We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has solar panels for electricity!”

The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in New London
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
177 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“It has solar panels for electricity!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed near by at an old Inn and were told about the restaurant being the only "green" eatery in the state of NH. The building is newer, modern, and everything was very clean.
It is a brew pub with many types of beers to choose from. The food is typical and there was a lot to choose from. The food came hot. Sandwiches come with a side of fries, fruit salad, or coleslaw. The prices are typical and the staff was friendly. There is a porch area that is great for parties up to 30 or so.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingteacher51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    107
    41
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We truly loved this restaurant. It was like an oasis in the desert. The beer is brewed on the premises and they grow the hops on site. Try the nachos they were delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katemac215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shore, MA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fun Pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Was so glad to find this gem again! Had lunch here and it was amazing! We had the lobster special sandwich on a grilled roll and the salt and vinegar homecut fries! Most people around us were having the burgers, so they must be great, too. They have a good selection of draft beers including their own and a nice wine selection by the glass! The bar is lively and fun!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShelSouthShore_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The food is as good as the beer - and that's very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We met friends at the Flying Goose; they are frequent diners, and it was our first time. I'm not a beer drinker, but our friends love the Flying Goose because of the variety and quality of the beers. The chalkboard featured quite a variety, from light and lower alcohol to darker/heavier and a higher alcohol content. I stuck to the wine list and enjoyed a very good Pinot Noir.

The menu is amazing, with something for everyone. Appetizers, sandwiches and burgers, and regular entrees are offered. Some is classic "pub grub" (that's why we love pubs!), while dishes like Cherry Pork Schnitzel and Maple Chipotle Scallops elevate the menu for folks looking for a fine dining experience.

We started with a basket of onion rings - sliced fine and very lightly breaded, they're crisp, and absolutely addictive. We kept setting them aside, only to resume nibbling because they're irresistible. After the onion rings, we opted for fried clams (a special), Long Brothers Ale Mac 'n' Cheese, Cherry Pork Schnitzel and Meatloaf. The clams were whole-belly clams, fried just right and very plentiful. The mac & cheese features andouille sausage, bacon and onions and comes in a huge crock (there was also a mac & cheese special with house-made pulled pork). The schnitzel was pounded thin, lightly breaded, and had a wonderful cherry sauce so thick it was more like a compote; the schnitzel came with choice of starch. Finally the meatloaf (my choice), made from beefalo, sausage and pork with a roasted garlic demi glace and choice of starch - the meatloaf was dense and meaty (no fillers here!), with a dark, rich sauce. The slices that I took home will make a great sandwich.

The Flying Goose sits on a hillside with beautiful views from both pub and dining room. Servers are friendly and very capable, and the prices are very reasonable. So you get excellent food, great beer, good service and a great view - all for an affordable price. Enjoy!
Tip: the dining room is attractive, but the pub is more popular, and therefore has a busier vibe; we prefer the pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VTOceanLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

great local brewery and pub food. Service is always pleasant. Wonderful town of New London is just a 5 minute drive. Prices are very reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Flying Goose Brew Pub and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing