent New Year's Eve weekend at the Chase House at Mills Fall Inn and Spa and had a wonderful time. Our room was reminiscent of French Country, and the gas fireplace was definitely a plus. The staff is all friendly, and there are shops, restaurants, and bars nearby for food and drinks. We enjoyed walking around the town, visiting the various stores and shops, and then stopped at a local place for drinks.

Room tip: If you want a room that's quiet, choose one in the Chase House - all the rooms have a view of the lake with a balcony, and the two inside pools that attract lots of families with children are in another building.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boomertraveller1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed in Chase House for a few days whilst we were touring New England at the end of Oct 2011. We were looking for a fairly luxurious place to stay with good access to some walking and scenery in the White Mountains.

By the end of our stay, we had warmed to the small town of Meredith, which is essentially the collection of hotels that make up the Inns at Mill Falls. Initially we were underwhlemed with the suite and a little overwhelmed by the marketplace area and eating out!

Our first evening out we went for a drink in Camps under Chase House, which was really small and busy, and then for food at Giuseppe's. We opted to share a starter of Bruscetta, which no joke could have served 8 people, then had pizzas, so we were well fed. We took the bruscetta away and had it for breakfast the next day (and the day after). It was a bit busy in there too though and not what we were hoping for really.. but, by our last night we were a bit more savvy, knew the area better and had a fabulous meal at Lagos at Bay Point. So, there is enough there for all tastes if you do a quick bit of research!

We went for a suite since we were after a bit of luxury and although the room had everything it should have done - fireplace, sofas, large bed, double bath, it lacked a little bit of a wow factor for us. I think my parents would really like it - more wholesome and well-equipped, rather than luxurious. We had a balcony overlooking the lake - we knew about the road in front before arriving, so were not too bothered by this - both Bay Point and Church Landing are on the lake, so no road spoiling things.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful during our stay. Meredith is superbly located for the White Mountains and seeing this beautiful part of USA.

When we were looking for somewhere to stay for this part of our trip, we struggled to find what we wanted, and that is our fault for having unfounded expectations for a part of the world we knew little about, and although slightly confused at first whether we were in a Dirty Dancing type film or a Stephen King novel, during our stay we really grew to enjoy the atmosphere and would recommend a visit.

Room tip: If a balcony overlooking a road would bother you, avoid Chase House.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Wow! I stayed two nights at the Chase House during Thanksgiving holiday. The rooms are quaintly dressed in Traditional style, they look more like a New England guest bedroom than a hotel. Our room had one King with superb bed linens and pillows. (No shortage of pillows here).

Instead of flimsy furniture there are stately pieces that match the decor well. There is a seating area with gas fireplace, and a beautiful view from the private porch overlooking the water.

Room amenities include a small frig and coffee maker. The complimentary shampoo and conditioner did lack in workability and essence, but normally I remember my own items. There is also a tiny closet area closed off with drapes to keep your clothing items hidden from guests.

I made coffee in the room in the am and it was horrible so we tried the coffee in the lobby which was ok, would have rather seen a Keurig. My husbands creamer was sour which turned him off from coffee, however mine was fine on both days.

This inn has a lot of perks to offer including on site restaurants, swimming facilities and a spa. We ordered pizza from the room service menu which was received in about 20 minutes or less and was great!

My only very minor complaints: complimentary toiletries lacking, tv is not HD (although you are in Meredith, come on, right!? No need for TV), coffee bar lackluster, and there wasn't bedside tables for both sides. Big plusses: free wi-fi, beautifully decorated, amazing view, awesome bed and linens.

Watch out for: on the inside side of the bed there is a standing lamp near the wall by the sofa, every time I got out of bed I tripped over it. Thankfully my 88 yr old gram had her own room and slept on the outside to avoid this issue.

Extras: mini shopping boutiques on premises, you don't even need to go outside!

Date of stay: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivingLoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Visited Meredith for our anniversary. Loved the quaintness of the area. There isn't a ton of things to do right in Meredith, but it was great for an overnight or if we had planned a hike or something. Looked like the hotel across the street that is ON the lake is the nicest of the Mills Falls hotels.

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Chase house belongs to the Inns at Mill Falls. Meaning that you have 4-5 (?) houses which belong to the territory. If you think you can just put your bathing robe on and hop into the Spa/Pool area - forget it. You first have to get dressed and walk 10 minutes to the house Church Landing (which is actually the nicest house of all the Inns & Spa at Mill Falls). Our suite at the Chase house actually had the nicest look onto the lake, it´s own Jacuzzi and a connecting door to the living room where our daughter slept on a pull out couch. For 339 USD a night (without tax) we would have expected though that the bed for her is made to give her a warm welcome as well. After having stayed in beautiful bed & breakfasts with cosy atmosphere on our 2 weeks roadtrip we were already used to a good breakfast before going on the road again. Well....After we could not find any information in the hotel brochure we called the front desk who told us that the breakfast would be as well in the Church Landing building...okay...so the next morning we went on searching in that building for the breakfast area. Guess what - they only had a little table with a quick traveller breakfast for free. Meaning: Coffee, Orange Juice, an apple, (a tray with some pastries which they just took away when we arrived) and a few cereal bars. That´s it. They told us that we had to go and have breakfast at one of the restaurants in the hotel area. We thought: You gotta be kidding - and all that waste of time for bad information? How can you scare your hotel guests away? In a big country of a lot of good bed & breakfast competitors this behaviour of non-information is a way how you get rid of your hotel guests - that´s for sure.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews