We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taking care of disabled veterans”
Review of Sunapee Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Best Western in Sunapee is a great hotel, we just finished adisabled veterans clinic there and from the staff, its the best week of the year. When you go to the hotel, they treat you as a real person and do everything in their power to make you stay as pleasent as can be. Being in a wheelcjhair, they help move luggage, add ice to the rooms and always overlook your disability. I would recomend this hotel to all my friends and fellow veterans.

Room Tip: Book early espicially during ski season.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Sunapee Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was there with close to a hundred vets. Each morning there was a huge problem with coffee, never mind the rotten tidbits for Breakfast they pawn off to you. What do expect from a cesspool, this placed needs significant improvement; starting with the General Manager.
My room was really never cleaned, long hairs in the bathroom. It is true you get what you pay for.

Veterans Summer Sports Clinic, I hope they choose another hotel, insulting.

Room Tip: Keep on driving!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bean18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin B, General Manager at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Sir, we are saddened that you didn't enjoy the summer clinic we hosted for you and other veterans. We look forward to hosting the event on our property every year and appreciate the opportunity to serve our veterans very much. The members of our staff and I are upset to hear of an individual coming to the event and leaving dissatisfied. For seventeen years we have hosted summer and winter sports clinics for disabled veterans, and each year we strive to provide an atmosphere both welcoming and fun. We pride ourselves on providing those types of experiences at The Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to review and tell us what we could have done better so we may work to improve other guests' experiences. I hope in the future we continue to host every clinic held by the Veteran's Association and get another opportunity to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Recently hosted our company "Summerfest" family picnic weekend in and around Lake Sunapee......100+ people for a 3 day event. Best Western accommodated most of the families/couples during the events of the weekend.
Could not have been happier with their organization, customer service, food and beverage teams, and overall willingness to help in any way possible. At the height of the event a storm rolled through causing a power outage for a few hours. They went "above and beyond" to insure that guests were safe and happy. They even directed a group of ours to a space where they could continue to enjoy the evening until the power was restored.
The group was thrilled with every aspect of their stay.
A great big thank you to the management and staff for helping to make the weekend such a great success!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Staff was friendly and accomodating. Nice room with a comfortable king bed and ice cold A/C. Quieter than expected being on a state highway. Breakfast is basic but with several choices. Easy walk to Lake Sunapee or to Mt. Sunapee ski area with their summer activities

Room Tip: Rooms on the main or upper level seemed quieter since the indoor pool is on the lower level.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraserburgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel this summer. The place from the outside looks great and the front desk person on arrival was great. We were figuring 4 stars...but then it ended. The room was spacious but actually had tiled floors...no carpet. It was hot outside and the A/C was powerful but didn't remove any humidity. By the end of our stay you could wring out the clothes that were exposed to the air not to mention the dampness in the bedding. In the morning when I pulled the shower curtain aside 3 huge spiders and some big 8 legged thing fell into the tub. The "free" breakfast is a laugher. Believe me I don't expect to get anything good for these freebies (although considering the price of the room it should have been great). Nothing much eatable appeared so we opted for toast. I put in 4 slices of toast in the toaster and waited and waited. Finally the attendant, who was just sitting there all this time, tells me that 2 of the 4 bread inserts were broken and the 2 that were working only had one of the 2 sides working. Her solution was to toast one side and then reinsert the bread to get toast. She told us the "she has asked and asked for an new toaster but 'they' wouldn't buy one. To top it off the butter wasn't butter and the selection of jellies came in the little packets but when you tried to get the jelly out it just was so sold and dried out that not even the knife would work. Finally and possibly the best part of this story was when we checked out. There was a new clerk on now and she asked if we enjoyed our stay. We both just shook our heads and said no. She didn't say a word, turned around and processed our bill. It took her 5 minutes to get that done and she finally asked if there was something wrong with the room. We said "bugs" and her response was "yes" I have heard that before.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bob G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin B, General Manager at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to reflect on your hotel experience. I assure you that we take all reviews and suggestions seriously and apologize for the troubles you experienced during your stay. I wish to address some of the concerns you have mentioned. I understand it may seem strange at first to have no carpet in a room, but your reservation was for a pet-friendly room. Our pet room policy requires tile flooring to ensure all messes and allergens left behind by any four-legged friends are sufficiently cleaned. It helps us separate guests with allergies who may otherwise be at risk in a room where an animal had previously stayed. No other room type features all tile and we hope if you return you’ll try our pet-free accomodations with full carpeting.
I am disappointed we were unable to meet your expectations in the breakfast room. We work hard to provide a well-stocked variety of food choices, which include pancakes, sausage and egg breakfast sandwiches, bagels, yogurt, four types of bread, four brands of cereal, and coffee, apple juice, and orange juice to drink. We also bake our own muffins fresh daily. While it can be tough to provide something for everyone, our breakfast room has plenty to offer, including a spacious seating area for our guests to enjoy while they eat.
The sighting of spiders in your room is an extremely rare occurrence and something we most definitely would have taken care of. It would help as a staff to be notified as soon as you feel something isn’t up to par. Your comments help us to better our hotel and stay attentive as a whole, but in the future we hope to get on the same page with you during your stay so that we may make appropriate changes for you. When we are presented with issues or a complaint we strive to correct or accommodate the problem as quickly and efficiently as possible. Providing a comfortable and enjoyable stay is our number one priority at the Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My brothers and I stayed at BW Sunapee for one night to ski. The convenience can't be beat- full service restaurant and ski shop in the same parking lot as the BW, plus free shuttle to the mountain, make this a can't miss hotel. Thank you to the friendly, welcoming staff for accommodating our (very) early checkin! Allowed us to zoom to the mountain and not worry about our planned excursions that day. Good breakfast in the am (free) but would be a bonus to include 1-2 more hot items like eggs and/or oatmeal. Very comfortable beds and shower! They have new bathroom toiletry item, Makeup Remover pads, which I've never seen in a hotel and loved!!!

Room Tip: King double rooms will allow cot (5pp), but queen double rooms do not (only accommodate 4 pp).
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalou216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this Best Western. The location is the best but this time we visted without our children who are now in college. We stayed at this hotel many times in the past and had a good experience. This time was not good and I will not return. The family in the room over us were making so much noise that they woke us up at 1 AM. After an 1 hr of what sounding like they were jumping around in ski boots, I called the front desk. They went to the room and told them to be quiet but that took another hour for them to stop whatever they were doing. We could not ski the next day because we were too tired. The hotel had no postings requiring guests to be respectful of the other guests. Many hotels have such a posting. The hotel gave us a $30 discount when I asked for some kind of accommodation which I think was woefully inadequate. So, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Stay here if you have kids, otherwise go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sunapee
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
23.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
84 reviews
6.4 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
220 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rosewood Country Inn
Rosewood Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bradford
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunapee Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunapee Lake Lodge

Address: 1403 Route 103, Mount Sunapee, NH 03255-5952 (Formerly Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Mount Sunapee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Price Range: £98 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunapee Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunapee Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunapee Lake Hotel Mount Sunapee
Mount Sunapee Best Western
Best Western Mount Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing