We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Rooms, Great Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had the priviledge of holding our company party at the Mountain Edge Resort last night and I can truly say it was beyond wonderful. In all honesty, we expected the event to be a typical banquet, mediocre food but great company. Boy were we glad to be wrong! The food by Chef Paul was astounding ~ everyone was raving about the food. The entire event was fabulous and seamless. Amy, our event coordinator, made sure we had everthing we needed before, during, and after the event. I can't begin to express how great it and easy to schedule ~ we picked the menu and they did the rest. I am pleased to say this is the first time I actually got to relax and enjoy one of our events because I was confident the staff was taking care of everything.
Even better, at the end of the night, there was a comfortable and clean suite to relax in. Today, we even enjoyed a glorious sunshining day by the pool. All in all, an astounding event, great staff, and a very happy customer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

We went to the New Hampshire League of Craftsmen Fair located at Mount Sunapee and stayed at Mountain Edge Resort. We had a 1-bedroom with efficiency kitchen that was very nice, spacious, and clean. The staff was very pleasant and friendly.

The resort is at a great location for kayaking and skiing. We were near several lakes that we took our kayaks and paddled on and will definitely go back and to stay and check out the skiing this winter.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor near the pool and had no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayaknski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Wasn't expecting much based on others' experiences, but I was pleasantly surprised. Confusion reigned during planning our family reunion, and the management contributed. But, while not cheap, the rooms were large, the dinner we held there for about 20 was well-staffed and the food wasn't bad, and the post-dinner mingling in the hotel bar was comfortable and relaxed.

Overall, if you have some patience, I would say that they didn't do a bad job!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank lll60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We just had a family get together for a long weekend in a two bedroom and had a really nice time in a two bedroom with a kitchennette. We needed a can opener and they got one right away. We had a spa massage and had a discount from livingsocial and Manager Tom fixed the mix up with the discount with courtesy and charm. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Internet is slow for iPhones, but iPads work well. Tom explained they are waiting for better Internet service in the Sunapee area and that it affected the whole area. Close to the mountain, the state beach, the great Double Diamond restaurant across the street which has special smoked ribs and other smoked meats on Sundays after 3 PM, as well as nice breakfast and lunch. The Mountain Edge could upgrade the tvs to larger flat screens some cold see the Olympics this weekend, but it is not why we came to this beautiful, pristine area. The resort has indoor pool, resistance pool, sauna, or tub, spa, spa shower and changing area. Outdoor pool, or tub, and grilling area, and tavern. We didn't try their restaurant since there was a wedding going on. I would go here again. Watch for the livingsocial deals which was quite a good deal for a grat weekend in Sunapee.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Bostongirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

As a Vail local, and having worked at a 5 star resort, I can tell you these people have no idea what CUSTOMER SERVICE means. From check in to check out they were unprofessional, rude at times, unprepared (asked for early check in and it would up being later than usual), and unable to manage a big group. We told them we had a large group coming to the bar after the wedding to which they said as long as people are here, the bar will be open. They "cut us off" at 12:30 for last call, when by law, last call is around 1:15, last drink served at 1:30.
I scheduled a massage the day of the wedding only to find out my massuese was stuck in traffic and was 45 minutes late! Honest mistake I realize, but c'mon!
Upon check out one of the people in our party had left early and paid for half. We paid for the remaining half, but found out the first party was charged twice!!

Seriously. These people have no idea what they are doing. Get some new staff, and a new manager while you're at it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MER-Mgr, General Manager at Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

The management and staff at Mountain Edge Resort & Spa deeply regret that the reviewer's perception of their stay experience did not meet their expectations. As a resort hotel with a small tavern, we endeavor to manage the two as complimenting entities. In the referenced occasion, the tavern was managed in the same manner as it is each evening with utmost regard for our guests who are settling in to their suites for the evening. As most patrons are aware, "last call" is a service to guests to alert them that it is nearing closing time and should they desire another cocktail, now is the time to do so. For the reviewers benefit - NH state law dictates no service of alcohol past 1am, and all drinks to be consumed or collected by 1:30am. As a former 11 yr resident of Vail myself, I know first hand that the resort taverns and bars, even at the 5 star resorts, practice very similar policies yet are allowed to stay open yet provide an additional 30 minutes beyond the very rigorous NH Statutes.
Our staff members are extremely passionate about their jobs, and are heartbroken to receive such a harsh review. If the past 12 months of reviews are any indication of the level of professionalism exhibited by our staff, then I'll happily retain each and every one of them. As for replacing the existing manager, that is a much more difficult argument. Given the reviewer's impressive credentials and experience, I would like to extend a formal offer and ask that they submit their resume for immediate consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Went on a Living Social Deal and couldn't beat the price for the room or the discounts. We stayed in a one bedroom/den suite and I was very impressed by the size of the room. Other than some issues with the blinds on the patio door the room I had no complaints with the room. All of the staff that we encountered were extremely friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Kids loved the indoor pool and the Double Diamond restaurant across the street was amazing. I look forward to going back in the Fall

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MER-Mgr, General Manager at Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thanks to the reviewer for your kind words, we appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to seeing you here again soon! Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was a decent stay for a google deal, but would have been dissappointed if I paid full price.
The Resort Staff & Spa Staff were terrific. The 2 two bedroom suite however was outdated and needs attention to the cosmetics. Curtain blinds some missing, kitchen outlet didn't work, Toilet seat slightly broken, Suite door didn't close well, risk of leaving room open all the TV's are old. Then quite a few side entrance /exit doors didn't close, bad security issue. But over all a good stay and great location to being close to Lake Sunapee and I'm sure it was a better stay then the Best Western accross the street. Good place for famlies, couples not so much, on the noisy side with so many kids and pets around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MER-Mgr, General Manager at Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

On behalf of the staff and management at Mountain Edge Resort & Spa, we thank the reviewer for their candid response. Due to the location and nature of our resort (all suites) we definitely specialize in hosting families and their pets. We do our best to manage our public areas to ensure that family fun does not intrude on others quiet enjoyment, but sometimes there is an overlap. Additionally, we endeavor to attend to maintenance and repair throughout the resort on a daily basis and are pleased to announce that the items listed in the review have been repaired and/or replaced. While our hotel is relatively new, we do expect to update items within suites in the next year and invite the reviewer to return to see our new exciting new changes! Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.1 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
2.7 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
207 reviews
6.4 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
225 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rosewood Country Inn
Rosewood Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bradford
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee

Address: 1380 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: £195 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa At Sunapee Hotel Newbury
Mountain Edge Resort And Spa At Sunapee
Mountain Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing