We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plan your summer around TLV” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Lake Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Lake Village
Kinston, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Plan your summer around TLV”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

First of all, the previous reviewer had to be posting for a rival resort. The lack of accuracy and improper spelling should be the first clues...(hot dogs are at the Tuesday night picnic, not the dining room...)

However, if you are looking for a great place to take your family or friends and meet new people, hence the reason some have been coming back for years. Twin Lake Villa is the place to go; especially if you're looking for that trip to get away from it all. There are several places to hike in the area. The lakes nearby are very clean and swimming areas are clearly marked off for any boat traffic that might be on any particular lake. There are other attractions in the area such as the New London Barn Playhouse.

The best value of Twin Lake Village is the price. The weekly rates are very manageable and meals are included. The menu often reflects items that are part of standard New England cuisine and are well executed, especially the lamb roast and the chowder which could stand alone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLVKidder, Owner at Twin Lake Village, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for sharing with everyone what a beautiful area we are located in. We agree with you that it is a special spot! I am glad you mentioned the pricing. Our goal is to have all our guests leave with the feeling that they had a wonderful vacation for a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Twin Lake Villa is a rare find for those seeking a unique vacation experience; it is truly a magical location in charming New England. Generations of the Kidder Family have lovingly maintained the Villa, it's surrounding cottages and it's much used facilities: a vibrant waterfront on Little Lake Sunapee, a FUN nine hole golf course (for young and old alike), three clay tennis courts, shuffleboard courts and acres of green lawn where children play happily. The Villa is definitely child friendly, including the dining room, where a staff of engaging young students serves three meals a day.
If you are looking for a destination for rest, relaxation, and abundant time to connect with your family, not your PC devices, this is THE spot. The returning guests are well connected in the most important ways...with their families and friends! If you desire a spa with special soaps and ultra fluffy towels, look elsewhere. Children of ALL ages are welcome here, including my 95-year-old mother who once commented, "If I can't go to TLV (Twin Lake Villa) for a vacation, I'd just as soon stay home".

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLVKidder, Owner at Twin Lake Village, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
What fun it is to see multiple generations enjoying TLV! It is all the wonderful families, like yours, that make my job so much fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I started coming here in the 80's and after a few decades of taking care of everyone else...it was time to go back. Yes, nothing has changed...I would never want it to. Twin Lakes is one of thoses places that you can come to...and totally relax. Shut off the cell phone, sit on the front porch with a good book...that you will never read because there is always someone there to talk to. It is home in so many ways.
Play golf, go swimming, kayaking, fishing.....get all dressed up...(only if you want to) and go to the small summer theatre in town....or visit the Ice House...great Model T's !!!!
My favorite thing to do is drive around the area and explore.....and shop!
I go back to Twin Lakes every year.....in 20 years it will still be the same.....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLVKidder, Owner at Twin Lake Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you! It is always great when our guests can turn off their phones and relax. Tthe very best is when you don't even know what day of the week it is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

A great place to start a vacation tradition! We come every year and it is like a step back in time. No TV, No Telephone (we leave or cell phone shut off) and you relax, read a book, take a swim, play a round of golf, play a game of tennis and an after dinner game of shuffleboard might be in order. You get 3 meals a day like your grandma's home cooking. So if you are looking for an escape for the rigggors of today's pace, then spend a week at TLV!

Room Tip: Best value is to rent a cottage for 8 people. Closest to everything is Garden Gate but it is the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWeeklyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLVKidder, Owner at Twin Lake Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you! We love seeing everyone come back year after year with friends and family reuniting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our family recently held a get together at TLV; our first time visiting this resort. The location is very pretty and nestologic. We rented a rustic pine cottage, and though it was very old and creaky, it was clean and felt like home. There are only twin beds, so no snuggling on cold nights. Our big disappointment, however, was the food. I must say that I have never been in a more strange situation. The food was very low quality and very small portions, and any requests or suggestions were argued, ignored, or justified with excuses. The management was mean to the staff, often bringing them to tears. The meals were given fancy titles, but consisted of simple ingredients such as lunch meat or broth. We also had some family members with dietary needs, and there was NO sympathy or effort to accommodate. My only conclusion is that this is a long standing nice place that is now poorly managed, especially in the dining room. If I ever go back, I'll be providing my own meals.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ccshirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLVKidder, Owner at Twin Lake Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We love to here what was good, but need to hear what was bad!
We enjoyed meeting everyone involved in the four family reunions staying with us as we opened for the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Let me start by saying we rented multiple cottages, played golf on there interesting par 3 course, and the location to the lake were the only things enjoyable.

This place is definately not recommend is you have any special needs children or adults that need activities to do or even eating properly for that matter. This included gluten alerges.

The worst part was the food and services. The whole staff was mostly high school kids that were scolded by there manager for the smallest mistakes. The meals were an absolute joke. Two meals were found to have multiple hairs in them. You were expected the look at what they offered and write your order in to the staff that watched over you like you were in a prison. When the meal did arrive it was very poorly prepare, cold, and extremely small in size. We were expected to dress for a fancy dinner of hot dogs and cold canned scallops.

I can't even finish this review I'm so outraged. In final notes just don't go and expect any good meals or service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccm9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLVKidder, Owner at Twin Lake Village, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We always take our guests concerns seriously and appreciate hearing them sooner, while your are still here, rather than after the fact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We have been enjoying "TLV" for many years. If you want to get away from the rat race and step back and just decompress and relax, this is the place. If you are looking for glitz and excitement you may want to consider someplace else.
The resort has been operated by the Kidder family since 1898. The family gets to know all of their guests personally, which is why so many families return year after year. If you are into hiking they back up to 16,000 acres of protected park land. If you want to golf or play tennis they have their own facilities and being right on Little Lake Sunapee you have all the lake activities. In addition, most days have some kind of event that you can participate in or take a pass on. There are two gold tourneys each week, a tennis tourney, bingo night, a kiddie dance and on evening you have the option to take dinner on top of Mt. Kearsarge as a picnic. They have a kid’s playhouse with a “playhouse girl” that will take and entertain small children while Mom and Dad take in a round of golf or just catch up on a nap.
This is not for the X-box generation. There are wrap around porches with plenty of spots to curl up and finish a book or two, an open air gazebo that overlooks the lake and golf course and all the cottages are large and quaint. They operate on an American plan which means all your meals are included.
The town is a long walking distance but has many little shops and a summer playhouse with actors coming up for the season from NYC. Big Lake Sunapee is nearby with more activities as well as being the home to Rocker Steve Tyler and film producer Ken Burns. We have seen both in town several times over the past couple of summers.
All and all it has been a great vacation and one that my children ask year after year to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verde1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
7.5 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.3 mi away
The New London Inn
The New London Inn
#2 of 6 in New London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
6.4 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.2 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Lake Village

Property: Twin Lake Village
Address: 164 Twin Lake Villa Rd, New London, NH 03257-6601
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twin Lake Village is an all inclusive resort offering rooms in the hotel, two and three bedroom suites and a variety of cottages ranging in size from three to eight bedrooms. We operate on the American Plan so breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily in the hotel dining room. Enjoy swimming in Little Lake Sunapee, golfing on our nine hole par three golf course or a tennis match on one of our three clay courts. If you prefer, you can relax with a book in one of the rocking chairs that adorn all of our large sprawling porches.The Kidder family has been welcoming guests since 1897. From homemade breads and real TLV maple syrup to Monday night bingo and picnics on Mt. Kearsarge little things make a big difference to us. Bring your family to meet our family for an old-fashioned vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing