We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quick stop”
Review of The Loon Center

The Loon Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the Loon Preservation Committee, this center works to protect one of the best known birds found in the Lakes Region.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A quick stop”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very informative center with 2 hiking trails. I had to do the much shorter because I was in a walking boot. Unfortunately, the longer trail is the one where you might see the loons, which I could not do. Liked that they had walking sticks available to "borrow".

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The Loon Center is worth a trip with kids of any age - there are walking trails for the older, and FABULOUS interactive exhibits for the younger (can you say 'build your own loon nest'?). The staff is friendly and informed. Not a whole-day event, but just the right spot for a morning or afternoon away from the lake.

Helpful?
1 Thank SCSenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Cool place , nice gift shop for the nature enthusiastic ..... The loon cruises are a not to be missed experience of loons and time on a beautiful lake with spectacular views of the White Mountains .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting Loon Info”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

So there aren't many loon centers, visit this one to learn all about this very interesting bird. I did the nature walk, although you won't be able to actually see the loon nesting sites. I did enjoy the nature center as I learned a few more things I didn't know about loons. I think kids will love this as the center is pretty small and has interactive exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clareart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
348 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Wow, what an experience learning about the magnificent, protected bird and its habitat. Very, very interesting and a must see for the family. Also has a hiking trail to their nesting grounds. Fantastic gift shop with everything from books to trinkets with loons on them. The attraction is free with donations accepted.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maddie1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loon Center also viewed

 

Been to The Loon Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing