We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful, Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful, Friendly Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

This was my 3rd stay at the White Mountain Resort. The Wine Weekends are a great deal and a great time. The food is excellent and the service is top notch. The hotel staff is very friendly and warm. There is plenty to do in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolcranmore, Manager at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves in our friendly staff, and we are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    295
    102
    35
    17
See reviews for
316
493
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

The beds were soft and comfy after a long drive up from Boston. Friday started with a brief wine tasting, yummy appetizers and even some learning about wines from Argentina. We all headed to the cozy bar and continued our socializing. Then on Saturday we began with breakfast, enjoyed the heated outdoor hot tub and pool. Did a little shopping and returned for an educational cooking show with wine tasting. Chef Bradley along with the help of the staff treated us to Argentinian delights paired with the Catena Wines. Then we relaxed a little and were treated to a delightful 6 course dinner with each course with it's own wine. We ate duck, pheasant, lamb, steak with lots of sides and creativity. Saturday may have been rainy outside all day but we were treated to a beautiful sunrise that permitted us to see the Ledges, the trees and the many mountains. We ended our stay by filling up on their Champagne Brunch. So much food I think I'll burst --- Omelets, Waffles, Pancakes, Ham, Bacon, Roast Beef, Salmon, Vegies and Fruit just to name a few and then a table filled with desserts. Take the time and check them out. It's well worth the drive and the money. I was excited to learn they do multiple wine weekends a year, so you can be sure I'll be there again.

Elisabeth - Newton (Philips Healthcare)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisabethG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolcranmore, Managaer at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2009
Thank you very much for your very kind words about the recent Wine Weekend. These events are so much fun to plan and host. We have about 4 Wine Weekends through the year, and they are so very well received. We are glad you enjoyed the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

We usually stay at the Stonehurst Manor but since this was a last minute plan and they were booked we decided to try a new place. The reviews on here are not entirely fair; this place is definitely very nice with a country club feel. We REALLY liked the fact that there is a tavern and restaurant on-site. Had dinner there the first night and the waiter made an honest mistake regarding one of our orders. We were pleased that the waiter comped all of our drinks and two desserts, and apologized profusely. He was a really nice young kid and we had good conversation with him that night and the following. The food was a bit pricey but good, $14 for a really tender steak with potato and fresh veggie; about the same for my partner's dinner, which was cracbcake sliders with fries. Great house Cabernet that we tried to find on our way back home, too (no success). The Grand Buffet on Sunday morning was good too, wonderful selection of food, anything you could think of was available and I filled up on a great selection of chicken, fresh bread with lox and cream cheese, mushroom and broccolli frittata, home fries, cinammon roll, and that was just what I could fit on my plate. It was a true feast for $17 (includes tax and gratuity).
The room was exactly what we expected for the price. The bed was very comfortable, flat screen TV, decent view of the mountains. The shower was GREAT, hot hot and really high water pressure. Unfortunately we forgot our bathing suits but there were people in the outdoor heated (92 degrees) pool and hot tub and next time will definitely remember to bring them. One drawback was the thin walls, we were up early (around 7:30-8) both mornings but if we were trying to sleep the racket from the hallway probably would have woken us up. The location of the hotel is really nice, it's at the base of Cathedral Ledge and about 3-4 minutes from the main strip (Eastern Slope end of Route 16).
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We paid around $130 a night (Nov. 6-8) with a AAA discount and have included some pictures so that anyone interested in staying will have a better idea what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

A bit isolated, and not that easy to find, but we had really good service, and a very comfortable room. The setting is lovely, and the food very good - we had no inclination to try and find somewhere else to eat. All the staff were friendly and helpful - especially two of the ladies on reception (one of whom was from Dublin) who were especially good. Lovely beds and facilities. A warm and easy place to stay. Good base for visiting White Mountains. Good bar - called Tullamore (pity they'd run out of Tullamore Dew the nights we were there!) Seemed a good place for families, and it was obvious that they get a lot of people who return - and we can understand why.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Fl
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

We visited New Hampshire on the busiest weekend of the year! Traffic lined the roads for miles. It was peak weekend for leaves. Fortunately we stayed off the busy highway in North Conway's White Mountain Hotel. The staff was super friendly and the restaurant was wonderful. The waitresses couldn't have been nicer! Try to get a room with mountain view instead of cliff view. The grounds were immaculate. The decor was inviting and the fireplace in lobby was going every night! Only downside was when we opened the windows, the screen had a hole in it stuffed with kleenex. And the air/heating system was rusty.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Just stayed there for 3 nights. Dated. Didn't fell clean. In my room I had to kill a leftover wasp (from summer I guess) that was flying around a lamp. Also saw numerous brown ladybugs in the room that appeared on the ceiling when the lights were on. Disgusting. Has that awful old-fashioned heating unit which needs to be cleaned. I had to ask the help to get the bathroom sink's drain cleaned because the water drained really slowly. If the housekeeping staff is cleaning the room regularly, why don't they notice that the sink isn't draining? Lighting outside is awful and scary. I had to leave the hotel to the airport at 630 AM - very, very little lighting in the parking lot. They need to improve that. I regret staying here and will never return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed here for two nights as part of a New England touring holiday booked through Virgin Holidays. The hotel is situated a couple of miles out of North Conway, in a beautiful , quiet location with lovely mountian views. The reception area staff were very friendly, efficient and welcoming in spite of obviously being very busy. Our standard room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable as was the ensuite bathroom. The hotel has a policy of quiet time between 11pm and 7am - what a great idea - which appeared to be respected by the clientele. The room had a coffee maker and a fridge. Service and food in the restaurant were excellent and food was reasonably priced. The panoramic views from the restaurant were simply stunning. There seemed to be various walking trails from the hotel into the surounding countryside - something we would love to investigate on a return visit. There is also a golf course and an outdoor swimming pool, which has the same stunning views as the restaurant. Our only disappointment was that we had only booked to stay here for two nights - we will definitely be returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambersmum61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Property: White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Address: 2560 W Side Rd, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#5 Business Hotel in North Conway
#8 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing