We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakes of the Clouds Hut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

What a treat to spend the day bagging peaks and logging miles knowing that a warm mealand lodging was waiting at the top. We could drop off our packs, eat a little lunch and then go for a run over the summit of Mt Monroe without any gear. The views from the hut were spectacular. The hut "croo" was incredibly friendly, outgoing and especially helpful with hike planning and weather updates. It's expensive but in my opinion it's absolutely worth it. The expense goes to paying the "croo" and the helicopters that pack in all the supplies. Any extra funds go to supporting the AMC which maintains some really amazing trails.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubbertramp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I hiked with a bunch of other families (25 of us) and the Lakes in the Clouds hut was a perfect way to get two days of hiking in on Mount Washington. We were fortunate that the weather was mild and CLEAR - which made for stunning panoramic views from the hut - and a stunning sunset! The food and service was amazing, surpassing my expectations - do not forget $ for a tip. Things to know: you share a room with about 15 people - so I recommend ear plugs. The toilets are not flush - yet the bathroom does not have an unpleasant odor. The lights in the dinning room are on only from sun down - 9:30 PM - after that you need a flash light. Do not count on power to charge anything - it is not available. TIP- for $45 you can buy a one way train ride to the top of Mount Washington; I did this in order to reduce the total miles I would hike - I hiked 1.5 down to the hut, then the next day 7 (Crawford Path) to the Highland Center off 302. The Crawford path trail was beautiful! Hope you have a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBRlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Don't get me wrong, the dinner was delicious and abundant, especially after a long day hike (we were coming from the Highlands center); the croo - friendly and helpful, and the neighbors were interesting people to meet and talk to, but first of all, the signs leading to this Hut from the Madison hut have no indication that there is another Hut, let alone the mileage. They usually just indicate that you are on the AT, which we already knew. Normally it wouldn't be a problem, but in a very foggy day which we had (and I think it's hardly unusual in this place) it's rather easy to turn the other way leading you away from the Hut, not towards it. That's how we got lost and walked around in a loop, and there was another couple behind us who did just that.
Being that the signs are there, they just don't indicate the direction to the hut, it is unexplanable to me (especially since from Mt Washington there are plenty of signs with the direction to the Hut).
Secondly, compared to Mitzpah and Madison Hut, this one is really dark even with the headlamp on, crowded and tight. We were in the largest room apparently, and it felt really crowded and noisy at night, I couldn't sleep even with the ear plugs in.
Breakfast was great though, and so was dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

These AMC huts are a real find, okay you have to stay in a bunk room with others, but the alternative is a heavy pack and a tent. They have a CROO, of college students who wait on you like it was the Four Seasons and cook two great meals... and wait on you and try to help in any way.. GOod good, good company and a great view... a lake to swim in too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeisgood9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

What a sight! The ever changing weather, being 'in' the cloud, the persistent wind all made it a great experience. It was our first time at this hut and loved it. The staff is very friendly, very helpful and offered great guidance for our trail choices. I would do it again even if it requires a lot of physical effort to get there, like most huts. Deluxe camping we called it. Food was great and tasty. Plenty to eat for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Deerfield
Level Contributor
266 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We did a 4-day hut-to-hut hike in the middle of June. Lakes was the most disappointing of the 3 huts we stayed in, primarily becuase of the attitude of the staff. We were greeted politely and professionally and were assigned a bunk room (there were 4 in our group). Our plans had been to summit Mt Washington that afternoon but rain came in shortly after we arrived and did not let up the rest of the afternoon & evening. Even though the hut was at 1/2 capacity, guests were not allowed to pick a bunk room and spread out ... there ended up being open bunk rooms while the occupied ones were strewn with wet clothing and gear. If the hut had been full, we would have said "that's life" but that was not the case. At mealtime guests were crammed, 12 to a side at the family style tables. There were many empty tables and we could have all had a little bit more room to move, if another table had been set. Our feeling was that the staff did not want extra clean up of either rooms or serving dishes. The food was fabulous and the bunks were bunks. The other huts we stayed in (Madison & Mizpah Spring) guest were allowed to select the sleep area of their choice and 8 people to a side of the table. So, a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Hiked up Mount Washington on June 15th 2013. There were 9 of us in our group. We booked our stay at Lake of the Clouds months in advance. We were lucky to have perfect weather and an amazing hike! We were in the largest room of the hut. Sleeps 12 people in four sets of triple bunk beds. Each bed had a pillow and 3 sets of wool blankets. It was -5 Celsius the evening of our stay so I was happy to have brought long johns and a sleep-sac. The view from the windows in our room were beautiful, the most amazing sunset I have ever seen!

There is no electricity, no hot water and no showers. It gets quite dark once the sunsets, so one definitely needs to bring a headlamp. The washroom had outhouse style toilets. The food was delicious! Barley soup, fresh bread, full turkey dinner and apple crisp for dessert. I have severe nut/peanut allergies and the croo was able to accommodate my needs. Another person in our group has Celiac disease and they were also able to provide her with a gluten-free meal. The croo is made up of college and university students. There were energetic, kind and very knowledgeable.

One of my favorite parts of our stay was being gently woken up in the morning by the sound of one of the croo playing a beautiful melody on her violin. Simply magical!

Room Tip: * Bring ear pugs in case you end up in a room with someone who snores. * Bring comfy shoes, slipp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantal_less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Washington
10.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
10.3 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
5.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
6.2 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakes of the Clouds Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes of the Clouds Hut

Property: Lakes of the Clouds Hut
Address: Amoonoosic Ravine, 234 Amc Road, Mount Washington, NH
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Mount Washington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mount Washington
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing