We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eastern Slope Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Maple Leaf Motel(North Conway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Motel(North Conway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Briarcliff Motel(North Conway)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Glen Inn(North Conway)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
School House Motel(North Conway)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stonehurst Manor(North Conway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Trellis Motel(North Conway)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Suites(North Conway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarendon Motel(North Conway)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
270
194
78
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
194
78
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedflatbreadmain buildingtime sharethrough rcirandall houseconvection ovenpartial kitchenwasher dryerfull kitchenhistoric hotelpizza restauranttennis courtsone bedroom unitwithin walking distanceliving roomjetted tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful spot. The hotel has character. The people are friendly. The flat bread restaurant in the hotel is an excellent choice on vacation. It has a good workout area and a wonderful pool indoors. Ithas an excellent location in the middle of North Conway. It is near other shopping and dining plus the ski facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Been here before and always look forward to it. The people working here are friendly and willing to help. Seeing the same faces again makes it even better. The grounds and building are also so nicely maintained. It's a wonderful location. Not far from the outlets, on a main road, and right near other stores that are just a few minutes walk. Never want to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunTravels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We chose to stay at the Eastern Slope Inn because we wanted to be able to walk to some of the attractions, shops and restaurants in North Conway Village and the Inn is located right on the main street of the Village. However, we booked our room through the Inn’s website, which is not very informative about where on the property the various accommodations are located. Upon checking in, we were a little taken aback when the front desk clerk pulled out a map and showed us the route by which we had to drive in order to get from the lobby to our room.
We wound up in the Whitaker House, which is, I think, the building farthest away from the front of the property and the Village main street. To get to the main street or the lobby of the Inn from our room, we had to walk the length of our building, go through a pedestrian tunnel (which was wide and well-lit) underneath the tracks of the Conway Scenic Railroad, and across the rest of the expanse of the Inn’s grounds. For us this was an 8 – 10 minute walk, almost entirely uphill. Since my wife has limited mobility, that ruled out us walking to any other location in the Village.
Our suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. A sign over the thermostat, though, told us that the room’s main source of heat was a large gas fireplace in the corner. I was a bit doubtful that it was up to the task, but when we turned up the thermostat the room heated up nicely. The fireplace was, however, very noisy. When it turned on, a sound was produced that made me think of someone whacking a sheet of tin with a metal hammer. Not so bad when you’re up and about, but when it cycles on and off throughout the wee hours of the morning and you’re asleep, that’s quite another story.
The kitchenette in the suite was very nice, with a little refrigerator, a cooktop, and an oven which is both microwave and convection. The two-person Jacuzzi was one of the best I’ve seen. The Inn is, however, very stingy with the amenities. For example, even though we had the shower, bathroom sink, Jacuzzi tub and kitchen sink, all that was ever left by housekeeping was a single bar of soap. The body wash, shampoo, and conditioner all came from a dispenser mounted in the shower. A sign said that this was there in order to save the waste of all those little plastic bottles, but I suspect that saving money was the main motivation. I would rather have paid a couple of extra bucks a night and had the full complement of toiletries.
We also found that there is only one ice machine on the premises, and it is located in the main building one floor up from the lobby. Since we happen to like to drink our beverages very cold, even water, that necessitated taking that 10-minute walk from our room carrying our ice bucket every night. That little ice cube tray in the mini-fridge didn’t really cut it for us.
Another inconvenience was that, although there is a restaurant off the lobby, the Inn does not provide breakfast in any form, either included in the price or as an extra. Now, anyone who’s been to North Conway knows that there are many places to get a great breakfast there. (We like The Blueberry Muffin or Peach’s.) But for us, that meant getting ready to go outside, getting into our car and driving to one of those places. It’s much nicer to be able to eat inside the building where you are staying, especially during those fall and winter months in which scraping the frost off your car is involved in order to be able to get to breakfast.
Finally, using the indoor pool, which looked inviting, also requires taking that trip from the outbuildings since it, too, is down a hall off the lobby. Not a pleasant stroll during the winter months.
I don’t mean to say that you should rule out staying at the Eastern Slope Inn. The establishment has a long, storied history and a large loyal following for many good reasons. If you are a robust, active person who can take the extra walking in stride (pun intended) and doesn't mind putting up with a few annoyances in what is otherwise a lovely room, you should definitely give the Inn a try. At least after reading this review you’ll have a better idea of what to expect.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building of the Inn.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eagle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank G, Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our resort. We appreciate your input and I am sure it will be helpful to other Tripadvisor reviewers.

We do have an extensive property that spans over 40 acres at the northern end of North Conway Village and includes 10 buildings. Some of our buildings are located on the Main Street in the village, while others, such as the Whitaker House are located off the Main street near the golf course and the Saco River.

I highly recommend working with one the Vacation Specialists in our Central Reservations department when booking, as they are very familiar with our property and our units and will work with our guests to review unit amenities as well as location, and find the perfect balance of both that will work for their individual needs.

Many of our suites do offer in room amenities such as two person spa tubs and gas fireplaces. I apologies if the fireplace in your unit was not working as it should have and woke you up at night. If ever a guest stays with us and experiences any issues in their unit, we strongly encourage them to contact the front desk so we can make every effort to address their concerns.

As for the amenities in the bathroom, we have made changes in recent years to move our resort in a more environmentally friendly direction, and have received recognition by the New Hampshire Sustainable Lodging and Restaurant Program for our efforts, as well as a Green Key Eco Rating in recognition of our commitment to reducing our environmental foot print. However, if more supplies of any type are ever needed in a unit, they are available by contacting the front desk.

We do have a couple of ice machines on property and have recently installed an additional one in the Whitaker House Suites where you stayed to make it more convenient for our guests in that building staying in a unit that does not come equipped with an icemaker in the refrigerator.

Our restaurant in the Main Inn is the Flatbread Pizza Company; however we do offer several other dining options on property including a coffee shop, which serves light breakfast items. Additionally, there are over a dozen restaurants within walking distance of the resort, including as you noted, several options for a full sit down breakfast.

Since for the most part it sounds like you enjoyed your stay at the resort and the area, we sincerely hope you will continue to stay with us when visiting the White Mountains in the future. If you do, please contact Megan Scheid our Hospitality Manger so she can make sure the location as well as the amenities in your unit meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Eastern Slope Inn is right in the center of town only a few minutes walk from everything. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient checking us in even though we were early, they gave us lots of information about North Conway and more info was available from the Concierge desk across the lobby. The main hotel is traditional and elegant in style, and appeared well maintained. We were staying in the Norcross Suites a few minutes walk away right by the scenic railway station.

The suite we had (B) was large, set over two floors with a full kitchen including dishwasher and fridge / freezer, there was also a washing machine and dryer in the downstairs bathroom. The upstairs bedroom was huge with a super king bed, gas log effect fire, terrace and windows with views of the mountains.

The place was spotlessly clean with quality toiletries and towels, there was everything you needed to cook a meal if you wanted to dine in, large screen TV;s and DVD players were in the lounge area and upstairs bedroom. The sofa bed and murphy bed in the lounge meant 6 people could stay in this suite.

I would recommend Eastern Slopes in as quality place to stay when visiting North Conway.

Room Tip: Norcross suite B is huge !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We weren't expecting too much for the very reasonable price we were paying at this hotel, even though the photos on Tripadvisor looked nice. But we did a double take when we drove up to it, wondering if we were at the right place as it was so lovely from the outside. It is an impressive large white building with a lovely spacious and very nicely decorated lounge area at reception on the ground floor along with a brilliant organic pizza restaurant, the Flatbread Company, where we had a really delicious meal in the evening. On the night we were there they were donating their profits from the dinner to breast cancer research which was most generous and impressive.

The reception staff was very friendly and informative about the town and what to see, the room was huge and very nicely decorated. The bathroom was modern, spotlessly clean and well equipped.

We had only booked one night passing through on our drive around the countryside to see the autumn foliage and we wished we had time to stay more than one night. There are so many facilities it would be lovely to stay for several nights, and use it as a base to drive around the area.

North Conway is such a pretty town. We loved our stay there and thought the Eastern Slope Inn was one of the nicest and most impressive hotels we stayed in during our 4 week trip down the east coast of USA. It represented really excellent value for money in our opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews