We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patience is a virtue”
Review of Shira Kiku

Shira Kiku
Ranked #51 of 257 Restaurants in Nashua
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Patience is a virtue”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This isn't going to be the quickest meal you ever have but if you come with a healthy dose of patience you'll be rewarded by sincere service and great food. It's a very mom and pop shop type organisation and when they get busy the service can be a little slower than in the usual American dining establishment.

The BiBimBap was excellent - the best I've ever had with really great balance between crunchy rice and slightly sweet, nice kick spicy sauce. Definitely worth a visit if you're not in a rush and you're prepared to accept the service may be a little bit slower.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank algray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Culinary Experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a gem! Shira Kiku is a Korean menu restaurant with many Japanese additions. The selection of Korean foods is superb...the stonepot bibimbop in the variations offered are a centerpiece. The Sushi and sashimi is fantastic and they have more combinations of miso soup that you find normally. Shira Kiku offers complementary condiments to complement the meal: these range from spicey to not-so-much and are culturally in line with the menu. personally I like a sashimi starter and the beef stonepot but the Bulgogi is my fall back choice. There are so many authentic korean dishes that I have yet to try but expect that they will all be fantastic at Kiku. The staff is mostly family and as such take pride in their establishment. it is clean and cozy. The owners are right there, taking care of you every step of your meal and seeing to your comfort, satisfaction, and dining experience. A good selection of beers is available as well as generic wines. A little on the pricey side, the quality of the food and the uniqueness of the ingredients more than make up for the expense.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robcar603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One place I think about going to often.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The BiBim Bop in a stone pot, glass noodles and the short ribs - amazing! Love this little gem. It is pricey but not dissappointing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BWCusato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better for take out, not so great for eating in”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

First I will start with the positive: the sashimi was AMAZINGLY fresh and delicious, the garnishes were different, interesting and delicious. The gyoza (dumplings) were crispy on the outside and warm and the insides were still recognizable, not overcooked bundles of mush like some dumplings end up. So in short the food was incredible. BUT- the service was just ok and considering we were the only party other than a lone diner at the small bar at the entry and a big table in the dining room which is obviously the owners and famly, I would have thought the service would have been better. We were left standing in the entry for quite a while while a table was set for us (we were a party of 2, just there for a quick snack/light lunch.) Immediately my nose was overtaken by the smell of bleach, and not like straight up Clorox but like dirty bleach, like public pool, not appetizing at all. The table had a cloth table cloth on it that had plate/pot circles on it so was obviously not freshly laundered. Over the table cloth were long strips of was appeared to be contact paper like what you were line a drawer with, the size of place mats only longer. These were sticky and mine had an orange stain on it. Not appetizing! Our drinks came quickly, we ordered 2 appetizers to be shared as our meal. The owner came and hovered near our table a bit, it was awkward, then he asked if we ordered sushi we said yes. I felt a little like we interrupted his party. As I said the sashimi he prepared for us was top notch, fresh, larger than average pieces of fish, just the best. Then there was the awkward time while we were still waiting for our dumplings, my companion finished her drink, the man asked if she wanted another drink or some water, she opted for water. He brought a pitcher and poured water into the glass she had her drink in, so now she had a glass full of watered down Shirley Temple remnants...again awkward. Our dumplings finally came out, again, delicious. The waitress did apologize for the delay between the 2 items, that wasn't really a problem for us at all. I think in the future if we were to order from Shira Kiku again, we would do take out. The atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired, between the cramped clutered dusty bar area at the entrance with a curtain covering a dark doorway and then a makeshift desk in the opposite corner, then the dining room with the not-so-clean tablecloths and the dirty bleach smell, everything sticky...we couldn't wait to use a whole lot of hand sanitizer when we left. BUT the sashimi and dumplings really were delicious. If I were to recommend this place to anyone, it would be for take out only and can only speak about the sashimi and gyoza.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneS32123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent!!!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We eat at a lot of Korean restaurants, this one is top notch!!! the best scallion pancake I ever had. The staff was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcglen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shira Kiku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing