We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for a one nighter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunapee Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go for a one nighter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We traveled to this hotel on Thanksgiving Day, to spend the holiday with my family. #1. We drove by the 3 times, even though the GPS said you have arrived. Finally I looked at the paper I had with me & saw the Loge information. This hotel had taken down their Best Western sign, cause as of Dec. 1 2013 they will no longer be affilated with Best Western. It had snowed slightly & the parking lot was icy. The staff was nice, I asked about breakfast, continental style only. The clerk said they had Jimmy Deans--none to be found. The room was nice though small, the queen beds are very small. The top of the lamps had dust about a 1/4 inch thick. I would recommend for one night only, no more than that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    43
    24
    20
    23
See reviews for
51
33
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sunapee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

a great location just a short walk to lake sunapee near a ski area and a short drive to good restaurants and scenic drives the rooms are clean and they have a good breakfast plus they are pet friendly....would recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Comfortable and clean place to stay with our basset hound. The only issue is that the climate system would wake us up during the night. Otherwise the hotel was very quite . Rooms are large and easy to navigate , nice pool and exercise room. Pillows were the standard foam . The location is good but be aware that speed traps are all over the place in NH.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank YogiBasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable mattress with upscale bedding, immaculately clean, nice indoor pool kept at just the right temperature, completely smoke free (what a relief!) and the windows open to let in fresh air; seasonal sledding and tubing hill and skating rink. Now for the problems: noisy AC/heating unit (the motel is 20 years old and I think that the unit is the original), very limited cell phone reception (the motel offers free local and long distance calls to compensate), breakfast selections are limited (only two small pieces of fruit on the counter and I got there at 6:00 AM, see photo), no family type restaurant/diner close by (the restaurant that was on the property closed and a sign says that a new restaurant called "Nonnies" will open soon), exercise equiment was in poor repair (the tread mill didn't work at all).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripMember06022016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We just stayed at Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge, it was excellent!!! Service was great, all the staff was super friendly and very helpful!!! The room was beautiful, clean....all the hotel is great! We enjoyed our stay very much...we are planning to go back next year for a family reunion!!!!!

Room Tip: the spa experience was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The overall experience was horrible. We stayed in a pet-friendly room. Regardless of that, there was hair on the sheets in room 107 and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned. We were moved to room 105, where there was still hair on the sheets. The bathroom was slightly cleaner, although the tile and grout in both bathrooms was filthy and needs to have a serious cleaning. We also had a rather large, what looked like a water bug, in the bathroom, with fecal matter (small droppings near the bug's rear). My husband and I were so disgusted that we slept in our clothes on top of the sheets. If we didn't live 3 1/2 hours away, we would have driven home. The entire hotel needs a complete remodel. I would NOT stay here ever again or recommend it to others. For $195.00, it was barely worth it and extremely overpriced. For this price, my husband can stay in an executive suite overseas. It was so dirty, I didn't even want my dog in the room. The Sunapee area is a beautiful and well-known place and we were shocked when we walked in the hotel. The carpets were dirty and looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in days. It's old and needs serious updating. It doesn't fit in, when you think of Sunapee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin B, General Manager at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
I am very sorry that your experience wasn't what you expected. We attempt to go above and beyond with every guest. Our hotel is in the process of remodeling. Recently our second and third floor has been completely redone from top to bottom. The first floor, which is the floor you stayed on is the last floor to undergo this transformation. The carpet in the hallway is cleaned each and every afternoon but it is hard to keep it completely clean throughout the day due to the renovations mentioned above.
As for the bathrooms in each room, which were tiled less than a year ago, the grout is a sandstone colored grout which could of given the appearance of being dirty if you expect it to be a white color. In our pet friendly rooms the tile is steam cleaned after each guests stay to make sure no hair or allergens are left after sweeping and vacuuming.
Our housekeeping staff is trained in providing the cleanest room possible. Each room is checked then checked again by different members of management to ensure cleanliness, it is very rare that a bed is found to be dirty, never mind two in two separate rooms.
As for the price, when a room is booked less than two weeks before the date of arrival the price tends to increase slightly. Also attached to the rate for this room was a pet fee that was described at the time of booking and the NH Rooms and Rentals tax of 9%.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Sunapee hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Although there's not much to do in sunapee, the best western has a great central location for what there is. Our room was fantastic, the a/c worked great and was quiet, the fridge worked great, the beds were comfy and the bathroom was nice. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. The breakfast was small but good, pancakes, bagels , yogurt, cereal, coffee, juices. The best part was the fire pit outside, it was a great way to end the nights.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank amaral_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sunapee
0.1 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
2.3 mi away
Dexter's Inn
Dexter's Inn
#1 of 2 in Sunapee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
8.0 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
16.2 mi away
Colby Hill Inn
Colby Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Henniker
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunapee Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunapee Lake Lodge

Property: Sunapee Lake Lodge
Address: 1403 Route 103, Mount Sunapee, NH 03255 (Formerly Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Mount Sunapee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunapee Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunapee Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunapee Lake Hotel Mount Sunapee
Mount Sunapee Best Western
Best Western Mount Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing