We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here during the first week in October 20013 and our stay couldn't have been any more enjoyable. This is one of the few remaining old lumber/shipping-era grand hotels in the area so, yes it is old but while it feels historic it never feels old or run down... it just feels grand.

We never ate at any of the hotel's restaurants, so can't speak to the dining aspect, but the service, attention, and room amenities were always top-notch. We didn't have any concerns as everything was already attended to.

You'll experience great views of the little harbor and if you visit at the right time of year, as we were, the changing leaves are stunning.

Parking gets a bit crowded if you come in late at night (we visited in peak season) but were always able to find a space. There is free wi-fi in all the rooms, a luxurious spa with indoor pool, and outdoor pool, and a wonderful wooden porch with rocking chairs that wraps around the entire building.

i would definitely recommend a stay in this grand hotel is in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spinnervisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a Fantastic Experience we had at the Salt!
The decor is sexy and exciting. The service was equally impressive. The appetizers and meal choices incomparable and enticing! We enjoyed everything. But the meatballs, they were amazing. The marinara sauce coupled with the almonds and watercress was a absolute must try!
The Dinning Manager Dean was engaging and disarming! A remarkable addition to the Wentworth By the Sea management staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We just returned from a delightful stay at the Wentworth by the Sea. It was a great hotel and we'd be happy to go back again. The staff was very friendly and the room and food was the best
The views were great, either side, the gardens were beautifully manicured. Hope you have a chance to go and stay and enjoy this pristene hotel and historic place. Suzanne O

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It is nice to go away and have nothing bad to say.. last two over night trips to other hotels have been a night mares. Not at Wentworth!! Everything was great.. very pleasant staff, great food, beautiful rooms. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyK-Ricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

For each of our milestone anniversaries we have stayed at a nice Marriott (20=JW Marriott DC; 25= JW Denver/Cherry Creek; 30= Marriott Wentworth). For both the 20'th and 25'th our hotels upgraded us to a wonderful suite and put a bottle of champaign in our room with a card. We had a suite at the Wentworth, so not a big deal on the room - not a card or even a mention by any staff member. Heck, at the Destin Florida Courtyard, we were there during our birthdays (9/28 and 9/29) and they put a bottle of wine in the room - two towel swans and the staff was so nice that I wrote a note to the manager and suggested she train the less than friendly staff at the Wentworth. I am a Platinum Lifetime with Marriott and thought this hotel would be at or above the high standards we have experienced at other places. We just felt like we were a burden on the staff starting with check in right through check out - never felt welcome and thought the staff acted aloof.

Room Tip: The rooms on the pier are very nice with a downstairs living area and kitchen and upstairs bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We love this place. The rooms, the view, pool, spa you name it. We've been coming here for years and always enjoy our visit. Marriott does it right "except" this morning after a swim on the way to our room to get dressed for breakfast we stopped to grab a tea and coffe and were charged for it. We thought this was a chintzy move in the part of a prestigious hotel like Marriott. Really folks can't afford to give away a cup if coffee to your guests? Things are that tight! Charge more for the room! Makes Marriott look bad especly since lesser hotels give it away! Really?!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sukie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have always wanted to stay at this premier Marriott property so I coerced my husband into going for an overnight. It is a beautiful area and the staff were all very attentive. We were given a handicapped "amenity" room, which we do not require, I called the front desk, and was told it was one of the bigger rooms and it wasn't requested that evening. Strange for us though with the closet hanging space half way down and no place to hang anything in the room or bathroom e.g. towels/robes etc. We did enjoy the pool and hot tub and the area was quiet and well maintained. That evening we went into Portsmouth and had an outstanding dinner at "The Common Man". I had a seafood casserole that was out of this world, my husband had Prime Rib which he enjoyed. We had a disappointing breakfast at the hotel the following morning in SALT. Our table had not been properly cleaned since the previous diners, it had crumbs and smears and there were a few sticky spots. My husband had a made to order omelet, I opted for the scrambled eggs from the buffet which were cold and tasteless. We had a breakfast voucher, however our "server" reminded us that there was no gratuity included (this was a buffet!). When we returned home and I was looking over the billing statement online, I saw there was a mini bar charge, and it was for a specific liquor that neither of us drink, never mind that we had never even opened the mini bar! I made 3 telephone calls to the hotel, left 2 voice messages which were not returned, and the third time I did get a live person who said he would take care of the mini bar charge. When I inquired as to how this occurred I was told "someone just hit the wrong key". What? Just imagine if everyone gets slipped a mini bar charge and doesn't realize it, a nice little bonus for this hotel!
To summarize, I am glad we went, I will now cross it off my list, and will not bother to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mum5girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
511 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
11.0 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: £171 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing