We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food, service, people and location for our wedding reception!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Ranked #1 of 6 New London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
“The best food, service, people and location for our wedding reception!”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My husband and I were just married in NH this past summer and had our reception at the Inn at Pleasant Lake. The food is out of this world (perhaps the best we've ever had), the service is incredible, and the setting couldn't be more relaxing and picturesque (overlooking the lake and Mt. Kearsarge beyond). Brian and Linda are the perfect hosts and we can't imagine anyone would be disappointed with their visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Washingt0nDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
99
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Brian MacKenzie and his staff catered our wedding in September 2008 in Sunapee, NH. He was professional and a joy to work with throughout the entire process, from the planning process to the execution of a fabulous event.

Brian was able to work with us to create our personalized vision for the menu and provided us with recommendations of both restaurant classics as well as “off the menu” alternatives. He is a seasoned veteran who was able to provide us with advice on food pairings and seasonal availability of menu items.

The Inn at Pleasant Lake uses only top-quality ingredients, and it shows. The filet was cooked to perfection and the butternut squash soup, garnished with heart-shaped croutons, was to die for - perfect for an early fall wedding! Guests raved about the food from both a taste and presentation standpoint, many claiming that it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding. (I contend that it is the best food. Period.)

I would highly recommend the Inn at Pleasant Lake for either catering or dining in at the restaurant – you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_S-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights before picking our son up from camp. Even though the weather was not perfect, we still managed to squeeze in fabulous canoe outings on a beautiful lake just across the street from the inn. We had the fortune of seeing a newborn loon and it's parents. Dinner and the breakfast were outstanding and not your everyday menu. Brian is a dedicated chef and host. The staff is ALWAYS friendly During the raining times we found ourselves curled in the quaint lvingroom reading and just relaxing and enjoying the ritual of afternoon tea. Hey, when is the last time you did that???No phone, no tv, no computer in your room, just peace and quiet., but don't panic there is a computer in the library. The flowers around the inn are magnificent and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn9196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, NH
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My husband and I started having our wonderful experiences with the Inn at Pleasant Lake, when we were planning our wedding in 1998. The owners wanted us to come to the inn to talk to us about our ideas for the wedding and also to share some wonderful suggestions. They were extremely knowlegable, professional, very warm and friendly and really showed us that they cared that we would be content with all of our choices.

Our wedding reception was perfect in every way and so many people had said that they had never had such a beautiful experience at a wedding reception before. The complete wedding party and their family stayed at the inn and they were completely satisfied with everything. There is no comparison to the quality of food, services and views that you are given at the inn. I was lucky enough for the first year of our marriage, that my husband brought me back to the inn every month on the date of our wedding to celebrate and we continually saw the same quality, kindness. professionalism and warmth as we did on our wedding day.

To this day, we continue to go to the inn and many of our family and friends request to go there for all of the reasons as mentioned above.

The views are beautiful; looking out onto Pleasant Lake and Mount Kearsarge. There is a private beach that you may walk to and have a cookout or nice sitting rooms inside the inn which are nicely decorated to a warm New England style.

The owners and the staff are sure to make it their plesure that a visit to the Inn at Pleasant Lake will be something that you will always remember and will want to return to.

It has been a pleasure to write this review for the Inn at Pleasant Lake. I know that many local and people from far away from the area feel the same.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INNNewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2009

What a great place to stay. The food is to die for, the staff is extremely professional and helpful. The inn itself is very relaxing and scenic. Just a great place to go for a getaway weekend.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksemperkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs CO
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We stayed at the Inn at Pleasant Lake this May (2009) during one part of a long road trip through the Northeast U.S. The Inn at Pleasant Lake was by far the best place we stayed, and we stayed in several very good inns and motels between the Adirondacks and the Maine coast.

We thought that the food and service were exceptional, the room was extremely handsome and comfortable, and the sitting rooms and dining areas were excellent. The Inn at Pleasant Lake is located in a beautiful area. The lake and beach were extremely pretty and clean, and very well equipped for swimming and boating. There is also a good exercise room.

We especially enjoyed walking along the country roads around the inn, and the fact that there are no TV sets in the rooms is a huge plus. It is a great place to get away from distractions and annoyances, but it does have WiFi and a guest computer if you have to communicate with the outside world.

We give the Inn at Pleasant Lake our highest recommendation. Spend some time there if you possibly can.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CandideYams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The Inn at Pleasant Lake is a wonderful and charming NH inn. The views of Pleasant Lake are beautiful to see at sunrise and sunset. We held our wedding and rehearsal dinner there and were extremely pleased. The staff was attentive, housekeeping quick to clean each room and the food is extraordinary. A meal from chef Brian is a pleasure to experience. Both Brian and his wife Linda were a wonderful to work with in planning the wedding and the day of. This is a wonderful location for a wedding or just a weekend of good food and relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krocheford12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
8.0 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
140 reviews
5.0 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
King Hill Inn
King Hill Inn
#3 of 6 in New London
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
11.7 mi away
Rosewood Country Inn
Rosewood Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bradford
136 reviews
5.1 mi away
New Hampshire Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pleasant Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pleasant Lake

Property: Inn at Pleasant Lake
Address: 853 Pleasant St, PO Box 1030, New London, NH 03257-5582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Pleasant Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Pleasant Lake is a historic ten room country inn overlooking Pleasant Lake and Mount Kearsarge in New London, NH. Guests of the inn enjoy afternoon tea and a full breakfast included with their stay. A five course prix fixe dinner is available Wednesday-Sunday by reservation at our restaurant led by Executive Chef Bryan Leary. Gourmet Brunch is available Sundays at 11:30. Seasonal To Go Lunch Menu available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Pleasant Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Pleasant Lake Hotel New London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing