We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed again this year at this hotel on July 21 and 22.
We were not disappointed on this second stay.
The staff remains very very friendly and helpful, the rooms are still spotless, and the restaurant provides excellent meals and excellent value.

If any change from last years visit, I would say the restaurant service was even better than before if that is possible.

Overall, we loved our visit at this hotel and plan to stay again next summer

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveler541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
There are newer reviews for White Mountain Hotel and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2008

I love the White Mountain Resort! The people who work there are incredible. I took my girlfriend for the weekend with the intent to propose. I asked the hotel manager and his staff if they would be willing to deliver the diamond with room service and it worked out great. The staff is very accommodating and pleasant.

The only negative thing that came from our weekend was during dinner. We made reservations at the ledges restraunt inside the hotel. I am 28 years old and like to dress and look presentable, however apparently no one knows how to look presentable anymore. If you attend a candle light dinner with a pianist I suggest you wear something a little nicer than sneakers and a Red Sox Jersey. It wasn’t just one person, it was roughly half the restraunt. How do you go to a nice romantic dinner with shorts and sneakers and a hat on? One it takes away from the atmosphere for those who don’t want to look like tourists and two it’s not ok to be 55 years old with a blazer and dirty sneakers... If you want to dress like an idiot go to McDonalds. I think the hotel should adopt stricter policy for their dinning room attire.

Other than that it was fantastic. I highly recommend their suites because of their size and comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianl3981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

We first patronized this property when it opened in the early 1990's and we are glad that we paid a return visit. A quiet and stately hotel that sits amid the mountains and is adjacent to a golf course. A housing development has sprung up where years ago there was nothing but it does not detract from the hotel. Rooms have obviously been recently renovated, including nice flat screen TV's. A nice improvement from the "old days" as I clearly remember that there was no cable when they first opened, only a few network channels and an in-house movie channel showing the then new "Field of Dreams." Outdoor heated year-round pool and fitness center are not bad. Service is friendly and helpful and the pub is a solid stop at the end of the day. The only meal that we consumed at the hotel was breakfast and it was very good. A good "off the beaten path" stop.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viking47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

I love this Hotel. I have stayed here twice before and it still as good as the first time. The Staff are great, friendly and helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. The Sunday Brunch probably one of the best there is and is really great Value . I will diffinitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Great location, excellent staff, very clean.

To correct another poster: there is a year-round heated outdoor pool and hot tub. I tested the water and it was sooo warm! Steam was coming off the water.

The renovations were nice but a bit short on quality. The furniture is colonial styling but quality was cheap motel.

We stayed in Room 332, The Mt Washington Suite. For $139 we thought, why not! The room had 5 ( five, not a typo) windows with beautiful views. The room was spotless. (Thank you, Dawn!) The bed was very high, at lest 36" off the ground. We didn't have a problem but I kept thinking if my parents booked this room they would have to change rooms b/c they'd never be able to get into this bed. Our bathroom door wouldn't close all the way. And if you did lean on it to close it, you had to have someone on the other side push it open. The bathroom had an 8' vanity with one sink, the toilet was very low, again I thought of my parents. Great shower pressure for a hotel. Towels were thick and fluffy.

The bar had a real cozy, comfortable atmosphere. Sandy and Terry are great bartenders. We had dinner at bar one night, lighter fare menu. The food was average, nothing special. Husband comes here once a year for a golf tournament and said the main dining room food is much better.
We had breakfast once and it was very good.

Living in the city, I was amazed by the friendliness of the staff. It wasn't the courtesy 'Good Morning'. They looked you right in the eye and talked to you! It was great.

I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasternAirlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at the White Mountain Hotel with a close friend and both of us could not have been happier with our stay .The hotel is off West Side Road in North Conway which is a two lane road meandering thru the farm country of New Hapmshire. Traveling down this road even in the winter brought us back to another time. This location in my opinion is one the best in North Conway . Just a short drive to the center of town but away from all the hustle and bustle of the main drag The property is a mile or so from the road and surrounded by forest .As you look up you can see Cathederal Ledge, a popular rock climbing destination according to the staff at the hotel . A litle to high for our liking. The rooms were inviting ,clean, nicely decorated. and the flat panel tv was a nice touch. We dined at the Ledges Restaurant and the views overlooking the mountains were spectacular . At night you could see Cranmore Mountain lit up in the distance for night skiing. The food was excellant and reasonably priced So good that we had dinner both nights of our stay. The bar was warm and inviting and we really enjoyed the piano player. The peopls at hotel were friendly and helpful when we had questions about the area. I would recommend this hotel to any couple that wants a romantic getaway. We can't wait to return in the summer or fall so we can explore the surrounding area when the weather is warmer A real find !

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vierraphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

We enjoyed our stay during the Martin Luther King long weekend. The burger at the Tavern was wonderful as well as the service and atmosphere. The dining room has the best view in town and rooms and bathrooms have recently had a make over and our family enjoyed the outdoor pool and gym. The fires in the lobby give the hotel that cozy feel as well as the coffee and tea in the am. Brunch is a must do! Location, Location, Location...we do not want to stay downtown with all the traffic and crowds. At WMH you get away from it all and then some

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank kellyk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
2.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
3.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
652 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Address: 87 Fairway Drive, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#5 Business Hotel in North Conway
#8 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £105 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing