We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We visited Mountain Edge this past weekend, and had a fabulous time. it happened to coincide with the crazy early season snow storm!
The staff is warm and welcoming from the check in staff, to bartenders, wait staff,
to the General Manager. We arrived at 2:00pm, and were given our room right away even though check in wasn't until 4:00pm. Our room was an end/corner unit. It was spacious, comfortable and nicely appointed. It had a large, full kitchen, living room with tv/dvd player and balcony,den with desk and couch, large clean bathroom, bedroom with plenty of drawer space, a king sized comfortable bed and gorgeous mountain views. There was even a welcoming basket of juice, crackers and cheese, and other snack items waiting for us. The tavern was warm and inviting. Bartender Tom was right on with cold drinks, and Chef Paul makes the best pulled pork nachos around. You have to try them. Jim the General Manager was on hand to welcome us--very friendly and helfpul about things to do in the area, etc. The pool and hot tub was great, we were in the outdoor jacuzzi when the snow started to fall. It was really beautiful. Check out Digby's across the street, and say hi to Rochelle the bartender. Everyone was super friendly, we will be back for sure. This time with the whole family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank southshore13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

We visited this resort based on a coupon offer for two nights and resort dollars and we were not familiar with this property previously. We stayed mid-week and the resort was lightly occupied. The rooms and interior design are very well done and the quality of the room in terms of appointments and materials is impressive. The layout of the room we were in was well though out and made effective use of the space. Music is played in the hallways which is a nice touch but does bleed into a room a bit at night. This might bother a light sleeper.

The Spa area was inviting but the gym was surprisingly and disappointingly small for a resort. This situation would give me pause when deciding to return. There is a room off the lobby that is used for activities such as Yoga.

The staff was friendly upon arrival but overdid it a bit to the point that it felt strained. The warm welcome was nice but more important is how helpful the staff is. We were unable to get personal recommendations on restaurants in the area due to the newness of the staff (we were handed a book of menus which wasn't that helpful). We also had a situation where each night at around 4am we got a wake up call (which we did not request). We reported this the first morning after this happened and the staff claimed nothing was set. However, it happened again the next night and again the staff seemed unable to determine the cause.

A more troubling "rough edge" was the hotel running out of propane. My wife unfortunately found this out when showering. Clearly someone fell asleep at the wheel for this to happen. There was no warning (given the small number of guests it should have been easy to warn us of the situation) nor any notification of the status. It took a number of hours to get everything in order and the only explicit indication of progress was a large propane truck filling the parking lot with diesel fumes while refilling the tanks. The staff seemed totally flummoxed by this situation. Finally there were times during the evening when the front desk was unmanned.

Bottom line: great potential, excellent location, novice staff -- this resort has a ways to go to match the service level of many other attractive resorts in the northern New England area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CollegeParentsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We visited Mountain's Edge mid-week earlier in the month on the recommendation of some co-workers and we had a wonderful time. The resort is really lovely. The lobby is quite impressive and the rooms (we stayed in one of the lofts) are really nice. While I was conerned that the rooms might be noisy from the previous posters complaints about the road...the resort is on a road...which was not all that busy but it is also set quite far back from the road. We didn't notice any noise from the road, even when we were on our deck or out on the hammocks in the front of the hotel. we also didn't notice any noise from the hallways or from other rooms. We used the pools and visited the spa for a massage. we didn't have any trouble getting an appointment. the service was great and the prices were reasonable. The only trouble we had in our room was when one of the remotes did not work and the front desk brought us a new one right away. the front desk was also really helpful on tips of things to do in the area. We went hiking and swimming at the state park right near the resort. It was really a beautiful area. I'd recommend the hotel for couples or for families. We ate in both of the restaurants and the food was good at both locations. I'm pretty sure we'll be back for another visit or two this winter. We ski but have not tried Mt. Sunapee before---it is just up the road from the hotel so it would be the perfect spot for us once the snow flies. I look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We went for a two night stay for our 20th anniversary (Aug 31- Sept 1, 2011). We arrived early, 2:30 with a check-in time of 4:00. No problem. The lovely girl at reception checked and our room was ready so we were checked in. While this was going on the manager happened by and we received a warm greeting from him. Both girls at reception were very friendly and welcoming. All in all we had a great stay and would go back again. The whole area is beautiful and a two hour dinner cruise on Lake Sunapee was excellent (recommended by the hotel staff). Room was spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jake608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It's a great quite remote getaway. We did our research and prepared. We packed the car with groceries from shaws which wasn't far and cooked our meals in the convenient kitchen.
The indoor and outdoor pools are great. Relaxing overall. Cool cable channels. DVD and cd player. There is also a red box DVD rental at Shaws. Ppl should do their research before travel. I'd def stay again !!! [--]

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jintrovert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Mountain Edge Resort. All of the staff were very friendly and quite helpful. The condo was clean and quite comfortable with daily housekeeping services. We enjoyed time in the indoor pool and spa. We'd stay here again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank traveler5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend in August. The rooms were great. Clean, spacious and very quiet with a lot of amenities. We had a two bedroom unit and it was perfect for our family of four. The grounds were really well kept and it is such a beautiful location. We enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools with our kids and the kids also enjoyed the game room. The lobby was really neat and the staff was really helpful, accommodating and welcoming. We also enjoyed dinner at the pub across the street and there was a great musician in the outdoor area that made the meal really fun. We didn't have a chance to use the spa but another guest told us she really enjoyed the services. We took a look at the prices for the spa and they seemed reasonable and the facilities looked really nice, we just ran out of time. I would definitely stay here again. We are going to make reservations now for a stay in October so that we can take advantage of the spa and we'll be back with the kids in the winter for skiing at the mountain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.1 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
24.3 mi away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
8.1 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
218 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee

Address: 1380 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: £186 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa At Sunapee Hotel Newbury
Mountain Edge Resort And Spa At Sunapee
Mountain Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing