We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Local Theatre!”

New London Barn Playhouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New London Barn Playhouse is one of New England’s most cherished summer-stock theaters, presenting excellent theater created by emerging artists in collaboration with accomplished professionals. Actors and directors come together for three months each summer to create an unrivalled theater season noted for its fresh approach and talented acting company. The theater has served a large audience each summer since 1933 in New Hampshire’s beautiful Lake Sunapee region.
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
212 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Local Theatre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We Love, Love, Love attending performances here! The Barn has a great atmosphere, now with improved lighting and air conditioning, and the cast is always full of great performers. For the size of the troupe, the small stage, and the low price, they consistently put on truly great performances! We have never been disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ElauNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrific play”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Laughter on the 23rd floor was The Barn's last play of the season and the acting was terrific! The Barn is a unique venue and has been in operation for years. There is nothing to dislike about it and the price is right!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Courtney069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Singin' In The Rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I went with the teenagers to see Singin' In The Rain and everyone had a wonderful time! The children were mesmerized by the show's music and dancing and it was so good to see them enjoying something besides video games. The actress who played Kathy Selden was especially believable in her role as well as the young lady who played Lina Lamont. The children (as well as ourselves) absolutely LOVED the actor who played Cosmo. He "made them laugh" throughout the show and it was marvelous to see his dancing too. The kids really enjoyed meeting him after the show too on the way out. We vacation here every year and we will make sure to see any show that is produced by this theater

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

So we attended Les Mis at this playhouse with reasonable expectations. We were very satisfied with the experience. The seats were comfortable and the theatre is very quaint. The cast was wonderful and performed well. We have seen Les Mis with original cast members including Colm Wilkinson and we enjoyed this experience just as much. We were so close to the stage we really felt part of the experience. The cast mingled with the audience after the show. Very good experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjok03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Les Miserables was fabulous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This production was fabulous considering there were only two professionals in the cast. The rest were mostly college aged students but don't let that scare you away from a great show! They were awesome, especially Eponine. Seating is very tight (hence only four stars). I was in the second row of the balcony and while I could see very well, I was sitting somewhat askew so my legs could fit behind the seats in front of me (I'm 6'1"). It appears that some of the side seats in the balcony had limited visibility. The cast comes out to meet guests 'on the porch' after the show, which is a nice treat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank thetiggrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New London Barn Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to New London Barn Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing