We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lobster Rolls!”

Town Docks Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Meredith
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner
New Canaan, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Fantastic Lobster Rolls!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hot lobster rolls were fantastic! The other items were very good also, but I think everyone in our party wished they had ordered the lobster rolls.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KHZOUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    135
    82
    27
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Please avoid”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I am not sure how come people on TA would like it. We went to the establishment based on TA review and expecting no more than a good basic sea-food meal. Our party of 9 ordered Fish&Chips, Salmon, Mahi Mahi tacos and a lobster dish. Fish in Fish&Chips were soggy with cole slaw that looked and tasted stale. Salmon was seasoned weird, not sure how can you ruin a fish like that. It perhaps too was not fresh. Salads were horrible to look at, let alone how they tasted. Only the tacos apparently were good, as suggested by the person that ordered them. Lobster, an expensive order, was a mistake. We had more fresh lobster on a salad at Sawyers the day before.

They recommend ice cream below their restaurant. Thee ice cream was terrible, very creamy and much like Eddy or similar brands. It was a let down as we were expecting a freshly home-made type ice cream and not a bad version of a commercially available freezer quality stuff. Will not go back and neither would recommend anyone to visit this place. Even the kids complained of lack of food quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lakeside fun”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Walking the boardwalk in Meredith we decided to stop here for dinner. Had two good salads, my husband had the lobster over mixed greens and avocado. I had the seared tuna nicoise. Both were very good, nice quality lettuces, not drowning in dressing and quite large. There was lots,of the usual beach,bar type food with wonderful-looking onion rings going by but we did not indulge. They have a nice selection of summer cocktails. The cucumber cooler was delicious. Restaurant was pretty crowded with families, couples and small groups but the service was very good. Our server Abby was pleasant and attentive. There was a musician playing folk music which was quite nice and not intrusive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tosca1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
247 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Another great meal at Town Docks”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We ate here as we were heading out of town, great last stop on our trip.

Loved eating outside at the picnic tables with our toes in the sand and water views all around. The food came out fairly quickly and all was very good. For a very busy spot all day every day in the summer, I have to say the servers were very good about checking back in with you.

My only complaint is that the drink I ordered was TINY and I do really mean TINY. Very big dissappointment. It was one of their margaritas, so ask if your drink comes in a normal sized plastic cup or the teeny one...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great meal, LOBSTER ROLL, place to relax”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location for a quick bite or to relax with drinks. This location has plenty of outdoor seating selections from a table for two to large picnic table seating. This location also has rooftop seating which provides even better views of the adjacent lake. I had a cold beer and the lobster roll, which is available two ways/ cold like a salad or hot with dipping butter. I had it hot with dipping butter, lots of large lobster pieces/claw with a very fresh taste. I liked that the lobster was the star of the sandwich. The service here was exceptional, they were very attentive. This was my first visit to this location and I was welcomed once seated by one of the managers "Paul", I observed him going from table to table welcoming every guest. I have traveled all over the country and still don't understand why every business doesn't get what Paul does. It is about feeling welcome, a place away from home and where a stranger makes you feel like family.

Great job guys, hope to see you next year!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 38allovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Town Docks Restaurant also viewed

Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 
Meredith, White Mountains
Meredith, White Mountains
 

Been to Town Docks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing