We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Train”

Conway Scenic Railroad
Ranked #10 of 50 things to do in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy an old-fashioned railroading experience with all trains departing from an 1874 station in North Conway Village. Whether you choose one of the Valley Trains to Conway or Bartlett, or take the Notch Train through spectacular Crawford Notch, this is a journey back in time the whole family will enjoy. Valley Train Season: mid-April through December. Notch Train Season: late June through mid-October. Coach, First Class, and Dining Car options are available on all routes. Chilren under 4 ride free in Coach on the Valley Trains. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking to take a ride on an old train then this is it. The train travels through the valley of the White mountains and the scenery is beautiful. The train does go through a lot of settled areas but, there are some rivers and fields along the route. We took the 90 min tour.

1  Thank gethridge48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate this nice review!

Susan Logan
Marketing Manager
CSRR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dining car"
in 130 reviews
"first class"
in 187 reviews
"train ride"
in 226 reviews
"notch train"
in 96 reviews
"crawford notch"
in 128 reviews
"dome car"
in 53 reviews
"dinner train"
in 37 reviews
"hour trip"
in 50 reviews
"open car"
in 22 reviews
"gertrude emma"
in 24 reviews
"wicker chairs"
in 22 reviews
"crawford station"
in 17 reviews
"return trip"
in 37 reviews
"box lunch"
in 15 reviews
"love trains"
in 18 reviews
"north pole"
in 13 reviews
"longer ride"
in 14 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The railway station is impressive. It is clapboard and beautifully painted.
The train, carriages and staff are authentic. This railway is loved.
It is$18 for a basic ticket. If you do decide to go don’t waste money upgrading for goodness sake.
If you love steam rail travel just rock up and take some video/photos. It really isn’t worth paying for. Five and a half miles of mostly trees. What’s scenic about that? Save your cash for beer, food and other goodies.

Thank Markmark1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I don't know when this reviewer visited, but our 1921 steam engine #7470 has been out of service for three years for a Federally-mandated overhaul. We have former Maine Central steam engine #501 on static display here (built in 1910), and people are welcome to take pictures, but there is no steam travel here currently. Look for #7470 to return in 2019!

Susan Logan
Marketing Manager
CSRR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After an almost 3 hour trip from Boston, this was a major disappointment. The scenery was uninteresting (junky backyards, trailer park etc) and the narrative was hard to hear and we were in the same first class car as the narrator. We also didn’t realize the train just goes back the way it came after decoupling. Displays in the station were mildly interesting but I would not come back. Unless you are really into trains, don’t bother.

Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

As we continue to remind people, all of our excursions are round-trip, so the train returns on the same tracks from which it departs our station.

Susan Logan
Marketing Manager
CSRR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the upper seating with the all glass ceiling. What a view worth the extra money. We also got the boxed lunch, again worth it

1  Thank smileyfacedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for this excellent rating and kind words. We're glad that your husband enjoyed his birthday treat and hope that you'll come to visit us again soon!

Susan Logan
Marketing Manager
CSRR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Spent Mother's Day on the Conway Scenic Brunch train and what a treat! I have been on the Conway Scenic Railroad many times, but this is the first time we have taking the Dining Car. What treat! I can't believe the servers can handle everything as efficiently s they do while the train is moving! A lovely fruit and cheese plate started the brunch, followed by my choice of the Monte Cristo sandwich which was done perfectly with a side of homefries and maple syrup. Then a desert plate with scrumptious lemon curd squares and almond paste Danish. Mimosas and coffee and I was one happy lady!

Thank NYI7thWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. It's very much appreciated.

This was the first time in our 44 year history that we offered Mother's Day brunch. It was very well-received and will now be a tradition here at the Railroad. Hope you can join us again!

Susan Logan
Marketing Manager
CSRR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conway Scenic Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Conway Scenic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;