We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We just returned from our first stay at the Mountains Edge Resort. We Stayed in a 2 bedroom loft unit and it was perfect! Our room was ready when we arrived and it was clean. We loved the wood accents and fireplace because it added charm. While we feel the resort is slightly over priced, we would definitely return because it's the nicest place around!
The staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hampton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

As a frequent business traveler I stay at all types of hotels and resorts.Some not so good. Not the case here. MT Edge is the best of all worlds for an overscheduled exec like me.Close to Boston for a quick exit,immaculate,self contained with the bar/restaurant and a full health/ pool/hot tub facility under one roof.The staff is always attentive but never overbearing.Couple this with the great skiing at Mt Sunapee a quick shuttle away and there is no need to go anywhere else.Really an awesome find.We'll be back..

Room Tip: Room can get a little hot at night if you don't lower the heat because of the roaring gas firepl...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have traveled for many years for business and have stayed at some of the higher-end hotels throughout the world. Mountains Edge is as beautiful as many of these hotels but with reasonable costs. A perfect example of this is their on-premise tavern which has very affordable prices, especially for the kids' entrees. This makes it easier to take the kids up for a weekend, not have to cook, have a few drinks ourselves and not break the bank.
Would highly recommend this to any family for just staying a few nights or owning there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Where do I even begin by saying how wonderful the MOUNTAINS EDGE was to me, my family and friends this New Years Eve.....They truly rescued us from a nightmare that began at the BURKEHAVEN LODGE (NEVER EVER STAY THERE)..The staff... from the managers to the front desk went above and beyond for all of us. Their compassion for complete strangers and willingness to help was so amazing it truly brings tears to my eyes. They also gave us all significant discounts on our rooms (on New Years Eve no less). We ate at the restaurant that evening (delish home cookin feel)..sat by the fire with family and friends, enjoyed some great music,
complimentary drinks from the bar staff who also went above and beyond!! We continued our New Years Eve celebration all in the same spot, with extended family and friends already staying there. To top it off...the manager Tom (sweetest guy eva!!!) also gave us late check out at no extra fee so we could just relax and enjoy...and that we did..and then some!!! See you next year Tom and the Mountains Edge Staff to ring in another New Year...Thanks again for your EXCEPTIONAL HOSPITALITY!!! You know how to do it right...
Forever grateful...Your friends, The Fries Family (Bridgewater Ma)

Room Tip: Perfection...choose this place!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I and our dog, stayed at the Mountain Edge Resort when we had extensive damage to our home because of a house fire. The owner,Tom Behrens, called my husband's work to let us know they had pet-friendly availability. Jesse, the Hotel Manager was so accomodating as well as Joe at the front desk. The accomodations were very homey, everything was there that we needed.I loved the pool and the hot tub, the spa was amazing as well. We enjoyed the restaurant, and the food was excellent. We would like to sincerely thank all of the staff at the Mountain Edge for making a very difficult time in our life a little better.
Skip and Rhonda Rollins and Derby and Hero

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed at several resorts that to an urban dweller would seem to be well off the beaten track. Of these, Mountain Edge is certainly the best. We spent five days during the low spot between early Autumn and Winter. We had a one BR suite on second floor with full kitchen, overlooking road. Our room accommodations were nearly perfect. Television was excellent, free Wi-Fi in room with excellent response.

The entire staff, Tom the owner, GM Jesse and his front desk staff, maid service, spa, restaurant, were without exception courteous, helpful, and always friendly. The restaurant is the Mountain Spirit Tavern. Its chef, Paul, offered surprising and well-prepared creations. The restaurant had a minimum staff because of the season, but still provided excellent food and service. The restaurant serves only an evening meal; a nuisance only, since we did have a kitchen and there is a breakfast place down the road.

A game room/library is on the upper floor, supplied with overstuffed couches, board games and reading materials. The resort has an elevator, important for people with walking difficulties. Swimming pool is perhaps nine meters long, in any case long enough to do short laps. Heated pool is close to 104F (40C). Exercise room was well appointed.

The down side? Distances, mostly. The resort has an attached General Store with convenience store prices. The nearest grocery store and shopping area are in Newport, about eleven miles away. Another good restaurant, Bubba’s, is about two miles down the road.

I suspect this place changes its personality when the snow is on the ground and the resort fills up. But for Autumn touring, I have not seen anything better. I agree with the sentiments in other recent reviews. Mountain Edge Resort is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We wanted to get in one last hike and I saw a deal in my inbox.
The place is fabulous. We had a 1 bedroom Den suite which was awesome. Large kingsize bed in the bedroom, a huge bathroom and a living room with a gas fireplace.
The den would have been perfect had we brought our daughter, no door, but a nice pull out couch and desk. A very efficient kitchen with full size fridge, and stove top.
The Tavern had a small but incredibly good menu. Paul makes incredible prime-rib on Friday's and his red sauce and homemade meatballs are delicious. They are not open for breakfast, the Country Kitchen just down the road is a perfect spot, but plan on doing a lot of hiking to burn off the meal!

We'll be back again. Nothing short of a wonderful weekend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
0.1 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
23.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Burkehaven Lodge
Burkehaven Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sunapee
84 reviews
6.4 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
220 reviews
8.1 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee

Address: 1380 Route 103, Newbury, NH 03255
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range: £189 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa At Sunapee Hotel Newbury
Mountain Edge Resort And Spa At Sunapee
Mountain Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing