We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere, honest staff”
Review of Mame's - CLOSED

Mame's
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, honest staff”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We are Floridians spending hurricane season in the NH seashore and lake country. We couldn't have been more pleased with the atmosphere, food and staff. Don't let the parking lot turn you off..(the dumpster was really ripe and we parked too near it!). When we returned and were checking our credit card receipts I noticed that I had made an error in totaling the tip with the meal charge that would have resulted in an $8 overpayment but the staff noticed it and corrected the charge to the proper total. I would like go back there when the weather is nasty when the cozy atmosphere would be even more appreciated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    15
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I didn't know what I was missing!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

After passing Mames up for years, my wife and I finally stopped in for dinner and were delighted! We had thought that the seating must be very tight with a lack of intimacy in this original antique. It was the opposite cthe tables are thoughtfully placed to allow for intimate conversations and the food exceeded our expectations. A must. Comfort good with a flair. Homemade bread and a prime rib that melts in your mouth. ( if you're in search of the perfect prime rib... This IS the place!! See you Friday night!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendy Staff”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stop here off and on so it has been a while We were so surprised to hear nice music upstairs so we headed up to listen to a good singer. The customers were a enjoying themselves and friendly to people joining in. Looks like the management has started to clean up and attract some new customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A wonderful use of an old building with little rooms everywhere. The historic setting certainly added to the atmosphere. The food was good. I enjoyed the seafood pie.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good deal on a good dinner”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were referred here by our B&B owner, and also provided with a coupon for 50% off one entree. We had good service, but we also got there fairly early in the evening. They did get busier after we sat down, with a couple of larger tables. They provide a complimentary bean dip and crackers as an appetizer, which they seem to feature, although, honestly, we didn't think the dip was anything special. They also provide bread/butter to the table, which was good. I ordered the french onion soup, which I would HIGHLY recommend. They had a chicken root beer special the night we were there which was good, and we also got the pork dijon, which was very good. The sides of rice pilaf and zucchini/yellow squash medley were also tasty. We each had a cocktail, and neither of us had dessert (we didn't need it - the meal was plenty filling!). The total for our meal for two, after the 50% discount for one entree, was $50 including tax, but before gratuity. We thought the service was good, but our server wasn't terribly busy.
The restaurant is in a historic building (dating back to 1825), which makes it more interesting, and there are several small dining rooms, which I think makes it more quiet, too.
We would go here again, if we are in Meredith, in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nfall2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mame's also viewed

Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing