We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Christmas”
Review of Nutmeg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nutmeg Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Central City, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New England Christmas”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

When I planned to visit the area over Christmas I was happy that the Nutmeg Inn would accommodate me over the holiday. I was going to be visiting my son and he had gone over to see if it would be a place I'd love. He was very impressed so I picked out the room I wanted from their website and was so pleased with it. I had a fire in the fireplace three of the four nights I stayed and it was so cozy. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and all the linens were of excellent quality. Every amenity was provided to make a guest feel well cared for. The Inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Antique lovers will appreciate the wonderful old pieces that have furnished all the rooms. The breakfasts were sumptuous and started off with warm sourdough bread that Mark made each morning. The Innkeepers, Mark and Lynne were so hospitable and friendly making my experience truly a perfect New England Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
91
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We brought 18 people from all over the US--California, DC, and all over the East Coast, for a three day (Fri, Sat, Sun) conference. We were welcomed royally, and many amenities offered beyond breakfast--snacks for our attendees, constant hot coffee and tea--as well as hot cider--fireplaces going in most of the conference rooms. Rooms were clean, well set-up and service was excellent.
This was even better than our trial visit--tables and chairs, power-strips for computers, internet (wi-fi) available everywhere. This is an excellent venue for your small conference or professional meeting. The professionalism as well as intimacy is hard to beat!

Stephen Larsen, Ph.D

Room Tip: The Clove Room has its own fireplace! nice, romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

An impromptu stop on the way to the White Mountains in the fall. The Nutmeg is run by Mark and Lynn two of the friendliest people and perfect hosts. Although late in the year and after the leaves had largely disappeared 4 of the rooms were occupied by other couples some regular visitors such is the excellence of this B&B.

The building is 200 years old - in America!! The timbers felt really filled with history including a trap door in our room for hiding escaping slaves on their way to Canada. A great location for the lakes and not too far to the White Mountains.

Lynn booked us a table in a local restaurant highlight which was fully booked without her input. Both were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble to provide including a breakfast that saved us eating all the rest of the day.

The house was very clean, well presented and equipped, NO TV which was a bonus and excellent fireside conversation later in the evening when the other couples also returned - including the oft mentioned Jim and Marlene.

I hope that others looking for a place to stay in the area take advantage of this highly recommended hostelry, you won't find a better or more friendly place.

Good luck for the future to Mark and Lynn at the Nutmeg Inn. Hoping to open throughout the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed 2 nights at this delightful B&B.. Mark and Lynn went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect while we were there. Mark had wonderful stories about this 200 year old house, including stories about Charlie. You have to ask him to tell the stories. We would love to stay there again sometime. We also met Marlene and Jim , another couple visiting at the same time and wish we would have more time with them. You will love the innkeepers and the wonderful breakfasts they serve.
Dusty and Ron Haase (Nebraska)

Room Tip: All of the rooms were very nice. We stayed in the Clove room and our friends stayed in the Cinnamon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHaase2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, DE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just spent 2 wonderful nights at this beautiful, historic Inn nestled in the hills of Meredith, NH., yet close to all the attractions the area has to offer.
Our Innkeepers, Mark & Lynn were so friendly and hospitable and served the greatest breakfast each morning. You will not go away dissatisfied! We hope to return there in the future and would encourage anyone seeking a great B&B experience to go to The Nutmeg Inn.
Marlene & Jim J (Delaware)

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaware70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

After having a negative experience from a B&B nearby, this place more than made up for it. Clean, professional, caring, thoughtful, accommodating, and a great breakfast. The owners were delightful people that made you feel like family. They went above and beyond to help us during our unique situation. We will definitely be back.

Our Highlights:
High-end, New England breakfast (homemade cinnamon buns, basil infused cream with fruit, fresh, out of the oven bread, and much, much more.
Very charming, well-preserved historic home.
Knowledgeable innkeepers.
Very comfortable beds.
Unique variety of room choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cicasali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Nutmeg Inn has been the best B&B that we have ever stayed at, we felt like we had the royal treatment. Learning the history of the Inn was very fun and made everything more personal. We chose this Inn to stay at while we did a wine tasting/birthday weekend in the local area.

Enjoying my morning coffee, a glass of wine, or afternoon treat by the living room fire was very relaxing. We felt comfortable to be ourselves and enjoy the common areas of the Inn. The fresh morning bread and family style breakfast was wonderful, we loved sharing stories with our fellow travelers. This place is a great stay for any reason and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the sage room, quiet and plenty of privacy, next time I might pick a room with a firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
2.0 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
368 reviews
2.0 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
15.5 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
366 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
119 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nutmeg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nutmeg Inn

Property: Nutmeg Inn
Address: 80 Pease Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5509
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nutmeg Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to be your hosts at this historic country B&B – a respite from everyday life in the heart of the New Hampshire Lakes Region.Located near beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee, the Nutmeg Inn’s provenance dates back to 1763 as the Eliphalet Rawlings Homestead. Enjoy a roaring fire in our Great Room, old movies in our West Parlor, and a game of billiards on our antique pool table. From May through September, enjoy a swim in our heated, in-ground swimming pool.With the resort town of Meredith and many lake and mountain attractions nearby, the Nutmeg Inn is the perfect home base for your New Hampshire vacation year round. We pride ourselves on our hearty country breakfasts and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nutmeg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing