We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”
Review of Eastern Slope Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastern Slope Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The location is great for visiting Story land or other White Mountain attractions. You can walk to restaurants and the facilities such as Lobby, Pool and Tennis Courts are nice. However, we booked our room through a timeshare exchange, had two one-bedroom units and those were both old, dingy, stale, and generally unappealing. What made it worse is that one of the units was across the street in and ugly and unpleasant annex and it smelled awful and we had to turn the air conditioning on full blast and open all the windows just to make it bearable. We had to park in a hideous alley behind a gas station and store. The other unit on the hotel side of the street was a little nicer, but we all still had to cross a busy street just to meet up. On a positive note, the staff was super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main building or at least on the samew side of the street as the main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jginbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies if your accommodation were not what you had expected, however we are pleased to hear you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We are a unique resort in that we are the only resort on Main Street in North Conway, and are comprised of 10 different buildings in and around the Village of North Conway. This unique concept allows us the ability to offer a variety of units to suit most any guest’s needs. If ever a guest does finds that there are items that may need to be addressed in a unit, or if the unit is not up to our guests expectations, we encourage them to contact the Front Desk as soon as possible, so we can address their concerns promptly.

Since you did enjoy the location and our resort team, we hope that you will stay with us again in the future. If you do, please feel free to contact the front desk at the resort prior to your arrival so we can make sure that your accommodations are what you were expecting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    183
    74
    31
    19
See reviews for
219
224
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We recently went for a short trip to No Conway NH. Stayed at the Eastern Slope in. The stay was great and the service was commendable. We had difficulty with the location of our unit and the desk helped up out finding another unit without stairs. Very gracious.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot02702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for posting about your experience at our resort and with our team. We are happy that the front desk was able to help in finding you accommodations with out stairs. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Traded in through our timeshare and RCI. Got a studio in the Carriage Suites area that was really quite spacious. Asked to be upgraded to a 1 bedroom and a very quiet room. The front desk clerk couldn't do that, but selected the newly built Carriage House Suites for us. I'm so glad we were in that building rather than the existing hotel. The hotel seemed old, rickety, NOISY, and not as nice, nor as large as our studio in the Carriage House. It sits in the back of the property with a separate parking lot. Our view from the 3rd floor was over the parking lot and into the trees which were turning gorgeous shades of yellow and orange and red.
The sutdio had its own washer and dryer, kitchen with full refridgerator, murphy queen bed, fireplace, couch, albiet squashed to the point where your fanny hit the frame of the sofa, a/c and tiny balcony. It worked fine for us, although that sofa was really uncomfortable and should have been replaced.
The w/d vent was disconnected, but after calling maintenance they repaired it. Also, there was limited hot water and another call to maintenance and the water was better, although there was still 1 boiler out.
Overall it was OK - fine for our needs and a great location, right in the heart of downtown. I really cannot imagine being in a room one floor below us or when the hotel is crowded. The noise from people must really be loud and a problem for those of us that are light sleepers. Thankfully we were pretty much by ourselves in our little corner of the building.

Room Tip: There are studios, 1 bedrooms, and hotel rooms. I believe they also have 2 and 3 bedroom townhouses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassysue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Our unique resort offers a wide range of accommodations from our newer, Gold Crown Section of the resort, which this guest stayed in (spacious and modern, and include spa tubs and fireplaces), to the Main Inn which is an original landmark building, listed on the National Registry of Historic Places.

Although the units in the Main Inn are of an original style, we regularly inspect all of our units and upgrade them as needed. In fact, the Main Inn and the Randall House are in the beginning stages of a significant renovation project that will see all the units in these buildings getting upgrades to the kitchens, baths, carpets, and furnishings over the coming months.

Because we do offer such a range of accommodations we feel that we are generally able to find the right accommodations for any guest. Whether they prefer more modern or more historic, are looking for views, or the quiet corner of the resort. Whenever booking with RCI for an exchange vacation, I strongly recommend using the 24-hour hold option they offer and then contacting the resort to get more specifics on the location and unit amenities.

Since you enjoyed the location and the newer units in the Suites at Eastern Slope Inn, we hope you will come back and stay with us again. If you do, please do not hesitate to contact the front desk prior to your arrival so we can work with you on getting you into the type of unit you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Decided to stay in this Historic Inn while traveling over the White Mtns leaf viewing. It's exterior is beautiful and very nice lobby but I would rate the main bldg hotel rooms at 3 stars tops. The furnishings I'd describe as 70's mediterranean, several items defective [door locks, a/c, bath fixtures, thin walls] and haven't seen a tv like that in a decade but the room was clean, beds comfortable, great location and top notch front desk staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunless_n_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while leaf peeping in the White Mountains. Our location is a perfect jumping off point any time of year to travel throughout the New England Area, and our downtown Main Street address in the center of North Conway Village makes it very easy to walk to several restaurants and shops as well.

The Main Inn is an original landmark building which is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. We regularly inspect and upgrade as needed, and have recently begun an extensive renovation project that will result in all of the units in the Main Inn getting significant upgrades over the next year.

Since you found the rooms to be clean, the beds to be comfortable and the staff to be top notch, we hope you will come back again in the future to see the upgrades we are making to our hotel. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Its the same old thing with the high pressure, you have to buy one now thing, but we did and its pretty interesting the way they levi charges on that are written very deep into the contract. I would say do your research and dont let them force you into making a decision the same day. Give yourself a chance to really look over the fine print. We wish we had. Other than that the hotel is fairly nice, they are slowly updating it, (at the timeshare owners expense) but quite expensive for what it is. I like both the restaurant and the coffee shop onsite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MassageTherapistME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We are sorry if you felt the sales presentation at the resort to be high pressure. These comments will be brought to the attention of our senior management for review, and will be addressed.

Hopefully you have had time to look at some of the information given to you when you purchased regarding all the options for you as a new Vacation Owner with us, and are already using your points to make vacation plans to travel to one of the hundreds of resorts now open to you.

If you do have questions regarding any aspect of your ownership or how to get the most out of being a Vacation Owner, please do not hesitate to contact the resort so we can get you in touch with someone who will be able to answer those questions for you.

Thank you for your input and we look forward to working with you for years to come, as one of our new owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Pewsey, Wilts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Firstly if you are flying into Logan airport there is a Coach company called Concord that runs from the airport directly to the Eastern Slope Inn (it has a ticket office in Reception) takes about 4 hours and check the schedules, but it is a stress free way to get to North Conway especially if you spend a night in Boston as we did and leave on the early coach in the morning (local hotels offer an airport Shuttle bus).
We arrived in receptition to be greeted by Fiona and the easiest informal check-in possible. we had a split booking first week was in a studio second in a one bedfoom. Fiona was insistant that we should not have to move rooms after the first week and despite having to wait a couple of hours we were happy to wander off into the high street to grab lunch anyhow, they cleaned and prepared a one bedroom place for our entire two week stay.
The apartment was extremely spacious and benefited from a bath/shower on both levels as well as Tv's upstairs and down and a DVD player. The Kitchen was basic(some rooms are being upgraded now I believe) with just two rings and missing a Grill or Oven but unlike most places we had a microwave and a dishwasher which was a real bonus. The apartment was furnished in keeping with the Hotel some may think this is old-fashioned we thought it was in character and loved it. Plenty of Storage and Air-Con worked fine. Free WiFi everywhere and free access to the Internet in Reception. Coffee Shop and Flatbreads restaurant were both good but don't expect discount for takeaways as there isn't one.
Locally there was only one Hire car Comapany - Enterprise but again very Helpful and picked us up from the Hotel to save us having to walk a couple of miles. All routes easy to access to get to the White Mountains National Park and easy driving never too busy while we were there.
Really only a couple of grumbles, we were at the back of the hotel (good view of the mountains though) so did not notice any traffic noise but the rubbish truck arrives every morning if you want a lie-in and other machinery was a little noisey on occaisions (including the Scenic Railway at &.00am on a couple of occaisions), we did have a gurgling water noise all night upstairs which was mysterious but easily cured by earplugs !!

Room Tip: Ask for a upgraded room not right at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your detailed review of our resort, services, and amenities offered in and around the area. Our exclusive relationship with the car rental company makes the rental process very efficient, and the bus service from Logan in Boston literally delivers you to our Front Door (as our hotel is an official stop for the Concord Coach Lines bus service). We're very pleased that you found the check in to be easy and that our team was able to make your stay more convenient by finding a room that was available for the duration of your extended stay.

As you noted, we are in the process of a significant renovation project, which will result in all of the rooms in the Main Inn and the Randall House having upgrades done to the kitchens, baths, carpets, and furnishings. Some of the upgrades in the Inn have already been completed, with several more being done between now and the start of our winter season.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced from noise. Feel free to bring any questions or concerns to the attention of our front desk team during your stay, so we can try and address these issues and make your stay more enjoyable. Our maintenance department will be notified of the noise you mention to make sure it's not an issue for other guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again next time you are visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed at the Eastern Slope Inn via RCI and were allocated a 3 bed apartment in a separate building about 1 minute walk from the main hotel. We had booked a 2 bed so couldn't complain about the accommodation, in fact it was huge. Enormous kitchen/dining area, lounge area and master suite with jacuzzi bath. Another bathroom which contained a washer dryer and 2nd bedroom next to the lounge. A further twin bedded room upstairs. There is also a small balcony off the dining area but unfortunately it looks down onto a car park. Being in a separate building we didn't feel part of the hotel and would have been happier staying in the main part but all in all a good stay and lots of things to do in and around North Conway.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellers2often
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. We do have two resorts consisting of several buildings on our resort, thus allowing the ability to offer a wide range of accommodations to suit most anyone’s needs. However, some of our units (particularly the larger ones) are in fact not located at the Main Inn. Whenever reserving a unit through RCI, one option is to place the reservation on a 24 hour hold, and then contact the resort to get specifics on location.

Whenever possible, we are always happy to accommodate all of our guests' request, but availability of rooms (or lack thereof) does not always allow us to meet all of them. Please do not hesitate to contact the resort prior to your arrival so we can see what options we have available. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#4 of 25 in North Conway
631 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Slope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Slope Inn

Property: Eastern Slope Inn
Address: 2760 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#9 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#10 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastern Slope Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE GUESTS ARRIVE WITH ENTHUSIASM & RETURN HOME WITH FOND MEMORIES Welcome to the Eastern Slope Inn Resort - an elegant, four-season resort located on the National Register of Historic Places in the center of New Hampshire's North Conway Village. Situated on 40 acres, within walking distance of quaint shops, restaurants, cafes, and popular attractions, the Resort features 250 rooms bridging the charm of yesteryear with modern day comforts and conveniences. The main inn offers a variety of elegantly furnished guest rooms with many units featuring kitchenettes. Guests can choose from a diverse array of accommodations to include studios, townhouses and deluxe suites with gas fireplaces, spa tubs, full kitchens and living rooms. Resort amenities include the Eastern Slope Playhouse, indoor heated pool, indoor and outdoor hot-tubs, clay tennis courts, fitness facility, meeting room and business center, playground, retail shops, walking trails to the Saco River, stocked fishing and ice skating pond, and Flatbread Company restaurant with pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Eastern Slope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Slope Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing