We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in some ways, bad in others”
Review of Sunapee Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Can't beat the proximity to the ski area, the heated indoor pool that is great for kids, and the fact that this lodge welcomes dogs (in a subset of rooms with tile floors).
The staff member who was in charge of the breakfast was very friendly and seemed to care about doing her job well.
Now for the bad: a lot of little things that make a big difference aren't maintained. For example: coffee at the morning breakfast ran out, no clean towels in the exercise room OR in the pool area, dirty bathrooms by the pool. Also, no spare rolls of toilet paper or boxes of tissues in the room despite both being very low at check in.
There is a sledding hill at the back of the lodge, which was nice until a group of snowmobiles came tearing through. Another problem back there was the aggressive, off leash dog that seemed to belong to the irresponsible people who live in the house just above the lodge. The snowmobilers and the dog both put a damper on trying to enjoy the sledding hill with young kids.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HadleySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Sunapee Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I spent three nights for a ski holiday in late December 2013. The lodge was just what we wanted - clean, comfortable and great access to Mt. Sunapee via reliable shuttle service. What most impressed me was the friendly, helpful, courteous staff. They were so accommodating, we felt we were being treated like friends or family.

That's what resonated with me the most about the places we visited at & around Mt. Sunapee, including the ski area - everybody is so friendly. We love it there, and will be coming back many more times.

Jim H.
Westchester Cty., NY

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed @ Sunapee Lake Lodge in July of 2012 & 2013! The accommodations were wonderful, the service very friendly & comfortable! I was in a bind stemming from another local lodge in which I was to stay!! This lodge turned out to be a NIGHTMARE & I couldn't be accommodated there & had to leave! I immediately contacted Sunapee Lake Lodge and they totally sympathsized with me & the situation! They had a room ready for me within a half an hour's notice & even remembered me from my previous stay!! During my 2013 stay they helped me out tremendously!! They bent over backwards & catered to all of my needs! I felt very safe there, since I was traveling solo!! I thank all the staff & management on an exempl
ary job & would only reccommend this hotel for anyone's future lodging needs!! You won't be disappointed!! Sincerely, Renee Ondrasek,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inky2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin B, General Manager at Sunapee Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

I am very sorry to hear that your stay wasn't what you expected. We try to satisfy every guest that stays with us. The room type that you were in, a room with two king beds, are all located on the pool level. These rooms are pet friendly and have tile floors to allow for complete cleaning. We don't provide sheets with our cribs to ensure they are cleaned and disinfected between each guest. We have been a 100% smoke free property for ten plus years and apologize if a guest before you violated that policy. When a room is smoked in we do our best to completely get the smell out, this includes using what we call an o-zonater. If you can contact us we would like you to visit us again and show the quality service that we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We traveled to this hotel on Thanksgiving Day, to spend the holiday with my family. #1. We drove by the 3 times, even though the GPS said you have arrived. Finally I looked at the paper I had with me & saw the Loge information. This hotel had taken down their Best Western sign, cause as of Dec. 1 2013 they will no longer be affilated with Best Western. It had snowed slightly & the parking lot was icy. The staff was nice, I asked about breakfast, continental style only. The clerk said they had Jimmy Deans--none to be found. The room was nice though small, the queen beds are very small. The top of the lamps had dust about a 1/4 inch thick. I would recommend for one night only, no more than that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

a great location just a short walk to lake sunapee near a ski area and a short drive to good restaurants and scenic drives the rooms are clean and they have a good breakfast plus they are pet friendly....would recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Comfortable and clean place to stay with our basset hound. The only issue is that the climate system would wake us up during the night. Otherwise the hotel was very quite . Rooms are large and easy to navigate , nice pool and exercise room. Pillows were the standard foam . The location is good but be aware that speed traps are all over the place in NH.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank YogiBasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable mattress with upscale bedding, immaculately clean, nice indoor pool kept at just the right temperature, completely smoke free (what a relief!) and the windows open to let in fresh air; seasonal sledding and tubing hill and skating rink. Now for the problems: noisy AC/heating unit (the motel is 20 years old and I think that the unit is the original), very limited cell phone reception (the motel offers free local and long distance calls to compensate), breakfast selections are limited (only two small pieces of fruit on the counter and I got there at 6:00 AM, see photo), no family type restaurant/diner close by (the restaurant that was on the property closed and a sign says that a new restaurant called "Nonnies" will open soon), exercise equiment was in poor repair (the tread mill didn't work at all).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripMember06022016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sunapee
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
23.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
84 reviews
6.4 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
220 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rosewood Country Inn
Rosewood Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bradford
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunapee Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunapee Lake Lodge

Address: 1403 Route 103, Mount Sunapee, NH 03255-5952 (Formerly Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Mount Sunapee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Price Range: £98 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunapee Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunapee Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunapee Lake Hotel Mount Sunapee
Mount Sunapee Best Western
Best Western Mount Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing