We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, Beautiful, Peaceful.”
Review of The Fells

The Fells
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Historic, Beautiful, Peaceful.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Fells was the home of John Hay, Assistant Secretary to Abraham Lincoln. The house is lovely and has been beautifully restored, but really it's all about the grounds, the gardens, the nature preserve and the lakeside area. The Fells is operated mostly by volunteers who are very knowledgeable about the property and taking a guided tour is the best way to see and learn. It is a good idea to check the website for hours since they do close the house on certain days, but the grounds are usually open from May through October. If you are a gardener, there are potted plants for sale from the Fells own gardens; perennials do require dividing from time to time and there are many unusual varieties available for sale at a very reasonable price. We have friends who live in the area and they treated us to a tour of this wonderful property and we make a visit to the Fells each time we are in the area. Very peaceful and lovely. I probably would not suggest it as an outing for a family with young children, but for a solo traveler, couples or a trip with friends it makes a wonderful place to spend at least part of a day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Auntie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow,Ok, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Fells”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Sunapee View Bed and Breakfast and received two passes to the Fells. We arrived at 9am and really enjoyed our visit to the Fells. It was really beautiful. The flowers, nature walk, and gardens were enjoyed by us. I only wished the house would of been opened to the public that day. Please call ahead and check when the house is opened.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A beautiful walk, lovely gardens”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

First, be sure to check the website or call to see if the house is open the day you plan to attend. We went and the house itself was closed, but the grounds were open.

The gardens and preserve that surround the home were pretty and made for a nice afternoon of strolling. We decided to take the long route back to the parking lot going through the Hay Preserve and were treated to a tree covered walk along the shores of Lake Sunapee.

It was however just an average place to visit. Nothing jumped out as exceptional. The unexpected admission fee dulled it a bit, but I understand the need to raise funds to support the house. There is nothing there for little kids unless they just want to hike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Calm and lovely”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is a beautiful place from spring through fall (I haven't gone in winter). The gardens are lovely, as is the house. I have volunteered here, so I may be biased, but it's a gorgeous place.

Occasional events, like plant sales or outdoor concerts.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham,NH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very lovely place to spend time”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I visited The Fells yesterday afternoon and was very impressed. Took the house tour and learned a lot, not only about the house and grounds, but also about the family's place in national history. The grounds are just beautiful, a combination of planned landscape architecture coupled with natural beauty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Fells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing