We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary”
Review of Nutmeg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nutmeg Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chebeague Island
1 review
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

So much more than just beautiful and inviting! We were warmly greeted by the innkeeper, Mark, who provided us with the wonderful history of the Nutmeg Inn. After we settled into our lovely room, Mark had all the information we needed for our day trips and dining out at night. Sitting by the fire the next morning with a cup of coffee and freshly baked homemade bread and jams was heavenly....only to be outdone by the most delicious breakfast each morning. Coming back to the B & B after an active day and enjoying the fireplace once again was so relaxing. This was a truly outstanding experience that needs to be repeated!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
80
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chebeague Island, ME
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

What a pleasant surprise to find we had booked at an outstanding B & B! Innkeeper, Mark was so gracious and gave us a wonderful history of the B&B when we arrived. Comfy couches around a roaring fire, many books for quiet time, recommendations for dining, and a TV if you HAD to watch the game! The suggestions for side trips were wonderful (we took the mail boat around Lake Winnipesaukee....a 2 hour trip, and went to Castle in the Clouds (a must see with great vistas).
The breakfasts were to die for, juices, coffee, tea, fresh fruit (with a twist!), freshly baked bread, blueberry french toast, just to name a few.
Will we come back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After completing a week of roughing it on a backpack trip in the White Mountains, my husband and I reunited at this dream of a B & B. He had worked all day and flown in from NC, so we were both in a bit of a hectic mode and the Nutmeg Inn was truly a soft place to land. We immediately felt transported into the warmth and comfort of the hospitality offered by Mark and Lynne. The beautiful setting and the history of the place seemed to ooze from the walls and floorboards and conveyed a calming effect on our somewhat frayed nerves. The fireplace in our room was such a comfort. My only regret is that we could not stay longer to more fully enjoy this by special place. We hope to return and heartily recommend the Nutmeg Inn.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms have a fireplace and we really loved ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heronita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

An unexpectedly gracious warm welcome, hot cider, coffee, and tasty snacks. Did I mention a great big blazing fireplace in the living room of a historic inn. Mark and Lynne were very gracious hosts and went out of their way to make our entire family feel at home. After a full day of touring and a late arrival at the Nutmeg Inn our hosts insisted on personally greeting us with food and drink. After relaxing and coversing by the fire they suggested the perfect place for getting pizza. We loved the Inn so much (and were pretty tired) we just brought the pizza back and enjoyed watching football and the fire.
The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable with all the amenities.
Breakfast was simply delicious and the fresh bread and cinnamon rolls were just the best....
But what really stands out from the visit was the truly caring nature of Mark and Lynne and how they really went out of their way to make us feel at home and makes us feel like one of their family. Visiting with them was really a pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great experience. The owners are wonderful hosts and have updated many features of the Inn. . The Inn has a lot of history which is interesting to hear about, including a recently discovered hideaway for the underground railroad. The rates are more than reasonable.

We stopped in on our way to northern NH for an evenings stay and will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Teaberry. The room is a bit isolated from the rest of the Inn, we loved the room, it fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A really nice Inn that is in a quiet part of Meredith but close to everything. Beautifully restored building with lovely flowers. I arrived late afternoon and there was a selection of yummy appetizers to snack on before I checked in. The room was large with a very comfortable bed, great linens and a pretty private bath. The Inn was blissfully quiet at night and the breakfast the next morning was delicious. The extra touches at breakfast from wonderful coffee and homemade buns through an egg puff and fruit were a real treat. I would highly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jody431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our "Night to Remember" started even before we arrived...making our reservation online was so simple and user friendly. Beautiful pictures of the Inn and the sleeping rooms gave an exact image of what we could as a guest at the Nutmeg Inn. When we turned into the driveway of the Nutmeg Inn we were surrounded by beautiful gardens, stonewalls and manicured lawns. We were warmly greeted by Innkeepers Lynne and Mark and immediately felt welcomed and relaxed. From the moment we entered this magnificent home we saw and felt the history and warmth within its walls. Lynne and Mark told us wonderful stories of its past and present. After a tour of this beautifully restored and truly loved antique home we were shown to our room, The Rosemary Room.This very large room has a comfortable king size bed, cozy sitting area, private bath and windows overlooking the lawn and heated in-ground pool. Not only was the room immaculate but also beautifully appointed. When morning arrived so did the most elegant breakfast. Mark's homemade bread was right out of the oven and delicious and Lynne's homemade granola and egg frittata were absolutely outstanding. After "one more cup of coffee" and a dip in the pool we had to say our good-byes to Lynne, Mark and the Nutmeg Inn. We will return to the Nutmeg Inn and next time we plan on bringing friends and family. If you want a true New England Bed and Breakfast experience in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire then make your reservation for your "Night to Remember" at the Nutmeg Inn in Meredith, New Hampshire. I know you will want to return again and again...we're going to! Thank you again Lynne and Mark. See you soon. Maggie B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
2.0 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
2.0 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sutton House Bed & Breakfast
Sutton House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nutmeg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nutmeg Inn

Property: Nutmeg Inn
Address: 80 Pease Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nutmeg Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to be your hosts at this historic country B&B – a respite from everyday life in the heart of the New Hampshire Lakes Region.Located near beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee, the Nutmeg Inn’s provenance dates back to 1763 as the Eliphalet Rawlings Homestead. Enjoy a roaring fire in our Great Room, old movies in our West Parlor, and a game of billiards on our antique pool table. From May through September, enjoy a swim in our heated, in-ground swimming pool.With the resort town of Meredith and many lake and mountain attractions nearby, the Nutmeg Inn is the perfect home base for your New Hampshire vacation year round. We pride ourselves on our hearty country breakfasts and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nutmeg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing