We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in a Great Town”
Review of The New London Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New London Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 New London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We visit New London once or twice a year and have wanted to stay here due to the Inn's central location on Main Street and character. We finally were able to stay there for a ski trip in early February. The staff was extremely helpful from coordinating our late arrival, providing an extra pillow to printing out lift tickets. We enjoyed a dinner at the Coach House restaurant also and after an excellent meal it was nice to just walk up to the room. The cooked to order breakfast each morning was very good with a nice variety of options.

Our room (28) was very spacious, clean, warm and we really liked the ability to see each room online when making reservations. The Inn was a short 15 min drive to Mt. Sunapee and about 5 mins further to Ragged Mtn. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: The inn was pretty empty when we were there, but given the floor squeaking under our feet I would gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank not-too-picky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for three days in two rooms. We stayed through the new year and it was a fun time on New Years eve. Certainly an older inn (1780s I believe.) If you are looking for a true New England old-school feel, you couldn't do better than this. We have been going to the New London area for many years and have stayed at the NLI about 3 or 4 times and have had a good experience each time. It's certainly a long way from the Ritz or a Marriot type of experience. Don't expect a lot of amenities. The breakfast is now served (included) instead of the buffet. And that is a great upgrade. There isn't a ton of food, but what they serve is gourmet and delicious. The negatives:The staff isn't available after 9 pm and the kitchen closes at 9. Also, since it is a true old inn to it's core, the walls and floors are not that well insulated for noise. We did hear people above us waking up at 6:30am one day, which was ok because we were getting up as well for skiing, but if you wanted to sleep in, it may be a problem until they dress and leave. The beds were pretty comfortable, but again, don't expect a hotel experience. The showers were odd and different for each room. I did slip and bang my leg one day. I mentioned this to the Inn and they will remedy they said. If you love the charm of New England and an old fashioned experience, you will love it. Sitting by the fire drinking an adult beverage while it snowed outside was just awesome. Honestly, we are fairly picky about where we stay and we thought this was fine for three days. Another benefit is the skate rink they have just outside the door. This is a lot of fun.

Room Tip: 3rd floor if you want to sleep late: the floors are original from 1700s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent New Year's Eve at the Inn. It is the quintessential New England experience. The food was amazing, the room was clean with an wonderfully comfortable bed and the staff were friendly, helpful and terrific!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trble1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Everything was a very enjoyable experience. The room, with it;s own fireplace, a jacuzzi, a fantastic dinner and breakfast. Enjoyed the first snowfall of the year. We first stayed there because we were visiting our daughter, who attends Colby-Sawyer College. We will be returning to do some skiing at nearby areas. And a real deal.

Room Tip: Love the gas fireplace, the roomiest room. We will be back to enjoy the area skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I recently stayed at The New London Inn, located in picturesque New England. The staff was wonderful and caring, making sure our stay would be restful and comfortable. The town itself was lovely. There were wonderful shops within walking distance, which we explored. Colby Sawyer College was just down the road. The art show was great. The art center also offers plays as well. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Dinners are interesting and tempt the palette. Needless to say, it was an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Most rooms are on the second and third floors. If you need handicap accessibility, I would call in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathieNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

While visiting our son who is a college student nearby, we chose this quaint hotel -- very clean with nice staff. We enjoyed our breakfast (included in room rate) in the restaurant -- the food was excellent and our waitress was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This Inn was very quaint and the food and hospitality was spectacular. We overlooked the back of the Inn and the foliage was beautiful. I am looking forward to heading back for a weekend in the spring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
6.6 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
218 reviews
4.1 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 2 in Sutton
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
King Hill Inn
King Hill Inn
#3 of 6 in New London
45 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New London Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New London Inn

Address: 353 Main St, Box 8, New London, NH 03257-7813
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New London
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New London
Price Range: £121 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful Dartmouth Lake Sunapee region of New Hampshire, The New London Inn captures the spirit of yesterday with the luxuries of today. Our Inn-House restaurant, The Coach House, along with our beautifully renovated tavern and charming 23 guests rooms are minutes from year-round events and venues. Whether you come for fun, romance or relaxation, you'll be so glad you did. Visit us online for menus and reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your The New London Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New London Hotel New London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing