We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the very best family vacation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Lake Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Lake Village
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the very best family vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Once again we've had the best time here. My son and daughter in law and 3 grandchildren (11 and 9 and 7 years) love TLV and we enjoyed our 6th annual week in July here. Everyone is friendly and the joy of sharing time with fun people makes every day filled with smiles. Golf, the lake, shuffleboard, tennis, the children's dance, bingo and a picnic on Mr. Kearsage all add up to the best old fashioned vacation! Two 'easy' golf tournaments and a tennis tournament round out the schdule. Most wonderful for my daughter in law and me...all 3 meals are on the American plan and we never have to cook for the week. Cheese and wine and a few appetizers welcome folks before dinner in guest cottages ...there is no drinking of alcoholic beverages in the dining room. Puzzles and games and conversation are not lost arts in the crush of the digital age. One week of simplicity! There is wifi in the hotel, but no hook ups in the cottages. To me that is perfect! Joan hpj

Room Tip: Try to arrange for a cottage for your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Twin Lake Village (TLV) is family run resort that will take you back to an earlier day, when companionship and relaxing were the norms of having some quality family time. The resort has a challenging 9 hole golf course, with water coming into play on 7 of the nine holes, a sandy lake front beach, ideal for small children, a dock, boathouse and just the right size of comfort and still feeling a little rural. We have visited TLV for a few years (51 to be exact) and welcome the simple relaxing routine.

Wake up, and go grab some breakfast in the dining room, 10ish play nine holes of golf, lunch either in the dining room, or maybe a box lunch on the porch, afternoon - tennis, canoe (go look for those morning golf balls you hit in the lake) maybe read a book on the porch,
grab dressing drink while getting ready for cocktails on the porch, then head to dinner. Repeat:)!

The value that TLV provides for todays family is only exceeded by the quality time you spend together.

The dining room staff is a group of young folks learning how to serve. Be patient, your on vacation. Be aware TLV has no air conditioning, which might allow for a warm night or two. Fans help. All Cottages have Kitchens, Reach out to the Kidder family if you would like to experience some good old fashioned New England Hospitality,

Room Tip: Grab a cottage and fill it with friends and family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My family has been coming here now for 59 years and my family are friends with the Kidder family. Let me say it has never over the 59 years been a bad year. The people make the difference, but the 9 hole golf course is a great course and the bakery is the best part of there meals. The picnic is my personal favorite. In closing TLV is a great place for any family or group of friends to start a long tradition.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trimbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have been coming to TLV for almost 20 years. This is the perfect place for any kind of group get together where you want to have fun, have things to do for all ages, but you don't want anyone to get stuck doing the cooking and cleaning. However, keep in mind that you don't just come here for one night and leave. (Unless you stay in the Lodge.) Pick a week, find a group of friends or family to fill a house and enjoy. You will be competing with the other regulars who come the same week every year (like us!) But there are openings so do try to come! The Lodge also can take families and a group of rooms or you can stay as a single or double, like a hotel. TLV has it all if you like Par 3 type of golf, tennis, lake swimming, boating, Bingo night, hiking, a waterfall and a preppy affordable town nearby (only a mile or so) if you need groceries or boutiquey type of shopping. Maybe we'll see you at TLV sometime!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happynowyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is the 6th year our family of 6 has enjoyed Twin Lake Villas. My son and daughter - in-law and 3 grandchildren (now 10-1/2, 8-1/2 and 6-3/4) and me...happy Grammy. We have a wonderful cottage( part of the property and near the hotel ) that is super clean and maid service is daily.Eating in the dining room of the hotel for breakfast, lunch and dinner gives my daughter in law a 'break' from doing the usual daily cooking at home. The food is not gourmet, but mostly fine...and the desserts are super. Many guests know each other from years past and although there is no drinking in the dining room, folks often invite others to have a cocktail in their respective cottages before dinner every night. This is a family place and children and parents all 'hang out' together with children's ages varying from 3 to young adults. We all love the golf, the tennis, the shuffleboard, kayaking or canoeing and swimming in the lake. And all is included in the American Plan lodging fee for the week. It is terrific NOT to have TV in the cottage. Our family played board games some nights...and on the special bingo night and children's dance night we laughed for hours. The Tuesday afternoon climb to the top of Mr. Kearsage is tackled by many...and everyone revels in the picnic the Kidders provide at the picnic/play area near the top of the mountain. This is the most cost effective, fabulous vacation there is...and I say that from the perspective of having traveled nationally and internationally during my past vacations. It is simple, old fashioned low key FUN to be here. Although the youth of today have their I -pods and I-pads, there is so much to do , "screen-time" is effectively limited without undue parental hassle. The Kidder family does everything possible to ensure guests are happy...and we'll be going back year after year! Joan H. Johnson, Andover, MA

Room Tip: Call TLV and ask about availability of one of the cottages. i believe it's more fun to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I'm a real fan of TLV. I first visited more than 30 years ago, and the food reviews on this page do make me smile. I think I was offered Welsh Rarebit too, and I probably tried it. Twin Lake Village traditions run strong, and it might seem to a first-timer that TLV is insular because so many families return each year. The Kidders have hosted my family for 5 generations and they do try to get to know the newcomers in between the many tasks the family performs and directs. The charm of a week at TLV is old fashioned--a family golf round, little kids and all, though experienced golfers enjoy the course; the dock and swimming in the pristine lake; small boating--kayaks will get you around most of the lake in a few hours and the Sunfish sailboat fleet has been active for a long time. Evenings are great for a walk around the lakefront, a game of tennis before dark, or an impromptu snipe hunt. (We never did find a snipe.) Because people walk so leisurely and cross the road for recreational activities, the Springfield police are very vigilant about speeding. I'm a local, and I can attest to at least one ticket on Route 114. if you like the idea of a casual vacation where time slows down, consider a week at TLV. I'm only one of many who came for a week but came back to settle in permanently.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My family stays in a cottage every year in July, and we have been coming for 4 generations. It seems like every year gets better and better!

Although the food is very good, your choices are limited. But like I said the food is very good.

TLV has a wide range of activities such as 2 golf tournaments a week. They have a Tennis tournament, and the boat house has a lot of options too.

The best part is the Lake. Once you step foot on the beach, you can't help but spend the day there! The water is never too cold and never too hot, it's always perfect!

You will love your vacation, if you choose to go to TLV!!! Money definitely well spent!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giants555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
7.5 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.3 mi away
The New London Inn
The New London Inn
#2 of 6 in New London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
6.4 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.2 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Lake Village

Property: Twin Lake Village
Address: 164 Twin Lake Villa Rd, New London, NH 03257-6601
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twin Lake Village is an all inclusive resort offering rooms in the hotel, two and three bedroom suites and a variety of cottages ranging in size from three to eight bedrooms. We operate on the American Plan so breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily in the hotel dining room. Enjoy swimming in Little Lake Sunapee, golfing on our nine hole par three golf course or a tennis match on one of our three clay courts. If you prefer, you can relax with a book in one of the rocking chairs that adorn all of our large sprawling porches.The Kidder family has been welcoming guests since 1897. From homemade breads and real TLV maple syrup to Monday night bingo and picnics on Mt. Kearsarge little things make a big difference to us. Bring your family to meet our family for an old-fashioned vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing