We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We love this hotel and visit five or six times a year. The rooms ( both in the hotel and the Marina suites) are beautiful and comfortable. The restaurants are lovely and the food is great. Although it is somewhat pricey it is well worth it. All the pools (three) are great. The spa is so relaxing and welcoming (ask for Scott for the best massage in the world). All and all a great place!!

Room Tip: corner suites are roomy
See more room tips
Green Features: seems to be environmentally friendly they only give fresh towels on request and change beds every three days on request
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    344
    129
    79
    38
See reviews for
318
690
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
staatsburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for a week and it was like a wonderful trip back in time to the days of women in long white dresses and parasols. But don't let that make you think it is outdated. It is a wonderful resort and spa. I had a massage that was so relaxing I woke my self up snoring. An outstanding salt water pool with excellent poolside service.
The concierge, Carol, is delightful, She loves people and is well versed in local history especially about the Wentworth itself and knows Portsmouth area what to do and when to do it. One of the best evening hours on a concierge floor I have seen in a long time

The restaurant is exceptional. Stayed the whole week swimming, pooling and eating. You can do many activities or be like us. r&r. No need to leave. We had a suite with two full bathrooms, a fireplace in the living room, plenty of room. would go back in a minute

Room Tip: ask for a marina view
See more room tips
Green Features: I would like to see more recycling for newspapers and cans
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyleretakoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stopped here before while boating in this area and thought it would be a good stop by auto.
Not so!!
Thinking of past experiences with Marriott Resorts/spas this was far below what we have been used to. The hotel was very evidently a "make over" property.
In our room the wall paper was peeling in the bath, Lights were not working upon arrival, but were fixed promptly, drain was slow in the bath sink.
Staff were very attentive and made up for the short comings.
The on site restaurant, SALT was out standing and well worth a visit even if not a guest.
We would definitely return to the restaurant SALT or L attitudes but not the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel appears to be environmentally friendly do to their good grounds keeping and delsire to have water conservation
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Great old building that has been upgraded, beautiful lobby and dining room, indoor pool and two outdoor pools. Rooms on 4th floor were beautiful and well appointed and nice views. Food was good and great buffet breakfast (also menu breakfast available.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank golfer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
330 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This is really a fantastic resort. Beautiful, sprawling grounds built into a rocky shore along a marina. Very well maintained indoors and out. It is old, but feels historic and classic, not rundown at all. Very nicely appointed.

There are two great pools - one outdoor with super lounge chairs and good pool service with bar and restaurant.

The marina has a couple restaurants as well. And there is a very nice one - Salt - in the resort.

We stayed in the cheapest rooms they had, and I thought they were very, very nice. View was okay, but I could see the trash heap behind the hotel so that was a little annoying, but I did pay for the cheapest rooms so I get it.

Front desk staff was good. Concierge was okay. Not as helpful as I would expect, though.

The location was nice in that it is a very uncrowded area, which is rare on the New England coast in the summer. But that does mean no beach here. Just marina.

New Castle is not easy to get in and out of however, so it adds a good 15-20 minutes to any day trip you take just to get to the interstate. But I do think it's worth that for the quietness of the area.

The hotel bar was good. Overpriced of course, but comfortable and with good service.

The breakfast buffet was quite reasonable for $16. A pleasant surprise we enjoyed several mornings.

Here is why this hotel didn't get 5/5 from me -

(1) The housekeeping was subpar. Some days our towels didn't get replaced. Some days our ice bucket was left unchanged and no new cups. The hall ways were not vacuumed well. Little things like this take the value of this place down a notch. The housekeeping was 3-star, while the rest of the hotel was 4-5.

(2) The Wentworth is simply overpriced. And I understand why because it's the only place of its kind around. But for a bare bones tiny room at the cheapest price at $489 plus tax - that's absurd. Too much. The room shouldn't have been over $350.

I would love to return here. It really is a wonderful place in a beautiful area with plenty to do around, but I doubt I will come back unless the price goes down and/or the housekeeping gets under control.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank mpugh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I decided to make a last minute weekend trip to the New Hampshire (without the kids) and the Wentworth was a perfect getaway. Upon checking in, we were given the option of a standard room for two nights or an upgrade for one night that would require us to switch rooms. We opted for the upgrade for the first night. The room was amazing, a beautiful sitting area with a second story loft for the bedroom (only downside is that the bathroom was on the first floor). The room was on the fourth floor looking out towards the Marina. On the first night we tried to eat at Latitudes restaurant which is located at the Marina looking out over the boats and the bay. After a long wait for an outside table, we finally walked up to the next level where the pool is and realized that we could eat at the bar there and order from the same menu! The food was pretty good but the views were amazing. The next day, we decided to drive into Portsmouth (too far to walk). We started with a nice breakfast (The Golden Egg) and then spent the morning walking around the very New Englandy downtown area. There are some great used bookstores along with other quaint shops. We spent the afternoon back at the lower pool by the marina (the upper pool was larger and more crowded), where they served drinks and food. Our new room was smaller (on the 3rd floor) but provided nice views on the opposite side of the hotel from the Marina. That evening we had dinner at the Salt Kitchen and Bar. This is a beautiful restaurant with food to match the decor! The wine prices were surprisingly reasonable. All in all a great easy weekend getaway.

Pros
-Very helpful staff (they remembered us ever time we went to the front desk)
-Beautifully restored hotel with water views in most directions
-Great on site restaurants

Cons
-The hotel is not on the beach, but the Marina area is very nice
-There are few amenities within walking distance (but on-site parking is free and easy to find spaces)
-Concierge lounge is very small with limited selections on the weekend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had a nice three day stay with my wife. First two nights, we were on the 4th floor in a very very nice room with sitting area and beautiful bath. the third night we had to move down to the 3rd floor (I had not planned on staying three nights and they had 3 weddings going on so our room was booked). the move was handled very professionally. Staff top notched. that said, the difference in appearance between floor 4 and floor 3 was very noticeable. The 3rd floor room had a rug that needed to be cleaned or replaced and the bath was very outdated. If we had not stayed on the 4th floor earlier, i would have been very disappointed as this place is not cheap.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RXMAN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
6.6 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing