We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with modern conveniences”
Review of Eastern Slope Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastern Slope Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful spot. The hotel has character. The people are friendly. The flat bread restaurant in the hotel is an excellent choice on vacation. It has a good workout area and a wonderful pool indoors. Ithas an excellent location in the middle of North Conway. It is near other shopping and dining plus the ski facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Eastern Slope Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Been here before and always look forward to it. The people working here are friendly and willing to help. Seeing the same faces again makes it even better. The grounds and building are also so nicely maintained. It's a wonderful location. Not far from the outlets, on a main road, and right near other stores that are just a few minutes walk. Never want to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunTravels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We chose to stay at the Eastern Slope Inn because we wanted to be able to walk to some of the attractions, shops and restaurants in North Conway Village and the Inn is located right on the main street of the Village. However, we booked our room through the Inn’s website, which is not very informative about where on the property the various accommodations are located. Upon checking in, we were a little taken aback when the front desk clerk pulled out a map and showed us the route by which we had to drive in order to get from the lobby to our room.
We wound up in the Whitaker House, which is, I think, the building farthest away from the front of the property and the Village main street. To get to the main street or the lobby of the Inn from our room, we had to walk the length of our building, go through a pedestrian tunnel (which was wide and well-lit) underneath the tracks of the Conway Scenic Railroad, and across the rest of the expanse of the Inn’s grounds. For us this was an 8 – 10 minute walk, almost entirely uphill. Since my wife has limited mobility, that ruled out us walking to any other location in the Village.
Our suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. A sign over the thermostat, though, told us that the room’s main source of heat was a large gas fireplace in the corner. I was a bit doubtful that it was up to the task, but when we turned up the thermostat the room heated up nicely. The fireplace was, however, very noisy. When it turned on, a sound was produced that made me think of someone whacking a sheet of tin with a metal hammer. Not so bad when you’re up and about, but when it cycles on and off throughout the wee hours of the morning and you’re asleep, that’s quite another story.
The kitchenette in the suite was very nice, with a little refrigerator, a cooktop, and an oven which is both microwave and convection. The two-person Jacuzzi was one of the best I’ve seen. The Inn is, however, very stingy with the amenities. For example, even though we had the shower, bathroom sink, Jacuzzi tub and kitchen sink, all that was ever left by housekeeping was a single bar of soap. The body wash, shampoo, and conditioner all came from a dispenser mounted in the shower. A sign said that this was there in order to save the waste of all those little plastic bottles, but I suspect that saving money was the main motivation. I would rather have paid a couple of extra bucks a night and had the full complement of toiletries.
We also found that there is only one ice machine on the premises, and it is located in the main building one floor up from the lobby. Since we happen to like to drink our beverages very cold, even water, that necessitated taking that 10-minute walk from our room carrying our ice bucket every night. That little ice cube tray in the mini-fridge didn’t really cut it for us.
Another inconvenience was that, although there is a restaurant off the lobby, the Inn does not provide breakfast in any form, either included in the price or as an extra. Now, anyone who’s been to North Conway knows that there are many places to get a great breakfast there. (We like The Blueberry Muffin or Peach’s.) But for us, that meant getting ready to go outside, getting into our car and driving to one of those places. It’s much nicer to be able to eat inside the building where you are staying, especially during those fall and winter months in which scraping the frost off your car is involved in order to be able to get to breakfast.
Finally, using the indoor pool, which looked inviting, also requires taking that trip from the outbuildings since it, too, is down a hall off the lobby. Not a pleasant stroll during the winter months.
I don’t mean to say that you should rule out staying at the Eastern Slope Inn. The establishment has a long, storied history and a large loyal following for many good reasons. If you are a robust, active person who can take the extra walking in stride (pun intended) and doesn't mind putting up with a few annoyances in what is otherwise a lovely room, you should definitely give the Inn a try. At least after reading this review you’ll have a better idea of what to expect.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building of the Inn.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eagle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our resort. We appreciate your input and I am sure it will be helpful to other Tripadvisor reviewers.

We do have an extensive property that spans over 40 acres at the northern end of North Conway Village and includes 10 buildings. Some of our buildings are located on the Main Street in the village, while others, such as the Whitaker House are located off the Main street near the golf course and the Saco River.

I highly recommend working with one the Vacation Specialists in our Central Reservations department when booking, as they are very familiar with our property and our units and will work with our guests to review unit amenities as well as location, and find the perfect balance of both that will work for their individual needs.

Many of our suites do offer in room amenities such as two person spa tubs and gas fireplaces. I apologies if the fireplace in your unit was not working as it should have and woke you up at night. If ever a guest stays with us and experiences any issues in their unit, we strongly encourage them to contact the front desk so we can make every effort to address their concerns.

As for the amenities in the bathroom, we have made changes in recent years to move our resort in a more environmentally friendly direction, and have received recognition by the New Hampshire Sustainable Lodging and Restaurant Program for our efforts, as well as a Green Key Eco Rating in recognition of our commitment to reducing our environmental foot print. However, if more supplies of any type are ever needed in a unit, they are available by contacting the front desk.

We do have a couple of ice machines on property and have recently installed an additional one in the Whitaker House Suites where you stayed to make it more convenient for our guests in that building staying in a unit that does not come equipped with an icemaker in the refrigerator.

Our restaurant in the Main Inn is the Flatbread Pizza Company; however we do offer several other dining options on property including a coffee shop, which serves light breakfast items. Additionally, there are over a dozen restaurants within walking distance of the resort, including as you noted, several options for a full sit down breakfast.

Since for the most part it sounds like you enjoyed your stay at the resort and the area, we sincerely hope you will continue to stay with us when visiting the White Mountains in the future. If you do, please contact Megan Scheid our Hospitality Manger so she can make sure the location as well as the amenities in your unit meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Eastern Slope Inn is right in the center of town only a few minutes walk from everything. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient checking us in even though we were early, they gave us lots of information about North Conway and more info was available from the Concierge desk across the lobby. The main hotel is traditional and elegant in style, and appeared well maintained. We were staying in the Norcross Suites a few minutes walk away right by the scenic railway station.

The suite we had (B) was large, set over two floors with a full kitchen including dishwasher and fridge / freezer, there was also a washing machine and dryer in the downstairs bathroom. The upstairs bedroom was huge with a super king bed, gas log effect fire, terrace and windows with views of the mountains.

The place was spotlessly clean with quality toiletries and towels, there was everything you needed to cook a meal if you wanted to dine in, large screen TV;s and DVD players were in the lounge area and upstairs bedroom. The sofa bed and murphy bed in the lounge meant 6 people could stay in this suite.

I would recommend Eastern Slopes in as quality place to stay when visiting North Conway.

Room Tip: Norcross suite B is huge !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We weren't expecting too much for the very reasonable price we were paying at this hotel, even though the photos on Tripadvisor looked nice. But we did a double take when we drove up to it, wondering if we were at the right place as it was so lovely from the outside. It is an impressive large white building with a lovely spacious and very nicely decorated lounge area at reception on the ground floor along with a brilliant organic pizza restaurant, the Flatbread Company, where we had a really delicious meal in the evening. On the night we were there they were donating their profits from the dinner to breast cancer research which was most generous and impressive.

The reception staff was very friendly and informative about the town and what to see, the room was huge and very nicely decorated. The bathroom was modern, spotlessly clean and well equipped.

We had only booked one night passing through on our drive around the countryside to see the autumn foliage and we wished we had time to stay more than one night. There are so many facilities it would be lovely to stay for several nights, and use it as a base to drive around the area.

North Conway is such a pretty town. We loved our stay there and thought the Eastern Slope Inn was one of the nicest and most impressive hotels we stayed in during our 4 week trip down the east coast of USA. It represented really excellent value for money in our opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in the top floor, corner unit of Whitaker Suites. We were guests from Oct 20 to 27th, and lucked out with the weather. It was also a more quiet time, therefore no lineups, and less traffic. Julie and Megan at the front desk are very helpful, so ask them for info re activites and places to eat, and see. Our unit was very clean and comfortable. The pizza and salad there was very tasty.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk first to make sure you are getting a room where you want. There is the main...
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jetsetter6077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Eastern Slope Inn is well located in the town. The hotel room we stayed in was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The staff at the front desk and bar were very friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TWDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
654 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Slope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Slope Inn

Address: 2760 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#9 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#10 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £78 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastern Slope Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE GUESTS ARRIVE WITH ENTHUSIASM & RETURN HOME WITH FOND MEMORIES Welcome to the Eastern Slope Inn Resort - an elegant, four-season resort located on the National Register of Historic Places in the center of New Hampshire's North Conway Village. Situated on 40 acres, within walking distance of quaint shops, restaurants, cafes, and popular attractions, the Resort features 250 rooms bridging the charm of yesteryear with modern day comforts and conveniences. The main inn offers a variety of elegantly furnished guest rooms with many units featuring kitchenettes. Guests can choose from a diverse array of accommodations to include studios, townhouses and deluxe suites with gas fireplaces, spa tubs, full kitchens and living rooms. Resort amenities include the Eastern Slope Playhouse, indoor heated pool, indoor and outdoor hot-tubs, clay tennis courts, fitness facility, meeting room and business center, playground, retail shops, walking trails to the Saco River, stocked fishing and ice skating pond, and Flatbread Company restaurant with pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Eastern Slope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Slope Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing