We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our family of four stayed at the White Mountain for 6 nights at the beginning of April and had a fantastic time. I had taken advice from Trip Advisor and asked for 3rd floor quiet rooms which we got-we had 1 mountain view King & 1double, both were spacious, clean and had fantastic views.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like friends and advice was offered on places to visit/hike/ski. One waitress in particular (Adele) was so friendly & interested in our holiday that our teenage sons looked forward to seeing her and updating her on our adventures! As our youngest son said 'We've only just met her and she's made a real difference to our holiday.'

All the staff have excellent customer service skills & will go the extra mile to change things on the menu or serve desserts in the bar after the restaurant has closed-many thanks for that, your desserts are second to none! We ate in the restaurant on 3 evenings (the food is exceptionally good) and were lucky enough to finish our holiday with the Sunday Brunch-again fantastic food and service. My husband spoke to one of the chefs (Daniel) during brunch and commended him on the food -I am sure he gets many compliments and they are very well deserved.

We used the outdoor pool and jacuzzi which are great fun-the fires are not lit Sun-Thurs & so we didn't experience any 'smoke problems' like a previous reviewer. The views of the mountains make this a great place to relax & chat.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday made memorable by staying in an exceptional hotel-thank you to all the staff, we really hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We can't wait for you to return as well! Thanks for your wonderful comments and very kind words about Adel. I will make certain that we share these comments with her and her manager. See you again soon. Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    299
    102
    35
    17
See reviews for
319
499
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our family of four (Mom, Dad, son, 22, daughter, 19) stayed the weekend after Easter. Got a great rate for two rooms with mountain view and continental b'fast by using Priceline as a bargaining chip.

We stayed here in 2006 during a school holiday and loved it, though we were on the cliff side away from the mountain view. It was more crowded in the pool then, too. This time, the place had fewer lodgers but there was a 24 Hours of Music Festival, so the parking lot was jammed. Oh well, we are music lovers and didn't mind too much; all for a good cause.

Common rooms are beautiful. Rooms/bath are very clean and comfortable. Heating unit should have a FAN option to create white noise for us light sleepers. Got around it by jacking up heat all the way in order to keep it on all night, and opening the window. Seems wasteful, I know, but only way to get a good night's sleep.

My husband and son thought the beds and pillows were not that comfortable. But my daughter and I have bad backs and we were fine with both. Flat-screen TVs are great. Room service was good (delicious steak burger and fries for $12, which for us is a bargain compared to restaurant prices).

Continental breakfast was perfectly fine with plenty of choices. Some reviewers seem to expect Continental to include everything, which isn't fair. Waitstaff is efficient but one was a little authoritative, almost like a school principal. We just let her do her thing and smiled behind our coffee. We were having such a good time with the outdoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna, ping pong, hiking trails and gorgeous views that her foible about running things a certain way only added to our overall good feeling about this resort.

On the whole, every staff member was friendly and very helpful. One even gave my daughter and me terrycloth robes to use at the pool while we were there, though we were not staying in a suite where they are included.

ONE COMPLAINT: Every evening, a PIT FIRE is built right near the pool and the smoke from it is annoying. The smell stuck to our hair and the smoke stung our eyes and lungs. Even with a constant outdoor breeze, it's impossible to get away from the smoke.

The fire builder even asked me if I was being smoked out, and I said yes. He just added another log to the fire! Strange. Nobody was sitting around the fire; the smoke was too intense and occasionally major sparks flew around, which would singe clothing.

A better choice would be a pit of non-smoking embers, something that didn't smell or smoke. That would be much more delightful to sit around, watch the glow and toast s'mores.

We wanted to enjoy the fresh air and gorgeous mountain view. Sadly, that was spoiled as soon as the pit fire was lit. So, only 4 stars.

Room Tip: The cold water right out of the tap is the most delicious water I've ever tasted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delving E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your very honest and pleasant review about your recent stay. I am sorry about the smoke from the fire pit. We have debated weather to remain with the traditional wood burning fire pit, which many guests enjoy, or go with a gas version. I appreciate your feedback, and will keep it under advisement. Regards, Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
au Québec
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent a night during easter week-end. The room was clean and quiet. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. The view is great !
But some points need to be improved ! As the Continental breakfast buffet . It's very very poor !!
there was cereals, boiled eggs, oatmeal, fruits, and 2 sorts of "pastry" - Pastry belongs to cheap industrial cooking.(muffins and something which looks like a cinnamon roll). Toast with jam would be better !

Please make an effort !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurence_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy our Continental Breakfast, and have forwarded these comments to our food and beverage director. During your next stay, please know that you can always request toast or a bagel from the kitchen at no additional charge. Regards, Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My friend is a frequent guest at this lovely hotel. She highly recommended it. We stayed there this past week. I was not disappointed. The views are incredible. My room was really nice, updated, the bed was so comfy. I utilized the heated swimming pool and hot tub while gazing at the mountains and stars. We had the "continental breakfast" which meant, china and linens, a wonderful waitress (Andrea) and a great selection. Dinner was superb as well. Every staff member I met was friendly and helpful, they treated my friend like family. I would highly recommend this hotel. We hope to return very soon and bring friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mt. Cranmore view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
What a pleasure to read your review and thank you for sharing your wonderful remarks. I will make certain that I share these with the team. Regards, Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

A friend and I spent a girls' getaway weekend here and were greeted by friendly staff, good food, and delightful jazz piano music in the bar/dining room both evenings. Our room was clean and quiet, with a stunning view of Cathedral Ledge out the window. No pretenses, just good attention to detail and comfort. A real find off the beaten path of the North Conway drag.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina0156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
I am thrilled that you came to stay for a girlfriends getaway. This has become very popular and I happy that you were pleased with your experience. We hope to see you again, and stay tuned to the website for special "Girlfriends Weekend" Packages. Regards, Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and I just returned from a two-night get a way to the White Mountains and enjoyed a great stay at the White Mountain Hotel and Resort in North Conway. The hotel is off the beaten trail, away from all the noise and traffic, set below huge ledges at the edge of the forest. The distant view is directly towards Mt. Cranmore with other peaks in the distance. The dining room, lounge, cozy lobby with fieldstone fireplace and REAL logs burning in the fireplace are all welcoming aspects. The food was good. The bar served simpler foods and good beverages. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The heated outdoor pool was magic as we swam while it snowed! Breakfast was complimentary and more than adequate. All in all our stay was lovely. We look forward to going there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 326, a spacious king bedroom with views directly towards Mt. Cranmore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarinG720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the amenities such as the outdoor heated pool and lobby fireplace. Your comments are very valuable to us, and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed a week in early March 2013. Everything was as it promised to be from brochures and people's reviews on the web, so all the surprises were nice ones. Excellent attentive staff, the complimentary breakfast was always enjoyed, coming back to an open fire and tea/coffee and cookies in the reception on a cold winter's afternoon just added to the sense that this hotel makes its guests welcome. We had a king room with a mountain view. Winter or summer, the view would be wonderful. Our room was fantastically comfortable. Not being a huge fan of air conditioning (we're european :-) ), the simple pleasure of being able to sleep with a window open meant that by the end of a week we were so unwound that we were struggling to be up in time for breakfast ! A small gripe, but not one that detracted from our stay, but the fan units for the kitchen whirred most of the day, but did shut down at night. Like any background noise, we were aware of it but soon stopped noticing.

I'd happily recommend this hotel, and perhaps the best endorsement is that we've already booked a return next winter, and can't wait.

Room Tip: The staff are really helpful. Just tell tell them what you're looking for when you book, and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks about the service and amenities at the Hotel. We do try to make the entire experience pleasurable, and happy to see that we accomplished this for you.
Hope to see you again soon. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
2.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 25 in North Conway
1,349 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 25 in North Conway
1,247 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Property: White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Address: 87 Fairway Drive, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#5 Business Hotel in North Conway
#8 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing