We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, great location - great weekend get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Newbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I booked a 3 night stay for a multi family weekend over President's Day and things worked out perfectly. Margaret and Ron are great innkeepers, the house is cozy and family friendly, the breakfast was great. A very nice touch was the fresh baked goodies that were waiting for us when we came in from our activities.
One thing that was a great surprise was how close the house is to the slopes at Mount Sunapee and what a great choice Mount Sunapee was. My brother's young children had never skiied before and this was the perfect place to take them. The artificial snow was terrific - all in all a great way to spend time with family, spend time outdoors and meet welcoming people who give great value and contribute to lasting memories.

Room Tip: We liked all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachbumParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

A very warm welcome by Margaret & Ron. We stayed here for 2 nights, too short, we will definitely go back there. The breakfast was delicious. Delicous coffee from the Keurig machine and tea throughout the day and afternoon refreshments. We slept in The Snow Goose Room a lovely room with a good bed. This room on the roadside but we haven't noticed that. We have also seen the Emperor Goose room, what a stunning room with a spaceous bathroom. We will definitely book this room next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanche1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My son and I pretty much skied till we dropped today; we wore ourselves out
skiing top to bottom with no lift lines. What fun we had on an incredibly
gorgeous winter day. While sharing a lift with one local skier, he
proclaimed our day as "the best ski conditions since Thanksgiving!"

All great days require a good beginning and by staying with you at the Blue
Goose Inn, we certainly had that. Our room was very clean, comfortable and
spacious. As I approached the shower this AM, there came that question that
commonly arises in my mind while staying in unfamiliar accomodations: will
there be enough hot water? To my grateful relief/satisfaction, there was
more than I needed. Then, our made-to-order breakfast with hot brewed coffee
and warm conversation with hosts Margaret and Ron, truly (borrowing terms from my old
sailing days) set us on the right tack. Also, the vouchers you provided for
discounted lift tickets helped to ease the total expense for our little
getaway, so that was appreciated.

As we discussed, there is some possibility that we may be returning to the
Sunapee region when our eldest son returns for spring break in March. We'll
see how well the snow base fares by then and contact you if conditions are
favorable.

Thank you for your part in creating a terrific father & youngest son memory.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Emperor Goose, a spacious room with a king bed. The linens were pristine. Bath was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainfrawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband, 12 year-old daughter, and I stayed in the family suite over the MLK holiday weekend. The inn is next to the mountain access road - couldn't be easier! Hot breakfast, plus snacks, hot chocolate, and coffee anytime. The owners live in an adjacent apartment, so the "common area" is really the living room and dining areas. Hosts are gracious and not intrusive. Rooms are attractive and comfortable. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

You really get to know a B&B when you stay there for 6 nights, as we just did. Not just delightful innkeepers (Margaret & Ron), but talented and helpful as well. They both went the extra mile to make our stay memorable -- by offering suggested sites in the area, as well as providing extras on the premises (Who irons your sheets these days?). Our room was very clean and comfortable. Super breakfasts too. Not items with names that are hard to pronounce, but solid, tasty American foods to start the day. And a varied menu.

We were fortunate to be able to combine a family wedding with almost a week's worth of great memories thanks to the Blue Goose. We'll be back!

Tom & Audrey -- Phoenix, AZ

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The room we had opened to the bathroom... an open design bathroom with no "shower stall or curtain, just an open view to the commode. The bedroom was efficient though there is no Television for you late night viewers but you can go to the common area downstairs to watch the tube. Breakfast was well prepared and the hosts are very cordial and have plenty of tips for ideas on what to do. The best tip was to go blueberry picking at the Bartlett Farm and that was a wonderful experience...Standstill blueberry picking wwas top notch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Spoomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Just wanted to write a quick note to say thanks to Margaret & Ron for a wonderful stay. The purpose of our visit was to attend a friends wedding so we booked a room for a 2 night stay and we were very comfortable. The Inn has a large yard that is very well maintained and a lovely wrap around porch with rocking chairs. Our room was right off of the front door but we were not disturbed by any noise. We did not make it up the first morning for breakfast but Margaret sent us off with homemade ginger scones that were out of this world. The second morning we were treated to a full breakfast including seasonal fruit, eggs, toast and Canadian ham (we really wished we hadn't missed breakfast the first morning). Margaret & Ron were so friendly and we really wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggierohlfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: #24 Route 103B, Newbury, NH 03255
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing