We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place in New England”
Review of Eastern Slope Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eastern Slope Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Reviewed 13 July 2011

North Conway is our favorite place in New England, and the Eastern Slope Inn is our favorite resort. We have stayed at the resort 9 times in the past 18 years. North Conway is a great location. From North Conway you can take day trips to Portland, Vermont, Mt Washington, and Lake W. There is also plenty to do around North Conway. The Eastern Slope Inn is an updated Ski resort . It has the kind of charm you would expect from New england, and the units are clean and comfortable. The resort has a very nice indoor pool, and a resturant and bar on the property, and is just a few minutes walk to the heaert of the Old North Conway village.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 63WSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for your very kind comments and for continuing to stay with us when visiting the North Conway Area. The resort is ideally located for taking advantage not only of North Conway Village and all it has to offer, but also to venture out the see more of New England from our perfect central location. We often find visitors choose our resort for it’s location and the fact that it offers them the flexibility of traveling into several other states covering most of New England while coming back home each night to one resort rather then having to book stays in multiple locations. Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experiences at our resort, and we look forward to seeing you on vacation number 10!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

We traded DVC points for this "resort" and while our room was actually quite nice, it didn't compare to Disney standards. We were in the newest section which was around the back. The studio was quite large with a fireplace and jacuzzi in the room, along with a king sized bed, which was quite comfortable. There was NO ice machines on our property which meant we had to traipse back to the main inn every time we needed ice. The front desk staff was neither friendly or overly helpful with anything. My husband asked about possibly checking in a little before the 4 p.m. check-in because after a long drive, we wanted to freshen up a little. We were told flat out "no".

The area itself is beautiful and we're looking forward to going back in other seasons. The White Mtns. are truly breathtaking, the air is so fresh and clean and it's very peaceful.

The Flatbread Pizza place in the inn was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CherylCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

We regret that your unit did not meet your expectations. We do offer a variety of room types and sizes, and encourage all guests reserving with RCI who have not stayed with us before to use the option of placing a unit on hold for 24 hours. This will allow vacation owners to contact us here at the resort to get specific information on the unit type, location and room amenities. This has proven very helpful in assisting our guests exchanging into our resort with finding accommodations that work best for their needs and expectations.

While there is only one ice machine located in the Main Inn, many of our accommodations are equipped with refrigierators that have ice makers. This has alleviated guests having to walk back to the Inn to get ice.

Our resort has always had a 4pm check-in, however if a guest arrives early we encourage them to preregister at the front desk from 3:30-4pm to make the process more efficient. Should guests arrive any earlier we encourage them to take advantage of all of the resort amenities - from the indoor pool and hot tubs with changing rooms, to the fitness center, game room and tennis courts. There are also two on-site restaurants where guests arriving early can go to relax, grab a bite to eat and a cool drink. Being the only resort on Main Street in North Conway, guests may also take a stroll through the many nearby boutiques and shops of the village.

Our front desk team is consistently recognized (on this site and others) for their professional, friendly personalities and eagerness to assist. We regret that your perception was anything different. We also apologize if these options for things to do prior to your actual check-in were not presented to you when you approached the desk to preregister.

Since you did enjoy the area and found the room to be quite nice, we hope you will come back and stay with us again next time you visit the Mount Washington Valley Region, and experience the service that the Eastern Slope Inn is known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The Suites @ Eastern Slope are owned by RCI; this was our first experiance booking a trip with our Sol Melia Vacation Club 'points" and flipping them to RCI. We have been going to No. Conway for 20 years and have tried many of the hotels around. It was clean, spacious, equipped with basic cooking utensils, blow dryer, washer/dryer (cold water only, so pour in hot!) dishwasher, fridge. For the 200.00 we paid for a WEEK, it was an EXCELLENT deal. You can walk behind the suites to the Saco River early in the a.m. while the lazy peolpe are sleeping. Try the Flatbread Company next door. The pizza is GREAT. Julie at the front desk was the only one with a personality, she gives a good first impression. it was all good. We now have no reason to stay anywhere else on our yearly trip to North Conway. - Lorri

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank lorrilux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Lorri, thank you for your comments. As a member of Sol Melia Vacation Club we look forward to seeing you the next time you are able to use your points to exchange here with RCI, the exchange company that we have partnered with at Eastern Slope Inn and the Suites at Eastern Slope Inn. We're glad you found the accommodations to your liking, and that you were able to take advantage of some of the wonderful on site amenities at the resort - such as the River Walk Trail and Flatbread Pizza. We're very proud and happy to read that you found Julie to be an asset to our front desk team, and appreciate your taking the time to mention her specifically. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Eastern Slope for a week and truely enjoyed ourselves. The room was spacios and very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The central location was ideal. We will be staying here again, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhclark54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We're glad that you and your husband enjoyed your room and that you found our team friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to visit the Mount Washington Valley area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Four women arrived for a 3-day tennis camp on a Thursday evening. Our connecting rooms were ready; however, one of the ladies smelled an odor in one of the rooms and thought she might have an allergic reaction. The hotel showed us another two connecting rooms, which another woman didn't like because of the stairs she would have to climb. The third room they showed us was in a good location, but the room was too small for the four of us. The manager on duty worked with us for over an hour, shifting other people's rooms around (the people hadn't checked in yet) and came up with a fourth room to show us -- and finally we were all happy. I feel that the Inn went above and beyond the call of duty to make us happy. Then the women had to have the right amount of pillows, and housekeeping responded immediately with five extra pillows.

Room Tip: Hotel is spread out. Check location of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csinger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

We regret that the room you originally reserved was not what you had expected, and are glad that our management team was able to find accommodations that met everyone in your parties needs. Our housekeeping team is very helpful, and happy to assist with getting you the extra items you wanted. It has been wonderful seeing our clay courts host the tennis camp you attended. I hope you were fortunate enough to have been here on a beautiful, sunny, summer weekend to take full advantage of the resort, the tennis camp, and the courts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We loved this hotel. They were so friendly and helpful. If you had a problem you just needed to ask and they would fix the issue. We stayed in the one bedroom unit. They were three of us. The One bedroom is actually upstairs so you have the downstairs as a living room, tiny kitchen/dining area and a full bath. There is also a bed that folds into the wall. upstairs there were two queen beds and a full bath. We had plenty of space. The place is a little dated but I would say late 80's and honestly we didn't really notice it. They are in the process it looks like of renovating the older rooms. As my daughter is two we choose this place as it is ten minutes from storeyland. in addition it is right in north conway cute shops and restaurant area so we could go for a walk and do some shopping. they have a playground and indoor pool on the property which was excellent. However we did walk down the street to the bigger playground. Also the north conway railroad is two blocks down and we did that one day. they also have a really nice pond that you can fish and then a path through the woods that leads to the saco river. It was a very nice relaxing vacation. It made it great that they had a flatbread pizza which has gluten free pizza and the frontside grind which has some gluten free items in a pinch. They are also very close to hannafords and other groceries stores. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maineinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for your positive review. We're glad our Front Desk Team was able to assist you during your stay. Being the only hotel on the Main Street in North Conway Village, we are perfectly situated for enjoying all the village has to offer. It sounds like you and your family took full advantage of the area while staying with us. Hopefully you also took advantage of our Storyland Package, which includes a discount on your room, and the convenience of having your Storyland tickets waiting for you upon your arrival. Flatbread and Frontside do provide some nice Gluten Free options, which has been a more common request from our guests lately. Rafferty's on Kearsarge Street is another restaurant in the village that offers a nice selection of Gluten Free items, which you may want to try next time you are here. Again - thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you next time you come to the Mount Washington Valley area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We enjoyed our week stay here in the main building of the Inn. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The hotel had a nice 'feel' to it. It is an older building but is beautifully maintained.
The only thing that was a bit bothersome was the squeaky floors but other than that, everything was perfect for us.
While staying there we ate pizza twice at the Flatbread Company restaurant which is on the main floor. The Conway Scenic Railroad is a short walk down the street and there are some interesting shops nearby. I particularly liked Zeb's General Store.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you found our Front Desk Team to be friendly and courteous. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Eastern Slope Inn Resort is one of the most recognizable landmarks in the Mount Washington Valley. Being that you were here in May, you saw the start of our Lobby renovations, we hope you have the opportunity to come back and see the finished project. I think you will find they are doing a fantastic job, upgrading this area to increase the look and feel of Grand Hotel Lobby.

Flatbread does have the best Pizza around and Zeb’s General store is a must see when in visiting the area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
689 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Slope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Slope Inn

Address: 2760 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5110
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#9 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#9 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £90 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastern Slope Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE GUESTS ARRIVE WITH ENTHUSIASM & RETURN HOME WITH FOND MEMORIES Welcome to the Eastern Slope Inn Resort - an elegant, four-season resort located on the National Register of Historic Places in the center of New Hampshire's North Conway Village. Situated on 40 acres, within walking distance of quaint shops, restaurants, cafes, and popular attractions, the Resort features 250 rooms bridging the charm of yesteryear with modern day comforts and conveniences. The main inn offers a variety of elegantly furnished guest rooms with many units featuring kitchenettes. Guests can choose from a diverse array of accommodations to include studios, townhouses and deluxe suites with gas fireplaces, spa tubs, full kitchens and living rooms. Resort amenities include the Eastern Slope Playhouse, indoor heated pool, indoor and outdoor hot-tubs, clay tennis courts, fitness facility, meeting room and business center, playground, retail shops, walking trails to the Saco River, stocked fishing and ice skating pond, and Flatbread Company restaurant with pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Eastern Slope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Slope Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing