We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Nice Staff - Eventually got the room we should have been given on arrival!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My wife and I travelled to North Conway for a vacation where we had booked into the Comfort Inn & Suites for 3 nights. On arrival I asked the clerk for a quiet room. On going to our room we were in a hurry to get out to get a meal so we didn't check it over apart front a brief glance around it. It was only on our return did we realise that the room she give us, located on the 2nd floor, over the front entrance porch of the hotel. This would have been okay only the 2 windows in the room had the view out of them totally blocked by the apex of the entrance porch roof - meaning we were could only look out at roof tiles and also had the natural light into the room restricted. Also noticed some staining on the couch and chairs that was a bit off putting. We immediately went to reception and asked to be moved. Unfortunately by this stage the hotel was full and no rooms were available although the clerk did promise us that she would get something organised for us the next morning. Therefore we reluctantly stayed in the room that night. Next morning the desk clerk told us to have our bags ready to be moved to another room and that they would have us moved by the time we returned to the hotel that afternoon. True to their word this they did. The new room had a view out of the windows and chairs were stain free. We were very pleased with how the hotel staff dealt with us. Would we stay here again ? Most definitely but would check out the room first thing on arrival. Everything else about the hotel was very good. The breakfast provided a good choice and the location of a crazy golf course on site was fun.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a great location in North Conway and it is an ideal base to explore the surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenh012, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

I am pleased that we were able to get you into a much better location on day 2. We hope that you will return to visit us again and give us a chance to improve. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

First time we stayed here we got upgraded to a suite, without asking, because they weren't very busy.
Been here twice with our grand daughters. They love the indoor pool. Doesn't matter what the weather brings. Adjacent mini golf is awsesome. Centrally located.
Breakfast is top notch. The staff rates a 10.

Room Tip: I prefer 2nd or 3rd floor. Less chance of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tojoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenh012, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

We really appreciate your loyalty to our North Conway Comfort Inn & Suites. Our staff sends appreciation for your high rating on their service. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The staff is very friendly and offers help immediately. The entire hotel apears to be very clean. Our room was the same. It was very spacious for four persons. It also had a kitchen sink, microwave and fridge.
There are two spectacular miniature golf courses in front of the hotel. We were not bothered by the noise. The windows keep the noise outside, as the entire hotel is very quiet.
The beds are ok.
The breakfast area appears rather small compared to the size of the hotel, but we never had to wait long to find a table. The breakfast itself is great. There is a huge variety of everything to get you well fed and started for a day of adventure around Mount Washington.
The hotel has a big parking lot which is partly lit during the night.
There is also a laundry room with a washer and a dryer.
If we should visit North Conway again we will certainly stay at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigerforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenh012, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your visit with us. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our honeymoon. We checked on trip advisor to check the reviews and they were all great or excellent so we decided to stay here. Check in went well the front desk lady seemed to be friendly.
Once we got to our room we were very pleased with the size of the room, very spacious, however the bed was terrible!! The floor would probably be more comfortable. I went down to the front desk and asked for another room with a better bed, she was very helpful in trying to find us a better bed. However when I went to 4 different rooms the beds got worse, and the smell of stale cigarette smoke was terrible. If it was not smoke smell it was a musky smell. The front desk lady said there was nothing else she could do. We asked to upgrade to the honeymoon suite thinking it would be a better room. It was absolutely a beautiful room, very big and clean. The bed seemed better than the others.
In the morning my husband and I woke up with sore backs and very unrested. It was not worth the extra money we had to spend for a "better" bed. The noise outside our room started very early with kids running up and down the halls and sounded like construction outside our room really early.
Breakfast was very good, lots of options but very crowded. The hours should be longer for people to be able to enjoy it. It was not even 10 am yet and they started to clear everything away. Tables were very busy but after waiting a few minutes we were able to sit down.
While we were eating the front desk lady that helped us last night was sitting beside us talking to other co-workers. We had to get up and leave because we felt uncomfortable due to her talking bad about us complaining about the beds last night. She kept going on about us and told her co-workers she told us to leave and sleep on the streets. NOT AT ALL IMPRESSED with this attitude.
If we are ever back in the area we will NOT be staying at this hotel again. Very poor service and horrible beds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCMacK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenh012, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

I am sorry that your visit with us went so poorly. The desk agent did not offer the best solution. The agent did not use professional judgement by discussing your experience to others. The hotel has taken responsibility for this and an immediate solution was made. Please do not let this experience at our hotel jade your decision to stay at any other of the Choice Hotels International properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here recently with our 3 kids. The room was very nice, and the staff treated us very well. The kids loved the pool, and, although we didn`t play the mini-golf, it was crowded every day. My only complaint was the breakfast hours. It should be extended to 11:00 am. When the hotel is full, it gets very crowded and between the lines and NO tables, we were shut out one morning, because of the time limit. If it was extended, maybe everyone could take advantage of it. Beds were good, but the pullout wasn`t the best, according to my son who slept in it.My son`s used the fitness center, and they liked it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bryanp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenh012, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent visit. Since our new breakfast started this summer it has been an overwhelming hit with our families. We have provided several outdoor sitting areas and many guests enjoy breakfast outside overlooking the gardens. Extending the hours of breakfast will be given serious consideration. We hope to see you again in North Conway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The property has a beautiful mini-golf course and everything is very well-maintained. Rooms include a microwave and fridge. Breakfast included many fresh choices (hard eggs, yogurt, fruit) as well as "make your own" waffles and a staff member was on duty to help and keep the area clean. Even the coffee was quite good- much better than the usual hotel fare. Everyone was friendly, helpful and responsive. There is a clear attitude of high level service, not always the case with a mid-level chain.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenh012, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. The breakfast staff was very proud to hear your comments. We hope that you will visit us again when you are in North Conway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The service was good and staff was friendly, checked in for reservation quickly.
Entered the 'suite' and smelled a very strong stale smoke odour which seemed odd because it's a smoke free facility. Judging by the cigarette burn on the edge of the bathroom sink, they haven't always been "smoke free" and they haven't gotten rid of the smell either. It also smelled of pets and the furniture was filthy. I'm not exaggerating; I've attached a photo of the chair. We were shocked by this because we used Trip Advisor reviews to pick our accomodations and the reviews were all Very Good or Excellent.
Room seemed a little small to be considered a suite but it did have half-wall dividers to give it a multiple room appearance.
Pool was clean and the water temperature was refreshing.
One of the reasons we chose this hotel was that they offered a hot breakfast. The breakfast was good but the serving area is small and it was pretty crowded. There wasn't a table left to sit at so we ended up taking breakfast back to our room.
Good wireless signal in the room.
The best part about the hotel was the service. I forgot my shaving cream and my wife told me to go to the front desk and see if they had some. I said "Come on, it's a two star hotel; they won't have shaving cream." She went down and asked because I wouldn't and came back with a little travel-sized can of Barbasol. Nice.
The worst part was the smell in the room and the filthy furnishings. Perhaps the manager should do some room inspections.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenh012, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

No excuses - please accept our sincere apology. There was no reason for this detail to be overlooked. We have had a very busy summer and many wet bathing suits; however this stain should have been taken care of immediately. We ask that you give us a second opportunity to please you. I appreciate your bringing this to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.8 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway

Address: 2001 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in North Conway
#1 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#3 Business Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: £73 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Conway Comfort Inn & Suites is a Platinum Award Winning property of the Choice Hotels Comfort Inn brand. This hotel is family friendly and offers spacious studio suite rooms with a wet bar for a microwave, coffee maker and mini-fridge. You will receive concierge style service from all of our staff to make sure your North Conway visit is a memorable one. Centrally located; you will be close to retail outlet shopping, ski mountains, unique local restaurants, family attractions, the Village of North Conway, mountains and rivers. Come Stay Where You Play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway Hotel North Conway
Comfort Inn And Suites North Conway
Comfort Inn North Conway
North Conway Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing