We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing beautiful well located convenient”
Review of Eastern Slope Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastern Slope Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“relaxing beautiful well located convenient”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. When we arrived at 1:00 a.m. the night desk clerk had us laughing right away and checked in immediately.
We were very pleased with our rooms. We booked a room and were given an ajoining room as well, complete with 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, beds for six (and we were only 2 people! ), a.c. and all the usual comforts. The rooms were spacious and clean.
The inn is not new but is very well kept up with lots of history. Everything was very comfortable and homey. We enjoyed the indoor pool, the outdoor hot tub, the little tables and seats out front to watch the world go buy or just wait around. We didn't play on the clay tennis courts but did have a couple of resounding games of pingpong at about midnight! We were also able to use the computer in the lobby to email home since we didn't bother bringing a laptop.
We also enjoyed being in the heart of the main street full of boutiques, restaurants etc and being a short drive from the outlet stores. The live, professional theatre was a treat as well and very reasonably priced!
We thoroughly loved the beautiful river we could access behind the hotel via a trail. I swam every day. The moutain trails, streams and waterfalls provided great day trip explorations but we were also close to Old Orchard Beach and Portland so visited there for fun a couple of days. The beach was beautiful but overdeveloped and crowded.
Being Canadians we appreciated the bargains on food, clothes etc and the "supersize" value to the meals we ate. The town is friendly but full of tourists, and I mean full! It closes down very early but there's so much beautiful nature to explore that it's more fun to be a "day person" anyway, although you could shop till 10:00 if you chose!
Yes, Eastern Slope Inn will be a fond memory for us of a relaxing and interesting vacation.

Room Tip: we found the 2nd floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manyirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    179
    72
    31
    17
See reviews for
214
218
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My children, spouse and I stayed here with my parents and my brother's family for a week in July. We had four rooms in the Whitaker House suites. The room are spacious, well-equipped and were very clean. We were a big gang with 4 kids under 11. There was tons for them to do and the hardest part was choosing what to do. There's a sigh-up sheet for children's activities in the lobby. The staff are very knowledgeable. If traveling on points, ask for the VIP card which offers many discounts in the village. The pool is nice and large with sectioned off areas for swimming. The pool area has a strong smell of chlorine, but at least you know that the pool is clean. The gym offered an array of equipment and tvs. This was our 2nd trip to the Eastern Slope Inn, and I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suethepoohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was our 2d trip to the Inn. We had a large 2 floor, 1.5Bath condo. The appliances were pretty new, but the furniture was a little old. The condo had more furniture than others we've been in. The grounds are well kept, and having the Playhouse on the grounds is great. I thought the unit could have been a little cleaner. For example, we found cereal within the sofa cushions. The staff did a good job in responding to issues, such as the A/C not working well when the temperature reached around 100 degrees. Besides getting the A/C working again, they also provided a large box fan which helped. The village of North Conway is beautiful, with lots of little shops and non-chain restaurants within a five to ten minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Honeymooned here. Stayed in a studio suite as part of a gifted time share. Off the main drag (HWY 16) in a quite area. Great location. The room, we changed once due to ants (partially our bad) was small with a very comfortable murphy bed (folds out of the wall). We had to get a studio if we wanted the kitchen: full fridge, electric range, microwave, blender, toaster, dishes, dish washer and sink. The large tub included very powerful jets. The room has a DVD player and a nice TV with working remotes. The service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had two units for ten family members, 4 grandchildren and our son and daughter and spouses as wee as my wife and myself. We were in the Whitacker Suites which are modern and furnished to a high standard.
Parking was next to the building and very convenient as we had three vehicles. There is a great indoor pool which the "kids" loved and free but slow wifi internet connection.
The Eastern Slope is in the centre of the village and easy walking distance to several restaurants and a short drive to the "outlet" mall. There are many outdoor things to do and visit, Saco River rafting and walks to Diana Baths are just a few.

Room Tip: Make reservations early we booked four months ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Very busy resort room was a little dated but clean and had everything needed for the week. Swimming pool very busy Hot tub was fab -15c outside 100 f in tub bliss after a days skiing would definetly stay here again x

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allytowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
This was a refreshing post to read, especially following our recent heat wave with temperatures of 100+ degrees. Just the discussion is enought to chill the air, just thinking about a cool winter day on the slopes followed up by a soak in the outdoor hot tub with snow falling all around. We hope to see you again this winter if not sooner - and thank you for this post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is a lovely old hotel that has been restored and maintained over the years. The location is phenomenal - walking distance to all the restaurants and shops in North Conway Village, and right at the driving crossroads of all the White Mountains attractions. We biked, hiked, ate great meals and met new friends during our stay. We prefer to stay in the Randall House units, which are two story, 1 bdrm efficiencies which sleep 4 but are roomy and comfortable for two. In addition to a wide selection of more traditional rooms, the inn also offers individual cottages - which we're going to check out on our next stay.

A few minor drawbacks: If you're a high tech person who absolutely has to have a strong internet connection, prepare yourself to be frustrated. Other than early morning and late evening, there is a very weak wi fi signal here with limited bandwidth. I talked to the front desk about it and they shrugged and said that too many people use it and it gets busy. No plans to rectify that, sadly.

The newest additions to the rooms: pillow top matresses, fluffy white comforters, flat screen TVs and new A/C units - all good! And there's a new fitness center- wow!!
I would recommend new lighting - those 1980's "spot lights" that provide only dim lighting at best have to go!!! Minor detail!!!

I recommend the Eastern Slope Inn - great for couples or families. Great for people who want to leave their car parked and walk to dinner, etc. Check it out!

Room Tip: There is lots of variety here: if you like new and modern, request a room in the newly constructed p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhleees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Slope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Slope Inn

Property: Eastern Slope Inn
Address: 2760 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#9 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#10 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastern Slope Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE GUESTS ARRIVE WITH ENTHUSIASM & RETURN HOME WITH FOND MEMORIES Welcome to the Eastern Slope Inn Resort - an elegant, four-season resort located on the National Register of Historic Places in the center of New Hampshire's North Conway Village. Situated on 40 acres, within walking distance of quaint shops, restaurants, cafes, and popular attractions, the Resort features 250 rooms bridging the charm of yesteryear with modern day comforts and conveniences. The main inn offers a variety of elegantly furnished guest rooms with many units featuring kitchenettes. Guests can choose from a diverse array of accommodations to include studios, townhouses and deluxe suites with gas fireplaces, spa tubs, full kitchens and living rooms. Resort amenities include the Eastern Slope Playhouse, indoor heated pool, indoor and outdoor hot-tubs, clay tennis courts, fitness facility, meeting room and business center, playground, retail shops, walking trails to the Saco River, stocked fishing and ice skating pond, and Flatbread Company restaurant with pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Eastern Slope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Slope Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing