We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great as always”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Super comfortable hotel. The staff is friendy and accomodating, the beds are super comfy, rooms are nice. Unfortunately, the tennis court has not been kept up but the 9 hole golf course is just right. The location is great, just a couple of miles off the beaten path. The onsight restaurant has good food and amazing views. We've been here many times and will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank griffgraff_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We will need to evaluate the future of the tennis court area that has been closed now for two years. We just don't seem to have enough guests interested in playing tennis these days, but I appreciate your feedback very much. We are looking forward to your return visit. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    295
    102
    35
    17
See reviews for
316
495
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were very happy with our weekend stay at your hotel. It was beautiful and comfortable beds. We will be returning next year. Perfect location for families. Close to all of NH best places. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titanjacbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
What a pleaure to read your review and thank you for sharing. We are looking forward to your return visit. Regards, Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We decided to hike Mt. Washington this year as one of our getaways this summer. I found this little gem of a hotel in North Conway, called the White Mountain Hotel which was adjacent to a golf course, a lake, and majestic cliffs. What a location! Right from the parking lot you could hike up and along the cliffs. A great warm up before we tackled the mountain. The hotel was charming with an outdoor heated pool, jacuzzi, and fire pit for roasting marshmallows. The restaurant was very nice, a little pricey with two kids. We found that Tuckermans and Horsefeathers were great alternatives.

Room Tip: We were on the first level which was very convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
What an adventure to climb Mt. Washington and that you for choosing to stay with us. I am thriled to read that you enjoyed your stay. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Great location; clean; restaurant offers varied and tasty sandwiches and entrees.
However, the swimming pool is small and not heated, the gym is a joke, the tennis court has cracked pavement. One corner of the court has been rigged up with a net that serves as a driving range
The putting green has one hole
To add insult, the front desk staff can provide only minimal info on local hiking trails and recreation. Not for sport minded tourists

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I appreciate your review and am so very sorry to read that you did not enjoy some of our amenities.. I did want to address a couple of points that I am unclear on, and please feel free to email me directly if you should want to discuss further at csullivan@whitemountainhotel.com

Our putting green just before the 1st tee box has 5 practice holes. Our tennis court has been closed for 2 years, and yes we have installed a practice driving net on a section of the tennis court for our golfers. I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Our outdoor pool does have a heater and is heated to 82 degrees in the summertime. Our gym equipment features Cybex and Life Fitness fitness equipment and includes 2 treadmills, 2 bikes, 2 stairclimbers and 2 Cybex weight towers, A/C, towels, cleaner, a flat panel TV and a mat for floor work. I am sorry that these amenties did not meet your standards and appreciate your feedback.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Regards, Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We only intended to stay for two days at White Mountain but due to the excellent facilities, most gorgeous location, wonderful golf course and amazing service we decided to extend our stay to ten days which we appreciate was difficult during a very busy holiday period but the reception staff were brilliant and worked very hard in rearranging rooms and accommodating us. The bar staff were happy, friendly and very welcoming. The dining room staff were very attentive - always smiling and willing to interact with all guests - we would like to make a special mention for our waitresses Sharon and Trudi who were amazing. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed staying with you and would definitely return. Thank you all very much. Carol and John (Bridge players - Golfers) Billericay United Kingdom

Room Tip: All three rooms were extremely nice - roomy and exceptionally clean. We had two rooms on 3rd floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and so happy to read that you were able to extend your stay. I will pass along your kind words about the waitstaff to our Food and Beverage Director. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My sister and I stayed at the White Mountain Hotel and Resort for 5 days/4 nights and found it a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing place. Our room was immaculate and spacious, with nice furnishings and country-inspired decor we found very pleasing. The bathroom was very large and the toiletries provided were certainly a cut above what most hotels supply. We opted for the continental breakfast each morning, which was included in the price of our room, and were pleasantly surprised by the wide variety of items from which to choose as most continental breakfasts tend to consist of simply a few muffins or pastries, juice and tea or coffee. The continental breakfast here offered these as well, plus hot or cold cereals, mixed fruit, hard-boiled eggs, scones, cinnamon buns and yogurt, all buffet-style and all-you-can-eat. There was also a relatively extensive a la carte menu available, too, at reasonable prices.

The outdoor pool area was clean and had various comfortable chairs, a few tables and umbrellas. The water temperature was just right, neither too cold nor too warm. The view was fabulous. The fitness centre was well-equipped and also very clean.

There is a pro shop that offers all types of golfing equipment and accessories, and golf carts are plentiful. Tennis courts are also available.

The one drawback, if so it can be called, is that there is only one elevator in the hotel, which was a very slight inconvenience as we were on the top (third) floor and not always disposed to take the stairs. It can also be a bit of a challenge to find the hotel in the first place, as signage is minimal (per municipal ordinance) and it is located in a residential area.

We found the staff very welcoming and accommodating. In particular, Laurie at the reception desk was helpful and very friendly and we appreciated her easy but professional manner.

All in all, a most satisfying experience in a beautiful location to which we will certainly return and recommend to our friends!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side have beautiful mountain views and are quieter than those at the front and tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
It was a pleasure to read your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel was in a lovely location with quite a view of the cliff behind it. It is not near the centre of town however so restaurants/gas/shopping are about a 10 -15 min drive away.
Room was on the small side and tired- paint peeling, noisy air conditioner.
The free breakfast is not entirely free as they charge a gratuity per person. Also the selection for this free breakfast was mediocre - I've had better at Best Westerns. Hostess was not particularly friendly and overall, I would say the servers seemed like they didn't want to be there. Not unfriendly just not enthusiastic.
The pool is heated which is nice. The hot tub was fine but I did end up with a nasty rash after using it.
Generally, the hotel was underwhelming for the price and appears to be resting on its laurels.

Room Tip: Cliff view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I apprec iate your review and your honest opinions about your stay. I am sorry to read that we did not exceed your expectations with regard to service and your dining experience. I will most certainly forward your comments to our Food and Beverage Director and weill look at the A/C unit and paint in your room, as this certainly is not an example of our high level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Property: White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Address: 2560 W Side Rd, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#5 Business Hotel in North Conway
#8 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing